Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

What switch for 2 sets of LED strip lights?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

What switch for 2 sets of LED strip lights?

Old 11-08-2016, 05:07 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 442
Received 48 Likes on 35 Posts
Default What switch for 2 sets of LED strip lights?

Mounting 2 LED strip lights, 1 each on the underside of the port and stbd gunwale. Planning on making these 2 parallel circuits and needing to add a new switch and run power to it, independent of the existing panel.


Is a DPST switch best for this application? I believe another option would be to piggyback both circuits onto a SPST. I've thread searched and couldn't find much on the actual wiring of this. R /


74JB
Old 11-08-2016, 05:37 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,634
Received 1,691 Likes on 1,284 Posts
Default

seems to me "6 of 1, 1/2 dozen of the other" situation.

either way you would use a piggyback terminal:

power in on the DPST or power out on the SPST
Old 11-08-2016, 05:49 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Lighthouse Point, FL
Posts: 535
Received 81 Likes on 41 Posts
Default

Using an spst switch is fine. There is no need for the dpst. Just more connections to possibly fail. The lights use very little current. Make sure the circuit is fused.
Old 11-08-2016, 06:29 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
triumphrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Masaryktown, Fl
Posts: 19,154
Received 4,937 Likes on 2,185 Posts
Default

They really have no current draw, you should be able to go either route. With the DPST, you can only have one or the other on at a time..
Old 11-08-2016, 07:50 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,634
Received 1,691 Likes on 1,284 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by triumphrick View Post
With the DPST, you can only have one or the other on at a time..
you must be thinking of a SPDT.

although the DPST would require a jumper on the power-in terminals
Old 11-08-2016, 10:27 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 442
Received 48 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by triumphrick View Post
They really have no current draw, you should be able to go either route. With the DPST, you can only have one or the other on at a time..




SPDT I thought was for allowing only one light or the other on at a time. I want both strings of lights on with one throw of the switch so DPST is what I thought.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.