Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Furuno FCV-588 with Airmar TM260

Old 11-07-2016, 04:21 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno FCV-588 with Airmar TM260

Hi,
I have one important question, I bought a Furuno FCV 588 and I'm waiting for the transducer, one Airmar TM-260 (generic) with 7 pins. The store they told me I need the 10-pin adapter cable. My question is whether it can operate without the MB1100 module.
In Europe they do not sell the TM260 transducer specific for Furuno (10 pin).
Thanks
Old 11-07-2016, 07:24 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,835
Received 224 Likes on 136 Posts
Default

I think your only option is either using the MB1100 junction box or cutting off the 7-pin and soldering on a 10 pin plug. IF you are very careful with heat shrink and proper shielding, you should be fine (but do this only if you have no other options)

the following from a marine technician:

QUOTE

I was a professional marine electronics tech and spliced many cables that were cut by inexperienced installers(read: boat owners).
It can be done IF the integrety of the shielding is maintained, and the person has good soldering skills.
A properly tuned VHF antenna is 50 ohms, and if the cable is good, the radio sees a 50 ohm load, regardless of length, however, dont shorten it below 7 feet (2 wavelenghts).
the transducer cable, is a tuned circuit with the element and cable working together.
Some shortening and lenghtening can be done but within reason. For instance, if its 25 feet, I would not cut it past 15 or lenghten it past 40.
Now, if you have to cut a plug off to run the wires, Make sure that all shielded wires stay that way, not even unshielded for an inch. Does 2 bad things: 1. Screws up the impedance match. 2. can admit stray interference to the unit.
The impedance matching thing is somewhat like having a hose with water flowing thru it. If the hose is proper, the water flows smooth and with little resistance. having the shielding damaged is like a kink in the hose. Some water gets thru, but it is not right.
As said above, if you cut the depth cable, have someone who knows how to solder handy.

UNQUOTE
Old 11-07-2016, 07:28 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,915
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by pepegrisu View Post
Hi,
I have one important question, I bought a Furuno FCV 588 and I'm waiting for the transducer, one Airmar TM-260 (generic) with 7 pins. The store they told me I need the 10-pin adapter cable. My question is whether it can operate without the MB1100 module.
In Europe they do not sell the TM260 transducer specific for Furuno (10 pin).
Thanks
Your TM- 260 should be the diplexed verison..so you will not require the BM1100 module.
If your transducer is an Airmar..then it will be a mix and match..just add the Furuno MM cable.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 01-23-2017 at 12:06 AM.
Old 11-08-2016, 09:25 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot
Old 01-22-2017, 11:50 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have a problem.
With a speed of 3 or 4 knots I lose the bottom from 240 meters. It is normal?
I don´t have de MB-1110 module. The equipment is as follows:
FCV-588......Airmar Cable 10 pin - 9 pin ........Airmar TM260 with generic cable
Maybe I need the Matching Box MB-1100?
Thanks ;?
Old 01-23-2017, 12:04 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,915
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by pepegrisu View Post
I have a problem.
With a speed of 3 or 4 knots I lose the bottom from 240 meters. It is normal?
I don´t have de MB-1110 module. The equipment is as follows:
FCV-588......Airmar Cable 10 pin - 9 pin ........Airmar TM260 with generic cable
Maybe I need the Matching Box MB-1100?
Thanks ;?
If you are see bottom and targets ..that means the transducer is working....and you do not need the MB-1100.
The BM-1100 is a diplexer..and if you are getting any returns at all..that means your ducer has the diplexer already built in.

If you are loosing bottom then you may have an install issue..and may need to adjust.
Old 01-23-2017, 11:50 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks semperfifishing.
Maybe the installation is not perfect but It is strange that with the gain at 100% and a very slow speed (3 knots) I lose the bottom on 250 mts.(820 feet).
The place is a canyon and there are big fishing boats fishing shrimps every day and maybe there are sand in suspension causing bad lectures.
Old 01-24-2017, 04:36 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,003
Likes: 0
Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts
Default

Are you using 50khz?
Old 01-24-2017, 04:37 AM
  #9  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

yes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.