Notices

JL audio amp(s) install

Reply

Old 03-28-2006, 08:34 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,401
Default JL audio amp(s) install

Just finished taking a few hours tonight to finish the JL audio install with a few amps that came in late afternoon. The long one is the E 6450 amp putting out 6 x 45 watts and the shorter one with temp wires connected to the batts is a 1 x 480 watts mono subwoofer. As I had run all my wires last night, the install was about an hour. I mounted the 6 ch on a piece of starboard so I did not drill thru the side of my console on the high side.

The sound is nothing short of breathtaking. The key seems to be having the sub amp put out all the bass, naturally ,so the mids and high need much less power. And for those of you that think amps are for loud power, they do an amazing job at low levels too.

Interesting opservation. On my front deck is a pair of Infinity 6.5 coaxials that I have not changed out yet. The JL makes them sound MUCH better than the former clarion marine amp that was more power but nowhere near as clean. I would recommend the JL amp as a quick tune-up for system as it is only in the $250 range.

Again thanks to Mike Groves at SW FL Navigation for his phone and sales help.

Glen E is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 05:50 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dartmouth MA
Posts: 5,750
Default Re: JL audio amp(s) install

Intersting take on the clarion vs. jl amp. Just finished spending the weekend installing a clarion xmd3 head unit, 6 disk changer and 480 watt clarion amp along w. a pair of Infinity Kappa 6 1/2" 3 ways. All in all I am not thrilled with the Clarion amp. While plenty powerful it does not seem to be as 'clean' a sound as I was hoping for and the instruction maual that came with the unit is plain awful. I'll need to fiddle with some of the settings this week end to see if I can clean it up some but thats difficult to do since the adjustments can only be done with a screw driver in a now difficult to reach space. Oh well maybe next amp will be a JL
mymojo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 06:01 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,401
Default Re: JL audio amp(s) install

mymojo - 3/29/2006 5:50 AM

Intersting take on the clarion vs. jl amp. Just finished spending the weekend installing a clarion xmd3 head unit, 6 disk changer and 480 watt clarion amp along w. a pair of Infinity Kappa 6 1/2" 3 ways. All in all I am not thrilled with the Clarion amp. While plenty powerful it does not seem to be as 'clean' a sound as I was hoping for and the instruction maual that came with the unit is plain awful. I'll need to fiddle with some of the settings this week end to see if I can clean it up some but thats difficult to do since the adjustments can only be done with a screw driver in a now difficult to reach space. Oh well maybe next amp will be a JL
kappas are what is on the front of my deck too...make sure all the filters for ch 1 - 4 on the clarion are not set for HP or LP but "off" and source select set for 2 ch bass, gains at 1 pm

use the grey aux in female RCA jacks to hook up a mp3 player/ipod and you'll never use that 6 disc chager again...
Glen E is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 08:21 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dartmouth MA
Posts: 5,750
Default Re: JL audio amp(s) install

Thanks Glen - the changer came with the package I picked up from a fellow who was upgrading - could'nt pass up the deal so I put it in. Will be doing the ipod install shortly. Will have to go look at my amp seting to see if I have them set up right.
Thanks again
mymojo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:10 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lancaster , RIC VA
Posts: 8,231
Default Re: JL audio amp(s) install

Glen,

Like your location of your amps. Flush and roll!

Thanks to you and your project I decided to get a new sub and amp. It is ready to install sitting here in a box. Got a Kenwood 10" and small amp. It won't be anything like yours, but will be quite an improvement over what I had.

The Sony HU I got only has 2 pre-amp outputs. Does your Clarion have 3? I didn't realize that by saving $20 on the model I got I lost one set of outs.

So if I run the sub-amp on one pre-out, will I be limited to one 4 channel amp and lose the fader ability, or can I split a rear amp and the sub-out on one pre-out?

In the short term I'm just going to run the speakers off the HU until I figure out what speaker arrangement I'll use. I may send the HU back and get one with 3 sets of outs. thx
GWcpa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 02:54 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Kingsland, GA
Posts: 4,002
Default Re: JL audio amp(s) install

You can either split the pre-amp signal. You wont have fader capability to reduce subwoofer volume though. Also you amp may have a high pass output that you can run to the amplifier that runs your regular speakers. The Clarion has 3 pairs of RCA outputs (2 for subwoofer)--I think. The Aquatic av has two pair plus a mono sub output. It is nice to have subwoofer adjustment on the headunit and when you upgrade your stereo you should look out for this.
606zpx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 02:54 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,401
Default Re: JL audio amp(s) install

I only had two sets of pre-outs....my sub had a pass thru so when one set went to the subs it came back out and went back into the other amp. But you can split one set of your preouts and send that to the sub and stil have you orginal 2 sets...
Glen E is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 02:58 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Kingsland, GA
Posts: 4,002
Default Re: JL audio amp(s) install

Whoopsie, I see that Glen has answered the question
606zpx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 04:06 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lancaster , RIC VA
Posts: 8,231
Default Re: JL audio amp(s) install

Thanks for the clarification. It has been a while since I messed with this stuff. The HU I have has an adjustable sub setting for one set of pre-outs. Don't think a fader is going to matter much the way I'm going to have the speakers installed.

I'm going to start putting together a fair system, starting with upgrading the batteries and wiring. Have not decided on the speaker yet, so will make do with the old Jensens for now.

Really wanted to install the sub last night but need to complete a couple of other tasks first. (Like tax-season.)
GWcpa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 04:15 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,401
Default Re: JL audio amp(s) install

It's my opin ( and mine only) that with crossovers and subs you pretty much forget using treble & bass and sub "shaping" on the HU - the guys at JL tech told me if you start messing with the amp settings, sub amp settings, and then the HU settings, you will never get it right. I agree. Want more bass? - turn up the sub - want more highs? turn up the mids and highs and set the crossover different and you got treble.

So my HU is flat, flat, flat and no sub volume.....start messing with the HU and it's likie adjusting an old carb with 4 set screws....
Glen E is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 04:26 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Kingsland, GA
Posts: 4,002
Default Re: JL audio amp(s) install

I should have clarified....I would like the option of shutting the subwoofer off at the headunit. I am not too interested in frequency and slope adjustment on the head unit, but I would like to avoid diddling with the amplifier if possible.
606zpx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 04:34 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,401
Default Re: JL audio amp(s) install

606zpx - 3/29/2006 4:26 PM

I should have clarified....I would like the option of shutting the subwoofer off at the headunit. I am not too interested in frequency and slope adjustment on the head unit, but I would like to avoid diddling with the amplifier if possible.
Understood....I have put the sub amp remote turn on wire on a switch on the dash. That way when I want to anchor/drift, I can shut off the subs...
Glen E is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 04:35 PM
  #13  
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: JL audio amp(s) install

Beautiful install, Glen
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006, 03:49 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 208
Default Re: JL audio amp(s) install

Glen nice work.
TopFin36 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: