Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Mounting GPS and VHF Antenna on hard top - cables

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Mounting GPS and VHF Antenna on hard top - cables

Old 03-22-2006, 06:12 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North East
Posts: 5,938
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Mounting GPS and VHF Antenna on hard top - cables

The new boat has a hard top with electronics box and I'll be mounting the VHF antenna using a SS ratchet mount and the GPS antenna using a plastic mount.

What do you recommend for running the cables to the electronics box? I'd like to leave them on the top of the hard top, run them over to the E box and then drill 1 hole and run them down into the E Box. What should I use to hold the cables to the top of the hard top? I don't want to be drilling holes every 6 inches.

Suggestions?
Old 03-22-2006, 06:52 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl.
Posts: 7,371
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Mounting GPS and VHF Antenna on hard top - cables

That would not be the way I'd run them. It will look pretty tacky.
Tye wrap the cable to the tubing after it come's thru the hardtop or mount the screw mount's that tye wrap's go thru to the bottom side of the hardtop. Mine run thru chase tubes that I glassed to the underside of the hardtop.
You will see several of the Blue Sea's Cable Clam's in the pix.

The Blue Seas cable clam's are all I will use.


Old 03-22-2006, 07:18 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North East
Posts: 5,938
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Mounting GPS and VHF Antenna on hard top - cables

Thanks for the info and the picture. Nice job on your boat!

So my scenario is a bit different because I'll be mounting the antenna's on top of the hard top and I do not have any chase tubes. In a perfect world I would mount them directly above the E Box and drill 1 hole down into the E Box for the cable run but I need to install them on each side of the top. There really aren't any support tubes which would go from the spot I mount them and over to the E Box. One comes close but not close enough.

Old 03-23-2006, 04:03 PM
  #4  
Koz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 540
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Mounting GPS and VHF Antenna on hard top - cables

FireFly: Your hard top should have support tubing holding up the hardtop. That support tubing should also be holding up the electronics box too.. right? I'm getting a soft top so I'm not sure how the hardtop setup works but I would guess it's pretty much the same. I would drill through the hardtop at the point where you mount the antenas and then try to snake the wire inside the tubing or tie wrap around the tubes if you can. Leaving them on top won't look good.

Old 03-23-2006, 04:25 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
fish factory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 25,453
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Re: Mounting GPS and VHF Antenna on hard top - cables


If you have a fiberglass hardtop with a molded in fiberglass radio box...

Mount both antennas so they will feed into the radio box. The GPS antenna wire will feed inside the mount. The radio wire will mount to a Shakespere HD SS rachet mount. Leave about 10" of slack and drill a hole about 6" from mount again to lead to inside of radio box. You can use a "Cable outlet" available at any boat place (about $5.00, 3/4"diameter, has o-ring to seal watertight). You'll also need 3 of the smallest phillips head screws you have ever seen to attach.

Once you're in the radio box, you can use a "standpipe" (supplied by t-top builder) that goes directly to the electronics cabinet (if so equipped) on top of console, or to top of console (if no E cabinet). Alternate, try to fish wires thru t-top supports to end up in console or under deck to fish to console.

Lot of typing hope it made sense!
Old 03-23-2006, 04:29 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North East
Posts: 5,938
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Mounting GPS and VHF Antenna on hard top - cables

Thanks for all the great suggestions. Since I want to mount the atenna's on the edges and far apart from one another (plan to add radar at some point) I will do what Warthog says to do and tie wrap them to the support tubes and over to the molded in E Box. There is a tube going vertical from the box to the electronics cabinet with pull strings already supplied.

Thanks again.
Joe

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.