Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

AP 11 Rudder Feedback issue

Old 06-03-2016, 08:03 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AP 11 Rudder Feedback issue

just installed a new RF300 on an AP11 pilot. I installed it backwards the first try. Now I have it correctly installed, but when the wheel is centered the rudder indicator line on the control head shows rudder hard over to port. When I move the wheel, the indicator comes back to the center, but never goes over to starboard.

Question: Did I fry the RF300 by hooking it up in reverse (with the cable facing opposite the tiller arm on the rudder) , or is there a way to zero out the rudder indicator ( I have tried using the dockside setup but cannot get the rudder indicator to center)? When I try to operate the pilot, it fails since it sees the rudder as hard over and cannot correct any further.

Any ideas gents?
Thanks!
Old 06-03-2016, 09:45 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,995
Likes: 0
Received 346 Likes on 290 Posts
Default

there is a center line on the unit. it needs to be mounted so it lines up when the rudder is center.

then you should be able to get exact center in calibration.

I don't know what you mean but "hooking up in reverse" the wires don't mater. direction will be set in calibration.
Old 06-03-2016, 10:10 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

You have inadvertently accepted the RF300 frequency for hard to Port as a valid reference for rudder midships due to being installed 180 degrres out. You have 2 options...1 Initiate a master reset to lose the current settings or...2 Go direct to the Seatrial setup, put rudder midships, select Rudder Zero, Enter. Then go back to Dockside settings, set rudder as per instruction to hard port and hard stb at 30 degrees followed by rudder test. Tip: When setting up hard to port and hard to stb back off on the wheel half a turn to prevent the hydraulic cylinder ram from bottoming out.
Old 06-04-2016, 03:40 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks guys! By "hooking up in reverse " I meant what isitstuffed noted, that is I physically mounted the RF300 incorrectly (did not reverse the electrical connection).

I think I will try a master reset since I have my Parameters noted and will easily be able to put them back.

Thanks for the great info.

Gradyrod
Old 06-04-2016, 04:10 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Sea Trial Setup

now that i re-read your post a few times isitstuffed, I am wondering. When you said go directly to Sea Trial and zero the rudder, do I have to be underway to do this, or can I do this dockside? This would be easier than master reset if it can be done at dockside. Then I could go right back to dockside setup and continue the rudder correctly.

Thanks!
Old 06-04-2016, 04:49 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Gradyrod View Post
Sea Trial Setup

now that i re-read your post a few times isitstuffed, I am wondering. When you said go directly to Sea Trial and zero the rudder, do I have to be underway to do this, or can I do this dockside? This would be easier than master reset if it can be done at dockside. Then I could go right back to dockside setup and continue the rudder correctly.

Thanks!
No, you can do it in your driveway, no need to float your boat...in the sea you would go to the same menu option and when on a straight line course with a straight wake...hit enter. This then accommodates your sideways trim due to prop rotation. But to get you out of trouble now, do it now, and then again when in the drink.
Old 06-04-2016, 05:55 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Got it- Thanks!!

Cheers-

Gradyrod
Old 06-19-2016, 07:17 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

still not there ! went into Sea Trial setup. tried to get rudder to zero out. still reads fully to port when back to Standby . As I turn wheel the rudder indicator bar does turn , but with wheel amidships control head still reads rudder fully to port.

Any other suggestions before I try the Master Reset?
Thanks.
Old 06-20-2016, 02:30 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Gradyrod View Post
still not there ! went into Sea Trial setup. tried to get rudder to zero out. still reads fully to port when back to Standby . As I turn wheel the rudder indicator bar does turn , but with wheel amidships control head still reads rudder fully to port.

Any other suggestions before I try the Master Reset?
Thanks.
Can you confirm that the instructions from smac999 relating to aligning the marks on the body and arm is done. When this is aligned the RF300 feedback outputs a frequency of 3400 Hz and can be read using a multimeter set to 'frequency' with the probes on the brown and white wires at the course computer.
This frequency will vary plus or minus 20Hz for each degree of angle change to port or stb.

Although I am of the opinion this is just a set up issue, I am wondering why you have had to fit a new one in the first place. Did the original one suffer some form of damage etc?
Old 06-20-2016, 10:21 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

isitstuffed:
Thanks for the quick come back! Yes, I followed instructions regarding the alignment marks as per smc's post. The original rf300 was removed as I was getting an error showing no rudder angle reading(I believe). The pilot was not working at all. (I subsequently discovered a leak in a deck plate directly over the rf300 which I believe caused the original unit to go bad). Then I got advice to take the rf300 and rotate the arm in a circle many times to help "clean" the potentiometer. This I did and it did work again for a long sail. Then over the winter I purchased the new rf300, installed it backwards, and here I am.
I will try the meter as you suggest over the upcoming weekend just to verify that the unit is working, then we will know it is a set up issue.
Thanks again.
Old 06-28-2016, 07:58 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Postitive Result !!

I played with this pilot for hours this past weekend. I was getting all kinds of errors: Fail actuator, Fail Datacomm, No Data. I decided I would remove the Jbox , rudder feedback unit, and compass and send out for a bench test. When I went to remove the RF300, sure enough I found that the alignment marks were not where they should have been. I remounted the unit, and all was good!! Performed the dockside rudder test, and passed. Still need to take out for sea trial, but all is looking good at this point.
Thanks all for the encouragement!

Gradyrod

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.