Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Simrad 3D Structure Scan

Old 06-03-2016, 12:56 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 6,117
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Simrad 3D Structure Scan

Does anyone have one installed on their boat yet? I just received mine and "holy shit" what a plug that has to go through the transom. I really do wish that these electronics manufacturers would think about how to shrink these plugs or let us hard wire them without the plugs.
Old 06-03-2016, 05:43 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 334
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I haven't gotten one yet, but would like to see how this turns out for you. Can you post some pics of it?
Old 06-03-2016, 06:52 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ocean City, MD
Posts: 1,023
Received 91 Likes on 48 Posts
Default

That's exactly why I haven't bought one yet. Hoping they come out with a newer version with a smaller cable. No way I'm drilling a hole that big in my transom.
Old 06-03-2016, 07:48 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Daytona Beach, Fl
Posts: 395
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bigk23surf View Post
That's exactly why I haven't bought one yet. Hoping they come out with a newer version with a smaller cable. No way I'm drilling a hole that big in my transom.
Installed ours over top of transom between two Yamahas and then through motorwell with a rupp clamshell by outboard cables. Worked ok. Wish the plug was smaller

Last edited by Richard991; 06-03-2016 at 07:48 PM. Reason: Spelling
Old 06-03-2016, 07:55 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: mobile,al
Posts: 462
Received 55 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

I ran my cable into the bottom of my f150 and into rigging tune. I then ran it to the center console and into the back of my machine.
Old 06-03-2016, 08:16 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 6,117
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

I already have a hole that's about a. Inch in diameter, I'll let you know how it goes.
Old 06-03-2016, 08:32 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 67
Received 18 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

I did my install about 3 months ago. You will need a 1 1/4 inch hole in the transom. The bad news is that is the easy part, the hard part is pulling the wire thru the rigging tube to the counsel. It was a pain in the a**, but it was worth it.
Old 06-03-2016, 11:59 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,433
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

I also took it over the top of the transom and trough on of the feed troughs for the engine wiring. If you use silicone spray as lubricant when pulling it goes much easier.
Old 06-04-2016, 03:19 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ocean City, MD
Posts: 1,023
Received 91 Likes on 48 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bluewaterseeker View Post
I already have a hole that's about a. Inch in diameter, I'll let you know how it goes.
I have a 24CH and installed my LSS2 very similar to yours. I would be curious how you do the 3D. Post some pics when your done.
Old 06-04-2016, 07:02 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: BFE
Posts: 2,979
Received 1,077 Likes on 640 Posts
Default

Over the transom with some gasket material zip tied around cable which lays on transom guard to protect from sawing through ducer cable from vibration, etc.
Old 06-04-2016, 08:54 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 498
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Was anyone able to get the 3d extension cables?
Old 06-05-2016, 02:40 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,433
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

Mount the StructureScan box further back in the boat and use a longer Ethernet cable instead.
Old 06-05-2016, 06:47 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
CLTAMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Charlotte N.C.
Posts: 242
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

subscribed
Old 06-06-2016, 08:18 AM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 6,117
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
Mount the StructureScan box further back in the boat and use a longer Ethernet cable instead.
I shouldn't have any problem pulling the cable through the chase. My boat has two 3" pipes fiber-glassed in under the deck. That's the easy part.

It's the transom that I'm not looking forward to.
Old 06-09-2016, 06:28 AM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 334
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

So how's it going? Were you able to get that sucker mounted yet?
Old 06-09-2016, 07:32 AM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 6,117
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by AS350Pilot View Post
So how's it going? Were you able to get that sucker mounted yet?
It's been too hot and I've been too lazy to tackle it yet.
Old 06-09-2016, 08:24 AM
  #17  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

I dont mean to hijack the thread but how deep is the 3d sounder read and are you guys happy with the reading of the sonar
Old 06-09-2016, 10:32 AM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Daytona Beach, Fl
Posts: 395
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Mine is working great and works up to the transducer come out of water at 15-17 knots. We have found some very interesting holes and crannies we did not about. Never saw them on our 2D or BSM-3
Old 06-09-2016, 10:37 AM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Palm Beach County
Posts: 3,438
Likes: 0
Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Wanting to hear more. I got a live demo at MIBS and was impressed with it. Definitely in my wish list.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.