Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Newbie struggling with Simrad-Volvo Connection

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Newbie struggling with Simrad-Volvo Connection

Old 06-03-2016, 07:51 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Newbie struggling with Simrad-Volvo Connection

I bought a new boat with a Volvo D6-370 engine. The engine has a display panel mounted to the dash to show NMEA2000 engine data.

The marina installed a Simrad 12" multifunction display. It has only GPS and sonar on it (no radar, autopilot, etc.). It is supposed to be able to connect to the NMEA2000 system and display engine data (rpm, miles per gallon, etc.).

We cannot get the NMEA engine data to work on the Simrad. The marina is just a mom-n-pop place and they don't really know how to connect the instrument panel to the engine. Our local area does not have local Simrad dealers or certified Volvo mechanics to help.

Currently: The engine cable connects to a couple of t-connectors. They output two ways - to one to the Volvo instrument display (which works fine) and the other to an extension cable that goes to the Simrad (does not work). There is also a terminal cap on the end of one opening.

If I hook the cable directly into the Simrad without using the t-connectors and bypassing the Volvo panel, the Simrad instruments still do not work.

I think there must be a setting that I am missing, or perhaps a special cable that I don't know about.

I won't be able to call Simrad or Volvo for support until Tuesday or Wednesday due to my work hours conflicting with their tech support hours. I was hoping I could figure it out before then.

Any thoughts or comments are appreciated. Thank you!
Old 06-03-2016, 05:15 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: marblehead
Posts: 2,398
Received 65 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

Do you have the Volvo NMEA 2000 Interface? Part# 3889758

Got any pics of your wiring?
Old 06-03-2016, 05:30 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Ethan View Post
Do you have the Volvo NMEA 2000 Interface? Part# 3889758

Got any pics of your wiring?
I stumbled across that part in my research last night. Awfully expensive, and I wish the Volvo and/or Simrad documentation were more atraightworward about needing this part.

I was a bit confused between parts 3889759 and 3889758 and a couple others. They all started to look the same after a few hours of research.

I'll take some pics of the wiring when I am on the boat tomorrow.

Thank you!
Old 06-03-2016, 05:32 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: marblehead
Posts: 2,398
Received 65 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

PM me your email addy and I'll send you all the manuals.

Last edited by Ethan; 06-03-2016 at 05:48 PM.
Old 06-03-2016, 05:37 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: marblehead
Posts: 2,398
Received 65 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

I'm incorrect, I actually have the 3889757


Name:  IMG_1115_zpslpqojiwv.jpg
Views: 760
Size:  173.2 KB
Old 06-03-2016, 07:53 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 1,470
Received 110 Likes on 73 Posts
Default

Volvo likes to update PNs like they're going out of style. Generally they all are the same... I have 5 PNs for the same spare pullys on my boat so don't get overwhelmed.

When you get it working share some reports. I want to do the same thing and am curious how it looks/feels.
Old 06-03-2016, 10:29 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Your verbal description of the network advises no power cable is connected, that means you should have 3 tees, not 2 and 2 terminators not one. The droppers should be the engine gateway, the Simrad and one more which us the network power cable with a fuse. However it is possible the engine gateway provides power via the ignition key. As others have suggested we need photos to confirm the theory.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.