Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine A98

Old 06-03-2016, 05:41 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: LBI, NJ
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Raymarine A98

Hey Guys - just got a new boat and it has a 10 year old E120 and E80 - I also just installed a new A98 and autopilot - everything works perfectly - however, when I am in the intercoastal or back bays of New Jersey I do not like how I can't see the channels - my hold boat had a Garmin and Simrad and every channel was perfectly detailed - on my Garmin basically there was a white shaded area that indicated the channels and you just had to stay in that area - on the Raymarine I have channel markers but not channel areas shaded which I really want - I have the most high end upgraded chip in there as well (actually for all units) - anyone have a similar experience with Raymarine? Any thoughts? I can't imagine with all this technology that Raymarine doesn't have an option for shaded channels - Thanks
Old 06-03-2016, 06:39 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 152
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

you must to enable the 2D shadowing on the presentation menu
Old 06-03-2016, 07:51 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: LBI, NJ
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Antonio thanks for your response but can you eloborate
Old 06-03-2016, 08:04 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 152
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RedMan8788 View Post
Antonio thanks for your response but can you eloborate
of course

on chart aplication
menu>presentation>overlays>2D shading


cheers
Old 06-03-2016, 08:11 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: LBI, NJ
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

thanks man - and then you think I will see the channels just like on my Garmin?
Old 06-03-2016, 09:52 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 152
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RedMan8788 View Post
thanks man - and then you think I will see the channels just like on my Garmin?
I have no garmin but if you are using Navionics cartography they are amazing


if you have not upgraded to R17 in A98 do it because it releases new features in Navionics cartography.

http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...lable-now.html


you can dowload the R17 here

http://www.raymarine.com/view/?id=3764


cheers
Old 06-03-2016, 10:03 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: LBI, NJ
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

thank you very much - have a nice weekend
Old 06-03-2016, 10:16 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 152
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RedMan8788 View Post
thank you very much - have a nice weekend

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.