Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Simrad DrivePilot or Lowrance Outboard Pilot

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Simrad DrivePilot or Lowrance Outboard Pilot

Old 06-03-2016, 03:16 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 718
Received 34 Likes on 26 Posts
Default Simrad DrivePilot or Lowrance Outboard Pilot

I have a cobia 296 with twin 300s was wondering if anybody has used either of these on twin engines and boats around this size. I been told that it should work fine but would like to see if there is anyone that has one on there boat and how it did. My second question is I already have a RC42 heading sensor will it work with the lowrance auto pilot? I have an hds12 gen 2.

Thanks
Old 06-03-2016, 06:15 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,454
Likes: 0
Received 1,130 Likes on 920 Posts
Default

The two are identical except the compass, The Lowrance (and Simrad Outboard Pilot) comes with Point-1 AP and DrivePilot with RC42. Buy the Lowrance pilot and use your current compass.
Old 06-03-2016, 06:28 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,757
Received 644 Likes on 430 Posts
Default

Just something that I think should be considered.

Recommended for single-outboard setups, on boats that are 30 feet and less, in length
Old 06-03-2016, 11:31 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 718
Received 34 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by InternationalMarineBrian View Post
Just something that I think should be considered.

Recommended for single-outboard setups, on boats that are 30 feet and less, in length
Yes I read that also but in theory it should work for twins if the pump is big enough. The pump doesn't know if it's twins or single. My other option is to just wait and get a AP2403 autopilot.

Thanks for the help
Old 06-03-2016, 08:27 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 121
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 24seachaser View Post
Yes I read that also but in theory it should work for twins if the pump is big enough. The pump doesn't know if it's twins or single. My other option is to just wait and get a AP2403 autopilot.

Thanks for the help
I have it running on twin DF250ap's which is the same engine but 250 hp and it runs fine it's more about if your using single or twin rams if single ram your fine twins no go , i also updated to the new prescion 9 compass instead of using the RC 42 its perfect.

regards thecheif
Old 06-04-2016, 03:35 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,454
Likes: 0
Received 1,130 Likes on 920 Posts
Default

Check AP24 documentation, if AC12 and RPU80 can be used for your boat then DrivePilot, Outboard Pilot and Lowrance Pilot will also use.
Old 06-04-2016, 08:09 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Naples FL
Posts: 330
Received 103 Likes on 56 Posts
Default

The chief,
I'm looking at adding the same setup. So you are having no problem with the boat wandering with the virtual rudder feedback? I'm considering the RPU 80 pump and the RC42 and then hooking it up to my NSS12. My boat has a single cylinder but twin engines. 25 sea craft.
Old 06-05-2016, 07:35 PM
  #8  
dm
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Magothy River, MD, USA
Posts: 571
Received 67 Likes on 47 Posts
Default

I have the outboard pilot on my 30' Whaler. As others have said my boat has twins and a single ram. Works great on the troll. Works great at cruise if you are navigating to a waypoint. Wanders a little (very little really) if you just push the auto button at cruise speed, but still steers straighter than I could. I am using the point 1 and have been thinking about upgrading the heading sensor next winter. FYI, buy the Bluetooth remote control, it's sweet!

Last edited by dm; 06-06-2016 at 03:07 AM.
Old 06-06-2016, 04:11 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 718
Received 34 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

Thanks to everyone for all the information.
Old 06-06-2016, 06:02 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Naples FL
Posts: 330
Received 103 Likes on 56 Posts
Default

DM,
What instrument are you using as a head unit?
Old 06-06-2016, 08:30 AM
  #11  
dm
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Magothy River, MD, USA
Posts: 571
Received 67 Likes on 47 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dhirsh View Post
DM,
What instrument are you using as a head unit?
HDS-5 Gen 2. The autopilot interface on the button (non-touch screen) units is pretty clunky. Rather than buy a new unit and reconfigure my dash (again) I picked up the WR-10 bluetooth remote, see the link below. I troll quite a bit and it is very nice to be able to steer from the cockpit.

http://www.lowrance.com/en-US/Produc...ase-en-us.aspx

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.