Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Furuno Update Nightmare

Old 06-01-2016, 03:40 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Brenham
Posts: 63
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Furuno Update Nightmare

I’m about to beat my head against the wall! I have a 10.4” Furuno Navnet VX2. It’s most likely a 2005 model (RDP-149). The owner before me never had any reason apparently to update the machine or card. I have spent money on a new card (2 gb “Navionics Updated” MSD/NAVU-W) per the instruction of a rep from Navionics, and I have spent money and shipped my whole unit to the Furuno in Washington state to get a hardware and software update. It now has the software called 195002304.01.06. Now, nothing works still. I have been on the phone with Furuno and the GPS store with two conflicting instructions. One says I need to reformat the unit because it will only accept C-Map, and get a new card, and the other says I just need a Navionics Plus card. I don’t know who to believe anymore. Do any of you guys out there have this exact setup? (195002304.01.06) And if so, what freakin card actually works in this thing. You guys have been so helpful in the past, and I know this is a ridiculous long shot, but I have to try.

Thanks in advance.
Old 06-01-2016, 03:57 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,755
Received 640 Likes on 427 Posts
Default

I hate to see this happen to customers. I will say that I would be listening to the Furuno tech support.
Old 06-01-2016, 05:52 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: central florida
Posts: 988
Likes: 0
Received 223 Likes on 105 Posts
Default

Furuno has a forum that the tech guys monitor and give great help. Go to furuno usa website and click support then forum. Post your question in the VX2 section and you should get some good answers. I would trust Furuno's answer on this one.
Old 06-01-2016, 06:08 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jamaica Bay, NY
Posts: 826
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Just by looking at the front of the unit it should say if it's C Map or Navionics.
If it says Navionics in the lower right corner next to the VX2, just update the firmware (you may have to do a "step update" if it;\'s an older unit and previous owner didn't update it. Than you plug in your Navionics chart card and you're good to go.
If the unit is C Map compatible you can still switch to Navionics... just talk to your Furuno rep. how to do it, They know what they are talking about.
Old 06-01-2016, 06:36 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Brenham
Posts: 63
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

I spoke to Chris, a tech at furuno, and he told me that even though my furuno says navionics at the bottom right, and the furuno boys in Washington state updated it for navionics, I still need to switch it over to c-map. But when I took his advice, and called jeppeson for the new card, and left two voice messages, no one called me back. So I went back to Chris, and he gave me the number for the gps store. That is when another person who works there told me the machine is set up for navionics and it should work. I just have the wrong card. I purchased a navionics "update" card, when I needed a Navionics "plus" card.
Old 06-01-2016, 06:55 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jamaica Bay, NY
Posts: 826
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Is there a bottom line?
Old 06-01-2016, 07:18 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Brenham
Posts: 63
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

"Bottom line" as in end all be all? That's what I'm looking for. I was thinking maybe someone out there had this setup in either navionics or c-map. But so far, the general consensus is to tell the guy that told me to get the plus card, that I'm not taking his advice and sell me a c-map anyways because that's what the tech at furuno says. Which I will! Just looking for a little more assurance from this site. You guys are awesome!
Old 06-02-2016, 12:33 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 691
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

I can tell you that if the unit is programmed for Navionics the C-map card will not work in it unless you reprogram the unit. I would suggest you see if you can borrow a card from someone local before wasting money on buying something that won't work for you.

When you first power up the unit does the screen say navionics or C-Map? I ask because you can't go by what the little door for the card slot says. It may have been programmed for one or the other.

And I am assuming the units starts up and you can see the block looking plotter screen

Also, the update card is to update the card you would already have if you have the old one. Look at "activation" on this link, you should have received instructions with the update card.

http://www.navionics.com/en/navionics-updates
Old 06-02-2016, 02:36 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Brenham
Posts: 63
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

I can tell you that the unit IS programmed for navionics. Furuno has a disk coming to me in the mail that will switch it over to c-map. And yes, I followed those instructions and put the old card that the previous owner left in, and updated it. And that link was very helpful. It stated that my update card actually did update my new purchased card to navionics plus. so it would seem the furuno dealer was correct and despite what navionics and the gps store told me, my unit will not accept navionics anymore. I will have to switch the programming over to c-map. Unless I'm missing something. Before I spend the money on a new c-map card, I will sit on hold this morning for a few hours and try and talk to a navionics rep one more time.
Old 06-02-2016, 02:53 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 502
Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

What size is the card for the Navionics chart? There may be a limit on what the VX2 can handle (2MB perhaps).
Old 06-02-2016, 03:03 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Brenham
Posts: 63
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gdfisher View Post
What size is the card for the Navionics chart? There may be a limit on what the VX2 can handle (2MB perhaps).
It is a 2 gb card. That is the smallest they make I think. The new ones are all 16 I think
Old 06-02-2016, 03:51 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,813
Received 204 Likes on 158 Posts
Default

Seems like the furuno guys are the only ones giving you correct info here and the others are blowing smoke up your tailpipe and that is creating your nightmare. Stop listening to the other people and do what Furuno is telling you to do. If Furuno is sending you a disk to switch over to C-map follow their instructions. Do the update. you can download C-map files from the furuno site.
Old 06-02-2016, 06:41 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Palm Beach,FL,USA
Posts: 1,318
Received 42 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

If you switch to C-Map you will need to purchase a C-Map Max SD card. The C-Map files for Navnet vx2 are not downloadable.
If you stick with Navionics you will need their special XL9 Gold cards to work as the standard gold cards have too much data for this 11 year old machine.
BTW- If you do switch to C-Map you will be able to use their wide coverage area charts.
Old 06-02-2016, 07:44 AM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Brenham
Posts: 63
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

I have called Navionics and they are going through standard protocol motions. I mentioned the Gold XL9, and what Furuno said, and she glossed over it. They are defensive of their product and believe that I am trying to download too many maps. It is under a GB total. So I will go with the motions for now. If I do this, and if it doesn't work (which I'm sure it won't), they want to find a solution. At that point I might get something accomplished. But for now, we're going snapper fishing this weekend with a handheld.
Old 06-02-2016, 08:14 AM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,442
Received 413 Likes on 253 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gonzo77833 View Post
It is a 2 gb card. That is the smallest they make I think. The new ones are all 16 I think
Many older units can only handle small cards that are no longer made, like 32MB or 64MB. My local Furuno dealer keeps a stash of these old cards to support older machines.
Old 06-02-2016, 08:19 AM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 1,861
Received 182 Likes on 110 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by cravenMH View Post
If you switch to C-Map you will need to purchase a C-Map Max SD card. The C-Map files for Navnet vx2 are not downloadable.
If you stick with Navionics you will need their special XL9 Gold cards to work as the standard gold cards have too much data for this 11 year old machine.
BTW- If you do switch to C-Map you will be able to use their wide coverage area charts.
This ^^^

I updated my VX2 from Navionics to C-Map so that I could get Sirius weather working. I think the advice above is sound.
Old 06-02-2016, 11:40 AM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Brenham
Posts: 63
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Yep, I'm gonna try the small amount I put on back on the card tonight, but as soon as it doesn't work, I've got a guy at the GPS store that I'm going to get to send me a new C-Map card. I'm just gonna have to eat that navionics cards though I'm sure. The place I bought it from is not going to take it back after I added data to it.
Old 06-02-2016, 01:58 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,442
Received 413 Likes on 253 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gonzo77833 View Post
Yep, I'm gonna try the small amount I put on back on the card tonight, but as soon as it doesn't work, I've got a guy at the GPS store that I'm going to get to send me a new C-Map card. I'm just gonna have to eat that navionics cards though I'm sure. The place I bought it from is not going to take it back after I added data to it.
Just double check with Furuno on the max card size. It's not the amount of data that's the issue - it's the actual capacity of the card - many older units simply refuse to recognise cards over a certain size.
Old 06-03-2016, 11:16 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 1,861
Received 182 Likes on 110 Posts
Default

Your release looks dated.
I updated my Furuno 3 years ago to this version:
195002404.03.07

I'm using a C-Map Max NT card, US east coast and Bahamas.
Old 06-03-2016, 04:15 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Forked River NJ
Posts: 695
Received 24 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

I only use a sandisk 256mb card any larger doesn't work properly. Not GB make sure its MB.

You can purchase on ebay.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.