Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance Elite 4 DSI transducer power?

Old 06-01-2016, 09:54 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lowrance Elite 4 DSI transducer power?

Hi,

I was wondering how the actual transducer gets power from the head-unit? I want to try power up the transducer without having it connected to the head-unit and then subsequently connect it to a nmea data logger.

Any help or insults will be appreciated

Cheers
Old 06-02-2016, 09:35 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 306
Received 24 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Before I try and answer you question first let me insult you..... darn I can't think of anything.

How does the transducer get power from the head you ask? Darned if I know, but more interesting is your desire for a data logger. I was just looking for nema data loggers because I wanted to log data for the Lowrance Insight Genesis application. Thinking that a data logger might be less expensive than a new sonar unit for logging data, if the data would even be in a form to work with that application. I was wrong, at least for the data loggers I found.

If they still have them in stock you can get an Elite 4 CHIRP with Navionics chart card for about 200 bucks. I got one just for logging. Here is the link: http://www.westmarine.com/buy/lowran...cers--16222895

Maybe you are way ahead of me on this but even if you get power to the transducer arn't you going to need software to create the nema sentences you need to output to the data logger? Here is a link to them: http://www.catb.org/gpsd/NMEA.html

Additionally for Insight Genesis the best frequency is 200Khz, it logs depth, bottom hardness and weedlines. Other frequencys just log depth.
Old 06-02-2016, 11:46 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Chessy,

I am actually going to use an Arduino to read the nmea data and write it to a SD card, the application where I want to use this is on a sailing dinghy, which I capsize regularly. Having a head-unit in the way, is not an option.
Old 06-03-2016, 03:15 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

The transducer is not powered other than for a thermistor or paddlewheel.
It actually receives a couple of high voltage sinewave pulses or a swept waveform if CHIRP, from the transmitter in the head unit. Besides, what is it you wish to log and if it needs GPS coordinates you'll need the head unit outputting nmea0183 position data.
Old 06-03-2016, 04:22 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by isitstuffed View Post
The transducer is not powered other than for a thermistor or paddlewheel.
It actually receives a couple of high voltage sinewave pulses or a swept waveform if CHIRP, from the transmitter in the head unit. Besides, what is it you wish to log and if it needs GPS coordinates you'll need the head unit outputting nmea0183 position data.
I have seen airmar transducers that have to be connected directly to power. So are you saying within the lowrance data line, there won't be power wires running down to the transducer? Or will there but will require a higher voltage to get the pulses going?
Old 06-03-2016, 07:58 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 306
Received 24 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

I still don't know what you are trying to do, but maybe this will get you closer to what you want.

http://www.cruzpro.com/pcff80.html
Old 06-04-2016, 02:17 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by PaBz0r View Post
I have seen airmar transducers that have to be connected directly to power. So are you saying within the lowrance data line, there won't be power wires running down to the transducer? Or will there but will require a higher voltage to get the pulses going?
What you are referring to is the Airmar 'Smart' transducers which contain active circuitry that converts the 235kHz sensor data into standard NMEA format. Both NMEA0183 and NMEA2000 are available. The NMEA 0183 requires 12 volts from the battery and the N2K uses the network for power.
The majority of data loggers use NMEA0183 and are easily exported as serial data sentences at a baud rate of 4800 into laptops using a number of apps etc this version may suit your needs, however for the data to be relevant you also need to correlate it to a geographic position which would require a GPS also transmitting in NMEA018 into the data logger.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.