Notices

Garmin New HD Chart

Old 05-31-2016, 05:21 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PBG, FL
Posts: 8,933
Default Garmin New HD Chart

.

Last edited by bradv; 06-25-2016 at 05:44 PM.
bradv is offline  
Old 05-31-2016, 05:31 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cruisin easy street on mud tires!
Posts: 1,495
Default

Originally Posted by bradv View Post
Just spent a week running around abaco with it. what a complete hunk of crap. even has me running over islands in the icw around Jupiter.
Oh man....dont say that. I just bought one. Does your unit have the latest software update?
davlan88 is offline  
Old 05-31-2016, 06:56 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cruisin easy street on mud tires!
Posts: 1,495
Default

No bueno. Guess Ill be returning it.
davlan88 is offline  
Old 05-31-2016, 07:25 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cruisin easy street on mud tires!
Posts: 1,495
Default

Originally Posted by bradv View Post
What other option you have?
I havent opened the package yet and tried. I know I had an issue with my last Lowrance running me through a neighborhood over houses versus the canal. I was running a Navionics card in it. It didnt work right until Lowrance released the next update. Then all was well. If the card doesnt work right out of the box, theres no sense in me spending $300 for it. Ill run the stock Garmin maps.
davlan88 is offline  
Old 05-31-2016, 07:27 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cruisin easy street on mud tires!
Posts: 1,495
Default

Maybe I am misunderstanding...Im speaking to the Bluechart G2 Vision HD additional mapping.
davlan88 is offline  
Old 06-01-2016, 04:50 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 524
Default

One of the reasons I am going to make the switch to Furuno from Garmin, need to sell all my Garmin stuff first though. Their maps are horrible.
trit21 is offline  
Old 06-01-2016, 12:18 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 314
Default

I had the same issue in islamorada in multiple channels. I took pictures and sent them to garmin and no help.
I also had a few issues around the bimini area aswell
wd40 is offline  
Old 06-01-2016, 02:06 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cruisin easy street on mud tires!
Posts: 1,495
Default

Wonderful.
davlan88 is offline  
Old 06-02-2016, 07:11 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 524
Default

If you use homeport you can see where the information is coming from on the Garmin charts. Information that is incorrect in my scenario is not from C-Map source but another. It seems that the information is there but for some reason they are shifted due West on the Garmin charts about maybe 1 mile or so? So when I am running in 300' of water, the charts tells me I am in less than 50' BUT my not so when I return to the US Fort Pierce area. Try explaining that to Garmin customer support.
trit21 is offline  
Old 06-02-2016, 07:36 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,956
Default

So this is from a discussion you and I had awhile back .... did you get any screen shots of what you're referencing.

Here are some screen captures of the new g2 HD Fishing Charts at TarTar Bank in the Bahamas.

Previous version of g2 fishing charts v 2014.5




New version g2 HD 2016 Fishing Chart Views
















New g2 HD Navigation Chart view of Tartar Bank


bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 06-02-2016, 07:53 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 314
Default

Trit...
I had the same issue in bimini!!!
The channel to big game was dead on. Then when i hit the edge 100'-400' for high speed trolling my chart showed me in 30-60'.
Weird!
I tried explaining to garmin aswell but all they said was to do a master reset and update software. Havent gone back since so not sure if its fixed
wd40 is offline  
Old 06-02-2016, 08:59 AM
  #12  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 63
Default

Same problem, which is discussed here: http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...-position.html


Worked with Garmin, they confirm the errors but blame NOAA as that is where their data is from?

Bottom line is the Garmin Maps Suck!!
nativesun is offline  
Old 06-02-2016, 11:29 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 524
Default

The only thing the HD charts did was add a bunch of contour lines where every fishermen that is worth a damn already knows are present. My gripe is the charts are off. Don't show me more f@#$ing lines and clutter up my chart, show my current position on the chart more accurately. How do more lines that I already know are present help me?
trit21 is offline  
Old 06-02-2016, 02:34 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cruisin easy street on mud tires!
Posts: 1,495
Default

Man, this is so discouraging. So is everyone saying that the maps are off no matter where you are, or just over in the Bahamas? My card is Southwest Florida. Also, my car is dated February 2016 I believe. I will return it since its not out of the package yet. If I try it or open the package, I imagine I own it. What a waste.
davlan88 is offline  
Old 06-02-2016, 02:57 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 314
Default

Davlan. I bought the 2016 chip because garmin said it would fix the channels that were off in islamorada. I bought it, put it in, and they were still off! So yes i returned it.
However, not all channels are off. Most of them are on point i just found it weird the ones in the florida keys were off. I havent been back to bimini since i did the master reset so cant tell you if that fixed the issue. Hopefully going back in a week or so.
wd40 is offline  
Old 06-02-2016, 03:57 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cruisin easy street on mud tires!
Posts: 1,495
Default

I had to have this same exact fight with Lowrance. It took me harrassing them and blowing up the boards. Whether i made a big enough stink or not, who knows I wasnt alone, but the issue was fixed in the next OS update. This doesnt sound like an OS issue, but a bluechart issue. That fight was exhausting and exactly why I went back to Garmin. Now this crap. I guess Ill give the card a shot. If it doesnt work, Ill raise enough hell to at least get my money back.
davlan88 is offline  
Old 06-02-2016, 04:52 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 524
Default

FYI: The advanced Bathy charts will not display on older Garmin units such as the 7212. They will show on the newer unit they currently sell. I have been on email with Garmin CS and they confirmed this. It does not say that on their website which was one of my gripes with Garmin but was confirmed by them. Not sure what units everyone is running but wanted to let you know just in case.
trit21 is offline  
Old 06-03-2016, 08:28 PM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cruisin easy street on mud tires!
Posts: 1,495
Default

Well, got on the water for the first time tonight. Heading out of our channel, at least 10-15 feet off position. Running down the middle of the canal, the GPS had me running in a mangrove preserve. Took the Vision HD chip out, rebooted, and had the same exact position on the stock maps. No change from card to stock map in position. This has to be an OS issue. I cant post pics, but have a pic. Here I go again....,
davlan88 is offline  
Old 06-04-2016, 05:43 AM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cruisin easy street on mud tires!
Posts: 1,495
Default

Anyone know the master reset on the 74dv?
davlan88 is offline  
Old 06-04-2016, 09:59 AM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Default

get
Yrral3215 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread