Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine Radar Not Working

Old 05-31-2016, 01:47 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 45
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Raymarine Radar Not Working

I have a 10 year old Raymarine C80 MFD that quit working. So I replaced it with a used C80 from a boat dealer. Installed and everything works fine except the radar.

I have a 18" 2kw Raymarine radome. And it is spinning up fine. The indicator on the MFD shows the radar is working. I get the radar screen with the circle and the head up line. But there are no objects in the screen.

I thought it might be because of the radar not ever being used on this MFD. But I do not know this but there was not radar window in the selection of display windows. I had to program one for the radar.

Anyone have any ideas on why this is not working?
Old 05-31-2016, 04:23 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,192
Received 693 Likes on 430 Posts
Default

There is a way for the display to perform a self check on the radar. I cannot recall what the menu selections are but I would start there.
Old 05-31-2016, 10:10 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 152
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

http://www.manualslib.com/products/R...80-327794.html
Old 06-01-2016, 10:16 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,124
Received 213 Likes on 126 Posts
Default

Make sure software is up to date.Mike
Old 06-02-2016, 09:15 AM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 45
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I went through the manual did not see anything about a self check. I also checked the trouble shooting on both the MFD and the RADAR.

I will call Raymarine and see if they have the procedure.

Also I am going to check on the software issue.

Thanks guys.
Old 06-02-2016, 10:27 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tarpon Springs, FL
Posts: 8,809
Received 4,113 Likes on 2,342 Posts
Default

From memory there's a connector inside the radar pedestal that's prone to corrosion. But it was a couple of years ago when I had that problem and that boat is long gone. And the parts weren't available then.
Old 06-02-2016, 12:18 PM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 45
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Mike I will check that out also.

Another possiblity is I used dialectric grease when restoring the connection from the Radar to the back of the MFD. Could that possibly be a problem. Its a 12 pin connector kind of closely located. Maybe there is conductance between some of the pins?

Not sure. Some people use dialectric grease for all marine connections some only on certain ones. Any possiblity of that being a problem?
Old 06-02-2016, 12:53 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NorCal
Posts: 3,295
Received 347 Likes on 212 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by revo816 View Post
Thanks Mike I will check that out also.

Another possiblity is I used dialectric grease when restoring the connection from the Radar to the back of the MFD. Could that possibly be a problem. Its a 12 pin connector kind of closely located. Maybe there is conductance between some of the pins?

Not sure. Some people use dialectric grease for all marine connections some only on certain ones. Any possiblity of that being a problem?
DE grease is not the issue.
Old 06-02-2016, 12:57 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,192
Received 693 Likes on 430 Posts
Default

just realized you are the same poster that had the bent pins. this is most likely your issue. call raymarine and they'll know how to perform the self check. there is a more advanced 'diagnostic check' you can do as well. much more technical info that they may want you to run. best to be at the boat when you call.
Old 06-02-2016, 01:39 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mine did the same thing, it turned out to be two broken pins on the back of the C80 MFD. It must have weakened the pins after numerous install and removal of the radar cable from the unit. I fixed it myself and have pictures but it requires some soldering and de-soldering of the connector plate. The back plate of the C80 is soldered to a circuit card.
Old 06-02-2016, 05:37 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 551
Received 144 Likes on 77 Posts
Default

I had a similar problem with an RL80 radar. It turned out to be broken and cut wires behind the display and dirty connections. I'd start off cleaning all the connections and when you reconnect it go into the menus and do a retune if yours has that option.
Old 06-04-2016, 11:48 AM
  #12  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 45
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Pins are all straight and clean. Once I straightend them they have been fine. I am not sure about back of the display maybe I need to get back there.

I will also call them on the diagnostic check.

Thanks.
Old 06-05-2016, 07:38 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 1,064
Received 56 Likes on 39 Posts
Default

I have exactly the same problem. It happened last night in the fog! It was working fine in the AM but no echos later on that day. All the diagnostics are fine and the magnatron spins up. If I crank up the gain, I can see noise on the display. I reset the cable at both ends but didn't clean the connections since there was no visible corrosion. I did recently downgrade the software to 4.29 to enable the radar/chart overlay. I hope I don't need to re-solder pins on the board (ugh!)
Attached Images     
Old 06-05-2016, 11:07 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,192
Received 693 Likes on 430 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by revo816 View Post
Pins are all straight and clean. Once I straightend them they have been fine. I am not sure about back of the display maybe I need to get back there.

I will also call them on the diagnostic check.

Thanks.
My point is that it is possible if not likely that a solder joint cracked when the pins were originally bent and/or you damaged the pins and/or plug when you 'fixed' them. you could easily crack a solder joint when you bend the pins once (by accident) and then twice (to fix them). Also, sticking a reamer in the plug receptacles may have enlarged them. Just pointing out that now that the radar isn't working, I would suspect this connection point first, given its history.
Old 06-06-2016, 04:59 AM
  #15  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 45
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

@chainsaw you are right on every point and I am going to check these items.
Old 06-06-2016, 05:11 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 1,064
Received 56 Likes on 39 Posts
Default

I cleaned all the connections and reset both ends of the cables. I also upgraded the software to the current version. Still not working. I ran the self test a couple of times and saw a cable test failure.


So probably a bad cable. I'm going to troubleshoot it today with my electronics guy.
Old 06-06-2016, 06:49 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,192
Received 693 Likes on 430 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by capecodguy View Post
I cleaned all the connections and reset both ends of the cables. I also upgraded the software to the current version. Still not working. I ran the self test a couple of times and saw a cable test failure.


So probably a bad cable. I'm going to troubleshoot it today with my electronics guy.
you can check the cable w/a multimeter. measure the resistance between pins per the linked PDF. take the readings at the display end of the cable (with the cable still attached to the dome). Then go to the dome, remove the connections at the dome, and make the same measurements on the dome. The readings should be the same. If the readings are the same & in spec then you don't have a connection problem in the cable-dome realm. If the readings are the same but not in spec then your dome is likely at fault. If the readings are not the same then you have a cable issue.

Keep in mind this does not check the display to cable connection.
Old 06-06-2016, 06:51 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,192
Received 693 Likes on 430 Posts
Default

won't let me post link...copy & paste in browser:

[api.ning.com/files/sYeHMTEA60JnzrDMBmGyBJyToxFbgQVOPIxyyG0FgAr6vLweZ1 af4QGHp4QQpaS0NWu7mCnbbqSbYZ3Zi4Eb6jPeVl5oc1hk/cableresistances1.pdf]
Old 06-06-2016, 06:53 AM
  #19  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 45
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Well so far no luck. I tried all the recommendations above but still not there. Keep in mind that when the pins were bent none of the pins were more than 2 or 3 degrees off plumb. In fact I had to study them carefully just to determine which pins were bent. And none of the pins ever were recessed.

Still your point is taken, and a cracked solder joint is a distinct possibility. But this would require removing the cover off of the C80 and not sure I want to go this deep.

I also made sure I was on the phone with the Raymarine technician and the boat at the same time. However he was no help whatsoever. He was not the least interested in helping me. His mantra was "i dont know what it is, there is no troubleshooting and its probably a bad LNC or Board. Either way we dont sell those parts so no luck".


I was very disappointed with Raymarine tech support and I do not believe I would ever spend another penny with them. To me technical support is what gets you through the tough times. Product quality and features and price are secondary. If I wanted a product with no support I could buy off of Alibaba or Ebay.

If I have to replace all of this stuff with next generation what would you guys recommend? Something in the mid range complete system with reliable support and quality. Not the high end.

And thanks for all of your comments so far.
Old 06-06-2016, 07:05 AM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,192
Received 693 Likes on 430 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by revo816 View Post
Well so far no luck. I tried all the recommendations above but still not there. Keep in mind that when the pins were bent none of the pins were more than 2 or 3 degrees off plumb. In fact I had to study them carefully just to determine which pins were bent. And none of the pins ever were recessed.

Still your point is taken, and a cracked solder joint is a distinct possibility. But this would require removing the cover off of the C80 and not sure I want to go this deep.

I also made sure I was on the phone with the Raymarine technician and the boat at the same time. However he was no help whatsoever. He was not the least interested in helping me. His mantra was "i dont know what it is, there is no troubleshooting and its probably a bad LNC or Board. Either way we dont sell those parts so no luck".


I was very disappointed with Raymarine tech support and I do not believe I would ever spend another penny with them. To me technical support is what gets you through the tough times. Product quality and features and price are secondary. If I wanted a product with no support I could buy off of Alibaba or Ebay.

If I have to replace all of this stuff with next generation what would you guys recommend? Something in the mid range complete system with reliable support and quality. Not the high end.

And thanks for all of your comments so far.
what did the self-test screen show?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.