Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

n2k question

Old 05-31-2016, 01:46 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Catawba Island, Ohio
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default n2k question

I just installed an nmea 2000 backbone - and it is connected to both pos/neg. Is there any way to tell if nmea 2000 is working/ My Garmin 741xs says no device connected.

Last edited by Catn TJ; 05-31-2016 at 01:49 PM. Reason: Correction
Old 05-31-2016, 02:06 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 242
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am no expert, but I do know, you must have 60 ohms resistance across 2 wires. Anything less you will have symptoms of no devices that comes n goes.
Well worth reading info for Nmea.
Old 05-31-2016, 02:30 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,573
Received 1,669 Likes on 1,266 Posts
Default

do you have any other devices connected at this point?

I don't think the Garmin will show "just the network"
Old 05-31-2016, 06:17 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,970
Received 436 Likes on 272 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Fwpratt View Post
do you have any other devices connected at this point?

I don't think the Garmin will show "just the network"
This is correct. What else do you have on the network?
Old 06-02-2016, 07:05 AM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 34
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, I can also confirm it doesn't do or show anything unless you have something else plugged into it.
I highly suggest getting an engine interface cable to connect to it. Displaying engine hours, rpm, trim, etc on the 741xs is really nice.
Old 06-02-2016, 09:03 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SouthBay SF
Posts: 1,375
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Catn TJ View Post
I just installed an nmea 2000 backbone - and it is connected to both pos/neg. Is there any way to tell if nmea 2000 is working/ My Garmin 741xs says no device connected.

What is connected to both positive and negative? Hopefully, it's the power tap. You should have it fused too. Then terminating resistors at both ends of backbone. Then all you need is "T's" to insert for new devices.

Also, as stated before, a communication network needs at least two devices. Otherwise it's just a bunch of wires with power connected to it. I have a funny feeling you know this already.

You can go to page 43 of this document to test each drop and the backbone.

2012 ibex full nmea installation.pdf

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.