Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

NMEA 2000 talk to NMEA 0182?

Old 05-31-2016, 08:30 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NMEA 2000 talk to NMEA 0182?

I have searched the forum and am having difficulty with finding the answer. I am hoping some of you boat gurus can help. I just bought a 1997 Seacat SL5 with had with it a Raytheon radar which according to the manual interfaces with NMEA 0182, I want to keep the radar but for obvious reasons, I replaced the GPS and old CRT fishfinder with a new Lowrance HDS unit which speaks NMEA 2000. Anyway to connect these units together so they will "talk" together? Thanks in advance for the info!!!
Old 05-31-2016, 06:21 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,970
Received 436 Likes on 272 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TonySal View Post
I have searched the forum and am having difficulty with finding the answer. I am hoping some of you boat gurus can help. I just bought a 1997 Seacat SL5 with had with it a Raytheon radar which according to the manual interfaces with NMEA 0182, I want to keep the radar but for obvious reasons, I replaced the GPS and old CRT fishfinder with a new Lowrance HDS unit which speaks NMEA 2000. Anyway to connect these units together so they will "talk" together? Thanks in advance for the info!!!
Look at your Lowrance book. It should have NMEA0183 interface instructions. You should be able to send position data to your radar and, possibly heading data if you have a heading sensor. . But honestly, that radar is 20 years old, and about 5 generations behind today's technology. Get a new radar that interfaces with the lowrance.
Old 05-31-2016, 11:25 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,556
Received 352 Likes on 216 Posts
Default

You can get interfaces that convert NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183 and vice versa. However, they are not that cheap. For me it was more cost effective to just keep the NMEA 2000 and the NMEA 0183 systems separate, even though that required two different GPS receivers.
Old 05-31-2016, 11:59 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

There is little benefit in interfacing a radar of that age (going by the brand name) to an MFD
Besides, the magnetron unless replaced in its lifetime, would be worn out, so too the circulator and bearings if an open array. Depends on what gain levels are needed to paint targets.
The display may have a service screen that displays the record of the hours of such things and may assist your decision to continue using it..
Old 06-01-2016, 11:59 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 5,881
Likes: 0
Received 194 Likes on 137 Posts
Default

simrad makes a simnet (NMEA2000) converter to 0183. just plug one end into your NMEA2000 bus and connect the wires to your 0183 device. You will need a simnet to 2000 adapter cable. I used one to connect my simrad and hds to my Merc VesselView.

Also, the older (LCX) Lowrance power plugs came with NMEA0183 outputs and work fine with the HDS units. The used to supply power directly to the NMEA2000 network. Now you have to power the network separately.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.