Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 7.30/3.10 update

Old 05-31-2016, 07:30 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 459
Received 124 Likes on 74 Posts
Default Garmin 7.30/3.10 update

I have a 7612xsv and a B175m chirp transducer connected. The transducer was installed about 4 weeks ago and had been working great. On Friday I updated from 7.10/3.10 to 7.30/3.10 and shortly after I noticed the water temperature was 171.4 degrees. Stayed around 171 degrees all weekend.

Did the temperature module in the transducer crap out or is this a result of an update problem? Anyone else notice this after the update?

Thanks,
Scott
Old 05-31-2016, 10:44 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 1,111
Received 69 Likes on 60 Posts
Default

I have a 7610xsv with GT50TM ducer and the temp is fine so far, actually it has been rock solid with 7.3..

7.1 and 7.2 were terrible..
Old 05-31-2016, 01:10 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tarpon Springs, FL
Posts: 8,809
Received 4,113 Likes on 2,342 Posts
Default

Just did 7.3 and my temp is good.
Old 05-31-2016, 02:35 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

mine too with gt51
Old 05-31-2016, 06:21 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 459
Received 124 Likes on 74 Posts
Default

That's not good (for me). I'm thinking the temp went on the unit. Does anyone know if there is a way to check the resistance across the temp wires to see if something fried? I may need to give Garmin a call.

Scott
Old 05-31-2016, 07:05 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Call Garmin.

On second thought - did you check to see what Source you have for temp in the settings?
Old 06-01-2016, 05:44 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 459
Received 124 Likes on 74 Posts
Default

No, I can check tonight. I did not see any options for setting the source for the temp. Saw all kinds of other setting for temp offset, deg C/F but not source. I will sift back through the menus and check.

Scott
Old 06-01-2016, 06:19 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 1,111
Received 69 Likes on 60 Posts
Default

You may want to consider backing up anything you want to keep and doing a factory reset. It helped when the updates started crashing, (i did not solve the reboot issue) but the temp issue and sonar issues went away after I did a factory reset. I did that when going to 7.1 and went directly to 7.3 and no issues so far.
Old 06-02-2016, 07:43 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 459
Received 124 Likes on 74 Posts
Default

Good news my B175 is just fine. If I unplug the B260 the temp from the B175 reads just fine. As soon as I plug in the B260 the temp jump 100+ degrees. My guess is a software bug in 7.3 because the system was working fine prior to the update.

Anyone know where to select the source for the temp? I went though every menu last night and can't seem to fine it. BTW the temp from the B260 is not connected because it died last year so the temp wires are not connected at the junction box.

Thanks,
Scott
Old 06-02-2016, 06:13 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 459
Received 124 Likes on 74 Posts
Default

Problem solved. The B260 goes to a junction box and a jump wire is required across pins 4/5. Needed to do this as the B260 temp died long ago. Not sure why it was never an issue until now.

Scott

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.