Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Lowrance HDS 9. Gen 3. Intermittent depth finder

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance HDS 9. Gen 3. Intermittent depth finder

Old 05-30-2016, 07:47 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,717
Received 1,194 Likes on 626 Posts
Default Lowrance HDS 9. Gen 3. Intermittent depth finder

Installed a new Lowrance HDS Gen 3 with structure scan. Also build a NEMA network and Mercury Verado interface. Pretty pleased in that everything seemed to work. VHF, Fusion, and Mercury Engine. Took it for the first ride and depth finder/fish scanner went off after I got up on plane. Could not get it to start without cycling the unit. Raised the transducer up so the centerline was in the water and now have nothing. Manual said to keep the two senders less than one foot apart. Structure scan works fine. Picture attached. Ideas?
Attached Images  
Old 05-31-2016, 03:42 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,717
Received 1,194 Likes on 626 Posts
Default

Spoke with Lowrance today. They did not have much to add other than move the transducer. Anyone here have suggestions before I drill more holes?
Old 06-01-2016, 12:32 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 651
Received 33 Likes on 24 Posts
Default

That edge close to your HST-WSBL is bound to cause problems.
Old 06-01-2016, 04:18 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,717
Received 1,194 Likes on 626 Posts
Default

I assume it needs to be moved to the right, closer to the trim tab. Wanted another opinion before I drilled move holes
Old 06-01-2016, 06:33 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 651
Received 33 Likes on 24 Posts
Default

Or mount it on the other side of your engine, if there is more room there. That way you can get it low without it making a shadow on your sidescan.
Old 06-01-2016, 08:00 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by duke460 View Post
Wanted another opinion before I drilled move holes
http://www.sternsaver.com
Old 06-01-2016, 04:40 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,717
Received 1,194 Likes on 626 Posts
Default

Moved it up this afternoon. Lowrance says the transducer need to be no move than 12" for the sidescan.
Will get it ou for a test this weekend.
Old 06-03-2016, 01:10 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 651
Received 33 Likes on 24 Posts
Default

The 12"-part has to do with downscan-overlay on 2D, in my eyes a rather useless fuction anyway.
Old 06-05-2016, 04:56 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,717
Received 1,194 Likes on 626 Posts
Default

Great to know that. Looked at several other boats and they had the transducers mounted on either side of the motor. Went red snapper fishing on a friends boat so have to wait until next week to see if it works

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.