Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Engine data on B&G Zeus

Old 05-29-2016, 06:49 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine data on B&G Zeus

Hope someone can pass on a few pointers with the B&G Zeus T12 (1st gen).

Today I installed the new toy, which I bought from Defender on the belief that it was the same unit as the Simrad NSS12, with slightly different software, but would do all the same things.

I also went about installing the Nmea2000 network, including Suzuki Engine Interface cable and DIY reverse k8 adaptor to suit a 2003 Johnson/Suzuki.

To my disappointment (but hopefully just misguided first attempt) it doesn't look as thought a true "engine 'gauge' page" can be displayed like the other navico family products. The classic 5 dial screen shown on the lowrance advertising (and unit demo modes) appears to be at least beyond my reach.

As I bought the unit to upgrade my existing system pretty much just for this functionality, I would be so happy if someone could confirm this screen can be configured.

Once I had the engine interface auto configured, the only data it would show me was revs or many different fuel stats-, no temps, trim, voltage etc.

Please help!!

(Apologies- I originally posted this in the general forum, but I since realised it should have been here so have moved it)
Old 05-31-2016, 03:06 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: FL - Ponce Inlet
Posts: 335
Received 42 Likes on 32 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Moonahan View Post
Hope someone can pass on a few pointers with the B&G Zeus T12 (1st gen).

Today I installed the new toy, which I bought from Defender on the belief that it was the same unit as the Simrad NSS12, with slightly different software, but would do all the same things.

I also went about installing the Nmea2000 network, including Suzuki Engine Interface cable and DIY reverse k8 adaptor to suit a 2003 Johnson/Suzuki.

To my disappointment (but hopefully just misguided first attempt) it doesn't look as thought a true "engine 'gauge' page" can be displayed like the other navico family products. The classic 5 dial screen shown on the lowrance advertising (and unit demo modes) appears to be at least beyond my reach.

As I bought the unit to upgrade my existing system pretty much just for this functionality, I would be so happy if someone could confirm this screen can be configured.

Once I had the engine interface auto configured, the only data it would show me was revs or many different fuel stats-, no temps, trim, voltage etc.

Please help!!

(Apologies- I originally posted this in the general forum, but I since realised it should have been here so have moved it)
According to the user manual, Section 11, you definitely should have the gauge page visible. I wasn't sure if they would be myself.
http://www.bandg.com/Documents/produ...language=en-US

What software version is on the interface cable? I am thinking that you will need to be at 2.3 I was working on my a buddy's 2004 DF250 this past weekend. He had an interface cable with version 3.5; it saw that the motor was there but no diagnostics or info.
Put one of my interface cables with 2.3 on it and info appeared; RPM, engine temp, fuel burn, voltage. Also, recognized the hours on the engine.

The software version should be on the cable itself. Probably a little white sticker on the back of the interface cable, trapazoid. This will be an important piece to the puzzle.

Not sure those older motors support anything other than 2.3 but as Moonlighter and others point out, it's a bit of testing with the different software versions on the interface cable.

I had to go down to 2.3 on my 2008 DF150's to see anything meaningful.

Need to see if the 3.5 cable he has is one that is able to be downgraded to previous versions (Evidently some being shipped now aren't able to be)

Not sure if you hooked it up, but for the trim to work, the interface cable will need to be hooked to that either under the cowling or under the console.

Also, be sure that you set up your rig correctly in the Vessel, Fuel and Network sections under the Settings menu.

If it's like my Simard units, you should be able to see the engine in the Settings --> Network --> Device List menu.

I saw you posted in it already, but if you haven't read Moonlighter's post about getting this to work...it is an exceptional resource. Including all of the software downloads and practical advice from Grant and others. It really a great effort of sharing and help that Grant started there.

http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...done-30.html#b

Please let us know what software version you are working with and we can go from there.


Paul
Old 05-31-2016, 07:20 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply Paul!

I had thought the interface cable software may be a culprit, so I tried to update te night before last. I had both the 2.3 and 2.5 on a MicroSD, found the files on thru the menu, clicked upgrade, and got transferred to a 'remote upgrade progress' screen, which was blank. Trying to exit the screen I got a warning along the lines of 'do you want to exit before upgrading', which I clicked no, but eventually after 10 mins and no action, I quit, checked the cable software in the devices menus, and it still showed 3.5. Looks like I may have a cable which doesn't want to be upgraded! :-(

Hoping if I can resolve that issue, set up the engines properly, then my vessel view screen will become available.

Any ideas on forcing the cable to upgrade? Bought it from a supplier in the US (I'm in Australia) so sending it back looks like a pretty poor option right now.

Cheers
Old 05-31-2016, 10:06 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,046
Received 606 Likes on 464 Posts
Default

The new cables, that you have one of, cant have their software changed. Lots of discussion about it if you look on the big Suzuki networks thread etc. That cable is suitable only for engines 2014 and newer, so if you sell it make that clear in your advert.

You best bet might be to sell the cable locally and then get into contact with Mike at International Marine (vendor here) and get one of the recently released special cables that are pre-programmed with V2.30 or are programmable.

Once installed, you will need to do the config on your Simrad, to set engine year and hp, boat setup (how many engines and fuel tanks) and tank capacity. You should then be good to go.

Other option might be to contact local Suzuki dealer to see of they have an older cable in stock that can be programmed to take various software versions.
Old 06-01-2016, 03:23 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your help both Moonlighter and Paul. Looks like new cables are the way to go...

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.