Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Can an Airmar B60 go bad?

Old 05-29-2016, 05:12 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 538
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Can an Airmar B60 go bad?

Here's the situation:

Going straight or making right turns (even hard-over), I can get a continuous bottom signal out to at least 100 ft depth. However, if I turn left at anything less than a wide gentle arc, I lose the bottom and the sonar goes to 2 ft and then the depth blinks out for maybe 10-30 seconds before coming back. The A-Scope display will show the bottom return going away as the display goes to 2 ft.

I have a Garmin 740s MFD and a B60 in a 20' cc. The B60 is mounted about a foot forward of transom on the starboard side. The arrow does point to the keel, and the bottom of the boat has been cleaned. I have also swapped the 740s with a friend's and it does the same thing, and at any depth. I had been thinking it might be the 740s, until I tried the other unit and got the same results.

What's in an xducer? From my research, I understand it's basically a speaker/microphone, but can't visualize how it would work or not work based on which way the boat is turning.

I'm ready to do whatever it takes to get this resolved, but am hoping to not just keep throwing new parts at the boat at random.

Help??
Old 05-29-2016, 05:33 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Amityville,NY
Posts: 282
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Is this a new install or an older one that worked perfect on all turns and recently gets flaky when making a turn to port?
Old 05-29-2016, 05:46 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 538
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Oh yeah, forgot to add that. thanks!

It's been in the boat for a couple years, and seemed to do it at random. Wasn't able to use the boat much for a year after install (due to back-surgery), just recently been using it a lot more and made the connection between left turns and the issue.
Old 05-29-2016, 07:45 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Sounds as if "possibly" on a port turn the keel area (or something else) is the source of disturbed water flow across the ducer.

Do you have photos of your bottom and the area of the keel and ducer install?




Last edited by semperfifishing; 05-29-2016 at 08:28 AM.
Old 05-29-2016, 08:20 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,757
Received 644 Likes on 430 Posts
Default

You are getting turbulence / bubbles/air over the face of the transducer during the turns.
Old 05-30-2016, 12:05 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,088
Likes: 0
Received 259 Likes on 121 Posts
Default

another possibility...

the transducer is installed backwards - some transducers have the element tilted to compensate for deadrise, basicaly so when its installed on an angled hull, the sonar pulses go (more or less) straight down..... but if its installed backwards, the pulses now go (more or less) sideways along the water - the angles involved will still let it work when the boat is flat and level (slight depth error, probably wouldn't notice in shallow water), turn one way, and it will work better (pulses more vertical) turn the other way it will fail totally (pulses more horizontal)
Old 05-30-2016, 04:16 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 538
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Gil - I'd post a photo of my bottom, but I'm pretty sure I'd get banned in this forum. Thanks for asking, tho.

Being serious for a moment, here's the only photo I have of the BOAT bottom and xducer when they pulled it to clean it. Can't tell much from it, sorry. I'll get in line (will take several days) to have the boat pulled again and get a better shot or two. Anyways, the stern is to the left in the photo, and all the tan squiggly bottom crud are now gone after they pressure-washed it (You can see the tracks of where they first started with the nozzle). The keel is at the very bottom of the photo. Xducer is about a foot in from stern and a foot to right of keel.

Honestly, I'm at a loss here. I can very easily believe that I am getting disturbance from the keel/chine/aliens/whatever, but where else would I mount the xducer? I looked at a lot of other boats in the yard, and they all have similar mounting points... ie, just forward from the transom and close to the keel. I'll also ask the mfgr (Robalo) when they open again as to where they suggest at the factory, and if they have any other ideas.

I initially had a transom mount xducer on the boat (the cheap one that came with MFD), but it was even squirrlier. It lost the depth almost as soon as I started moving. Never could dial it in right.

Oh yeah, couple more things. The xducer is the 20* version and is installed with the arrow pointing to the keel, and the deadrise is right at 18* where mounted. It works fine stopped, as well as going straight or turning starbd.... just weird going port.
And, when it'd lose bottom, it takes anywhere between 10-30 seconds for the 740s to recover. Yet if I manually disconnect either xducer (both cables are still installed and I can swap them behind the console) and connect the other one, it immediately starts reading correctly.

I'd start yanking hair, but I don't have any left.
Attached Images  

Last edited by dogdad1; 05-30-2016 at 04:43 AM.
Old 05-30-2016, 12:09 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 16,488
Received 1,005 Likes on 777 Posts
Default

Have you tried it since the yard shaved the bottom ? That thick beard could cause a lot of aeration past the T/D I'd imagine. Yikes.
Old 05-30-2016, 01:28 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 538
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Yup, same symptoms. But gained a few mph in the process.
Old 05-31-2016, 02:05 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: central florida
Posts: 988
Likes: 0
Received 223 Likes on 105 Posts
Default

I had a B60 go bad after 5 years ( the temp stopped working) but yours sounds like a turbulence issue. Does it drop out turning port at slow or idle speed?
Old 05-31-2016, 04:35 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 538
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Well sorta, Lee. Stopped, idle or slow in any direction and it's ok. Anything over maybe a "No-Wake" speed to port and it'll likely go nuts.

Last edited by dogdad1; 05-31-2016 at 05:18 AM.
Old 05-31-2016, 08:25 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: central florida
Posts: 988
Likes: 0
Received 223 Likes on 105 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dogdad1 View Post
Well sorta, Lee. Stopped, idle or slow in any direction and it's ok. Anything over maybe a "No-Wake" speed to port and it'll likely go nuts.
Is it possible you have a thru hull fitting or something in front of the transducer (up stream)? If it is making turbulence or bubbles that go across the transducer it will cause it to drop out.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.