Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

connecting a Garmin 741 to an ICOM 323

Old 05-29-2016, 04:58 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 83
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default connecting a Garmin 741 to an ICOM 323

How do I connect my Garmin 741 to my ICOM M323?

Thanks
Old 05-29-2016, 07:12 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Catawba Island, Ohio
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Fathergoose View Post
How do I connect my Garmin 741 to my ICOM M323?

Thanks
via NMEA 0183 connection - both your garmin manual and ICOM manual should show how to connect. There should be two 0183 wires to connect the two devices together. Also the ICOM probably has a 0183 ground wire that you connect to the 741 ground. . One thing I did learn was that in addition you have to go into 741 menu - settings - communication and change the default on port 1 from Garmin to standard NMEA.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.