Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Airmar B60 through hull transducer???

Old 05-28-2016, 04:57 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 449
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Airmar B60 through hull transducer???

I'm buying a boat with an Airmar B60 through hull transducer already installed. The boat also has a Lowerance GPS unit installed, but I am unsure of the model. I've posted a picture of the unit that I found on the sellers FB page. I'm picking the boat up on 6/3, but I haven't seen it yet.

From the picture, the gps unit looks like an older model. I have a Lowerance Hook 4 unit that has Navionics Plus installed that I'd like to use, but I'm unsure if the Airmar B60 transducer will work.

Anyone have any idea what Lowerance GPS unit is installed, and if the Airmar will be compatible with my Hook 4?
Attached Images  
Old 05-28-2016, 06:36 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 79
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hook 4 is a Chirp and downscan unit. You will want to use the transducer that ships with the unit.
The B60 will plug in but will not give good chirp sonar results and no downscan sonar.

The Lowrance unit in the picture appears to be an LMS unit. Good unit if it's still works after all these years.
Old 05-28-2016, 07:20 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sienna Plantation, TX.
Posts: 3,691
Received 1,868 Likes on 888 Posts
Default

Yea, you're not going to get CHIRP, but the B60 is a solid 50/200 unit.
Old 05-28-2016, 07:30 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 449
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I found this catalog that says the HDS units are compatible, I'm assuming they're different than the hook series?

http://www.lowrance.com/Global/Lowra...1130-001_w.pdf

And I'm really not concerned with fish finding capabilites, my priority when I bought the Hook 4 was the chart plotter and depth finder abilities. We have a lot of shallow areas in the Galveston bay, as well as submerged platforms etc.
Old 05-29-2016, 04:03 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sienna Plantation, TX.
Posts: 3,691
Received 1,868 Likes on 888 Posts
Default

Something to keep in mind. The B60 is a pretty standard unit and works for just about any sonar. However, Lowrance changed their connectors at some point in time.

IIWY - I would download the install guides for the two units and compare. If the connectors are different, you may be able to buy an adapter or splice in a pigtail.
Old 05-29-2016, 05:13 AM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 79
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Jayco View Post
I found this catalog that says the HDS units are compatible, I'm assuming they're different than the hook series?


And I'm really not concerned with fish finding capabilites, my priority when I bought the Hook 4 was the chart plotter and depth finder abilities. We have a lot of shallow areas in the Galveston bay, as well as submerged platforms etc.
HDS compatible with the B60? Yes with the HDS series and the Hook Series, will give You basic sonar. I have a B60 and it works well with the HDS.

This transducer will give you full function of the Hook Sonar, and also works with the HDS series. I use one of these also with the HDS...

http://store.navico.com/Products/000-10976-001

But sense that's not what you want just use the B60, plugs right in...

Good luck !!!
Old 05-29-2016, 03:54 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 449
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Chimesoffreedom View Post
HDS compatible with the B60? Yes with the HDS series and the Hook Series, will give You basic sonar. I have a B60 and it works well with the HDS.

This transducer will give you full function of the Hook Sonar, and also works with the HDS series. I use one of these also with the HDS...

http://store.navico.com/Products/000-10976-001

But sense that's not what you want just use the B60, plugs right in...

Good luck !!!


Awesome!

Yeah I'm not so much worried about the sonar and fish finding aspects. I just need depth and chart plotter abilities. In Galveston bay, you can go from 9 feet of water to 2 feet of water in a matter of seconds. I've heard entirely too many stories of people running aground so I stick to the deep paths that I know.

My Hook 4 came with one of those transducers, I still have it, I just didn't want to put more holes in the boat.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.