Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine A98 voltage shut off.

Old 05-27-2016, 04:04 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Raymarine A98 voltage shut off.

This does not seem to be a setupable alarm orwarning.

Voltage is fine at batterey and plug (startiing motor works fine.

Two big white boxes come up with low voltage warning. Cant get rid of them. Any thoughts?

ty
Old 05-27-2016, 04:53 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Check your RMs power supply wiring and fuse holder for corrosion.
Measuring the voltage at the plug when disconnected is only valid to prove voltage is present with zero current, so its a waste of time.
The best way is to use a 5 watt test light like a navigation globe, this indicates both voltage and current are present if it glows brightly.
Don't use anything larger as it may pop the fuse.
Old 05-28-2016, 07:25 AM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

12 gauge wire to a fuse and then to starting battery. Should certainly be enough current (amps).

I have had many units of different brands and have yet to see any of them actually read even 12.0 volts. Usualyy 10-11v. This is all with good heavy gauge dedicated wire. I used to do high end stereo installs.

So I cant turn this warning off?

ty
Old 05-28-2016, 10:02 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Coastal BC
Posts: 1,668
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by MonteSS View Post
12 gauge wire to a fuse and then to starting battery. Should certainly be enough current (amps).

I have had many units of different brands and have yet to see any of them actually read even 12.0 volts. Usualyy 10-11v. This is all with good heavy gauge dedicated wire. I used to do high end stereo installs.

So I cant turn this warning off?
Are you saying that your MFDs normally show a system voltage of less than 12.0V? If that is correct, then forget about the alarm: you have a serious problem with your wiring on the positive or ground side.

On my boat, I run my MFDs off a common fuse block very close to the helm. That makes it very easy to use a DVM to confirm that my supply voltage is high and stable. Any voltage issues would then be limited to the short wire run between the fuse block and one of the MFDs.
Old 05-28-2016, 06:03 PM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thats right, My currant boat. Other boats, Numerous friends boats.

12 ga positive from MFD plug straight to start battery.
12 ga neg from MFD to a switch/fuse panel straight to neg start bat.

Never see 12v on MFD screen. 12.6+ at bat and plug on multimeter.

Never been a prob but this A98. When I get warning I must shut it down and cant use it any more. IIRC it says 11.7v
Old 05-28-2016, 06:27 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

My Garmin.
Name:  09JUN15_1024_00_zpsnwlmlvts.png
Views: 260
Size:  229.9 KB

Old HB
Name:  S00025_zpsgqo6im0o.png
Views: 247
Size:  252.6 KB

My HDS8
Name:  shot%2053_zpsluheu6nb.png
Views: 270
Size:  645.1 KB
Old 05-28-2016, 06:48 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Your photo's are telling me each item is having a loading effect on the power circuit to differing degrees.

You definitely have a voltage drop issue whether bad wiring or excessive current. The fact the A98 is warning you also, confirms it. As I said measuring the plug with a high impedance voltmeter when not connected to the load does not confirm the voltage will be same when the load is reapplied.

Can you measure the voltage at the fuse? If so do that and have someone turn on the unit. There should be no voltage change of any appreciable value. If there is, and it correlates to the voltage on the display, rewire the whole circuit.
Old 05-28-2016, 08:10 PM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Will do. ty
Old 05-29-2016, 01:25 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Coastal BC
Posts: 1,668
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

I did a quick check while my boat was charging on the trailer. Voltage at the house bank posts was 13.4V. Voltage at my fuse block was 13.2V with a 4A draw (I suspect I need to clean some of the connections between the house bank and the fuse block).

I displayed supply voltage on two MFDs that are fed from the fuse block -- a Simrad NSS7 and a Garmin 7212. With fuse block voltage at 13.2V, the Simrad showed 13.2V and the Garmin showed 13.0V.

So the worse of the two MFDs was showing 0.4V less than voltage measured at the battery posts, and I have several (too many) connections between the house and the MFDs -- battery switch, main house fuse, electronics breaker, and the fuse block itself.

In addition to doing what isitstuffed suggested, I'd connect the ground of that high-impedance voltmeter to the battery negative post, then start checking voltages at every connector from the battery positive post to the A98 then back to the battery negative (since a bad ground connection will also decrease the device supply voltage even if the positive feed is fine).
Old 05-29-2016, 09:20 AM
  #10  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Should/would the bare aluminum of an aluminum bout be a ground, or just the battery neg post?
Old 05-29-2016, 10:19 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Coastal BC
Posts: 1,668
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by MonteSS View Post
Should/would the bare aluminum of an aluminum bout be a ground, or just the battery neg post?
As far as I know, an aluminum hull should be connected to the boat's common ground point in one location, but (unlike a car) a boat's hull should never be used as an electrical return path to the battery from any powered device.

All onboard devices should return current to the battery along a dedicated ground wire, never through the hull.
Old 05-30-2016, 10:10 AM
  #12  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ty. Thats what I figurerd

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.