Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Marine stereo wiring

Old 05-27-2016, 05:28 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 51
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Marine stereo wiring

I'm fixing to install a reliever and four speakers on my boat. One of the harness has the red, yellow, black, and blue. I know the red is for the battery and yellow is for memory for a constant power source. My question is can I hook red/yellow together then run to the battery? That would be a constant 12v source right?
Old 05-27-2016, 05:31 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 7,039
Received 3,292 Likes on 1,896 Posts
Default

yes that will be just fine. yellow has to be connected for most units to work. the blue wire is for amplifiers
Old 05-27-2016, 05:33 AM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 51
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Rolandt03 View Post
yes that will be just fine. yellow has to be connected for most units to work. the blue wire is for amplifiers
Yeah I don't plan on using the remote wire for an amp. So I shouldnt loose my presets then right?
Old 05-27-2016, 06:19 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sarasota/ Bradenton fl
Posts: 3,315
Likes: 0
Received 77 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Treycann10 View Post
Yeah I don't plan on using the remote wire for an amp. So I shouldnt loose my presets then right?
You will lose presets unless the HU has a built in memory save function. What kind of HU is it?
Old 05-27-2016, 06:25 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 7,039
Received 3,292 Likes on 1,896 Posts
Default

all depends on the head unit. if it does not have a memory save function and the yellow wire is connected through a battery switch you will loose memory every time you turn batteries off
Old 05-27-2016, 07:13 AM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 51
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It's a boss HU. I bought the package from bass pro with the 4 speakers included. It says it does have a memory thing. I'm just a little confused why it says the red is to the battery and yellow to constant 12v. Isn't the battery a constant 12? So both can be hooked to the pos terminal and still maintain the memory?
Old 05-27-2016, 07:29 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: mass.
Posts: 5,593
Likes: 0
Received 50 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Most people have all their electronics wired to a fused switch. If you put the yellow and red together and go direct to constant Non switched 12V power you will have constant power to your radio.
My advice is to always wire main power supply to a fused switch and find another source of constant power for the memory (Yellow) or connect the memory to the same power source but before the switch..
Old 05-27-2016, 08:55 AM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 51
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by On The Edge 1 View Post
Most people have all their electronics wired to a fused switch. If you put the yellow and red together and go direct to constant Non switched 12V power you will have constant power to your radio.
My advice is to always wire main power supply to a fused switch and find another source of constant power for the memory (Yellow) or connect the memory to the same power source but before the switch..
I will run a inline fuse with it. But is a switch necessary? I will use the power on/off switch on the radio itself to power it down which is why I'm wondering if a external switch is necessary
Old 05-27-2016, 09:07 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sarasota/ Bradenton fl
Posts: 3,315
Likes: 0
Received 77 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Treycann10 View Post
I will run a inline fuse with it. But is a switch necessary? I will use the power on/off switch on the radio itself to power it down which is why I'm wondering if a external switch is necessary
The second you kill power to the unit with yellow and red wired together memory goes away. The red is not considered constant. It's on a switch. So it can be removed from batt. The yellow is meant to be connected directly to batt so that it's never interrupted. Problem is if left hooked up without a charger you can kill the battery and trust me it happens.
Old 05-27-2016, 05:52 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Some think that the red wire is the power wire that runs the radio and the yellow wire just a constant voltage to hold memory. This is wrong in the majority of cases.

If you consider the red is usually connected to the ignition switch, you would come to the conclusion that the current draw required by the radio's internal amplifier runs the risk of blowing the ignition fuse and killing the engine!!!
Radio manufacturers run the risk of litigation should the radio as a consequence of playing Rap Music cuts the motor just as you engage reverse and results in a collision.

The red wire is actually a 'control signal', switching the yellow high current supply direct from battery.
This is also why the radio won't power up without the yellow connected.
Old 04-09-2021, 06:01 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: OBX
Posts: 162
Received 47 Likes on 34 Posts
Default

I am pulling this from the grave! I am re wiring my stereo after doing some glass work on my console. If I connect the red and yellow together then black to black I will be fine right? I will just loose the pre sets once i turn the unit off? The unit (dual marine stereo) will still be able to “power off” if I simply press power when I am done using the stereo?
Old 04-10-2021, 04:42 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 146
Received 42 Likes on 34 Posts
Default

Depends on where the yellow and red go. Ideally yellow should be non switched to the battery or positive busbar. Fused of course. Red should be switched and fused.
You can tie them together and run them to a switched connection which depending on the radio might make you lose memory when you switch it off. Or you can tie them to a constant positive and use the radio’s power button to turn it off. However, in my experience doing that leads to a constant small power draw as the head unit stays in more of a standby state instead of being off.
Old 04-10-2021, 07:15 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: OBX
Posts: 162
Received 47 Likes on 34 Posts
Default

So scratching my head now. I wired back up the stereo in the universal mount. It turns on, says hello then says good buy and shuts down?????

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.