Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Simrad Totalscan

Old 05-01-2016, 11:23 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 91
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Simrad Totalscan

Simrad Totalscan transducer for Go7 XSE. When attaching the transducer to the transom mount bracket that comes with it should the wire that comes out of it be exiting the assembly away from the boat like the manual states or is the manual wrong and should it be towards the boat?

Every transducer I've looked at online that is not the totalscan the wire is always closer to the boat and not coming out away from the back of the boat. Additionally my sidscan images seem flip flopped. Yesterday I was running alongside a dam with rip rap on my left and deep water on my right... screen showed deep water on left and rip rap on right. Doesn't that meen the transducer should be mounted opposite the way the manual shows?
Old 05-01-2016, 12:50 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,045
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Wire is ok.
You can flip the image.
There is a flip button in the structurescan menu
Old 05-01-2016, 05:55 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 91
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

DOH !!! What would I do without THT?
Old 05-01-2016, 06:01 PM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 91
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I know what I would do.... spend allot of money for marine mechanics. Yesterday I ran into a guy at the boat ramp and his boat was sinking. he was bailing water while his wife ran to get his truck and trailer so I joined in to help bail.

While helping he told me how he had just bought the boat a couple months ago and had paid a marine mechanic at so and so marina to install a new fish finder system and install a new bilge pump and fix a leak. First day out was today and it was still leaking, his fish finder kept shutting off and his bilge pump would not turn on.

I told him to check out this forum because I came here when I get my boat (first time boat owner also) and managed to do all of that same stuff myself just searching out posts on here and asking for help when needed and all my stuff works. Hopefully he listens.
Old 05-01-2016, 06:02 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,104
Received 335 Likes on 257 Posts
Default

I mounted mine the traditional way - wire exiting from the transom end.

It works fine, and I didn't have to flip the image either.

I just figured that mounted this way, less chance of the wire fouling with weed than if it exits at the trailing end like in the manual photos.
Old 05-01-2016, 06:05 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 91
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I laid it back over on the mount and zip tied it down through the mounts little rectangular holes (I bet that's why they are there). Zip ties will obviously break over time but I keep a spare bag in the tool box on board so I'm not too worried about it. If anything gets caught up in it now it will prolly get ripped off.
Old 05-04-2016, 01:20 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 2,197
Received 813 Likes on 424 Posts
Default

I'm looking at a Go7 XSE with the Totalscan transducer. Everywhere that show it for sale shows the transducer as this snazzy looking one with a plastic mount, but all of the pictures I see of people installing them are on a basic metal mount. Is that the way they are all shipping them? What's with the one shown on all of the websites?
Old 05-04-2016, 02:29 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: covington la
Posts: 463
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yeppers i dont know the back story behind the snazzy ducers but the one you actually get is a giant transducer similar to the lss2. With the standard bracket. No colors other than black lol
Old 05-04-2016, 03:46 PM
  #9  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,904
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by okie405 View Post
I laid it back over on the mount and zip tied it down through the mounts little rectangular holes (I bet that's why they are there). Zip ties will obviously break over time but I keep a spare bag in the tool box on board so I'm not too worried about it. If anything gets caught up in it now it will prolly get ripped off.
That's the way Navico recommends mounting it, if you mount it with the cable coming out of the front you will compress the cable between the bracket therefore it might work but I can only imagine that it will be stressing the internal parts of the cable. I know Moonlighter and some of you have experience in mounting these things so I'm sure you guys took the necessary precautions but I also know there's a bunch reading these forums that don't and can only imagine how it's going to turn out with them smashing the cable during the install. You are able to snake the cable between the transom bracket and the transducer (on the regular LSS 2) but with the new spray shield makes it a very very tight squeeze.
Attached Images   
Old 05-05-2016, 10:33 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 510
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by mahimahi99 View Post
That's the way Navico recommends mounting it, if you mount it with the cable coming out of the front you will compress the cable between the bracket therefore it might work but I can only imagine that it will be stressing the internal parts of the cable. I know Moonlighter and some of you have experience in mounting these things so I'm sure you guys took the necessary precautions but I also know there's a bunch reading these forums that don't and can only imagine how it's going to turn out with them smashing the cable during the install. You are able to snake the cable between the transom bracket and the transducer (on the regular LSS 2) but with the new spray shield makes it a very very tight squeeze.
By doing so, the side scan left and right will switch places
Old 05-05-2016, 04:17 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: covington la
Posts: 463
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by khalito View Post
By doing so, the side scan left and right will switch places
Exactly what i was afraid of initially but simrad has a tick box to flip image left\right
In software settings to fix that...
Old 05-05-2016, 07:32 PM
  #12  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,904
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gregdecedue View Post
Exactly what i was afraid of initially but simrad has a tick box to flip image left\right
In software settings to fix that...
Correct, same thing with either the LSS 2 and the 3D transducer, allows for very versatile installation.
Old 06-04-2016, 06:37 AM
  #13  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by acme54321 View Post
I'm looking at a Go7 XSE with the Totalscan transducer. Everywhere that show it for sale shows the transducer as this snazzy looking one with a plastic mount, but all of the pictures I see of people installing them are on a basic metal mount. Is that the way they are all shipping them? What's with the one shown on all of the websites?
This is what I would like to know also. Is this a newer version bracket for the TS? Does it come with the fish finder?

Name:  LOWRANCETOTALSCANe28093THEALLINONEFISHANDSTRUCTUREFINDINGTRANSDUCER-52849.png
Views: 4672
Size:  112.9 KB
Old 06-04-2016, 06:51 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: covington la
Posts: 463
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

NO that colored ducer is either a simrad marketing snafu or something happened between design and production . what you get is a big black transducer that looks nothing like that

the pic (not mine) is the actual transducer .

the blue transducer never got out to be shipped as far as i know its a photshop or a render of what they wanted to sell
but the one they put in the kits works well
Old 06-04-2016, 06:56 AM
  #15  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Well if it is a mistake then why is it on all the major retailers sites for the photo when looking at a purchase of the TS transducer solo, Lowrance included? I need one for my kayak but I would like further information concerning it's specs. Can't find anything online, other than the photo, to date????

Last edited by CR Yaker; 06-04-2016 at 07:06 AM.
Old 06-04-2016, 08:11 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,619
Likes: 0
Received 667 Likes on 531 Posts
Default

Mount it the way which is most convenient for you, left and right can be swapped in a software setting.
Old 06-04-2016, 09:05 AM
  #17  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you abbor. Would you happen to know if the plastic mounting bracket, I posted, is available as pictured above for the totalscan transducer? If so, where can I find more information concerning it?
Old 06-04-2016, 10:00 AM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,619
Likes: 0
Received 667 Likes on 531 Posts
Default

Only the metal version is available, a plastic bracket would be too weak for this huge transducer.
Old 06-04-2016, 11:36 AM
  #19  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

For 4lbs and my application??? My whole boat is plastic. I'll call Lowrance on Monday. That design in their photos looks very sturdy, maybe even better than the current metal one.
Old 06-04-2016, 01:23 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,706
Received 604 Likes on 455 Posts
Default

gregdecedue -

I'm very interested at what speeds your TotalScan is usably functional . I have one the authorized installer mounted ( at the phone direction of the Simrad techs) on the transom so the bottom is a little , probably somewhere between 1/8 and 3/8" above the hull bottom plane at the lowest, flattest part of the transom on a twin inboard with prop pockets which protect the T/D's from prop wash to some decent degree.

I get good results up to only about 16 kts (below plane) , then all sonar function, even the conventional sonar function, is useless .

This position seems too high to me , almost guaranteeing lack of clean water at planing speeds.
I previously had a Navico high-speed Skimmer T/M T/D there mounted lower and it could maintain perfect returns from 0 kts to WOT, , but I realized this is a different design.

Counter to the installer's insistence , my gut says this type of T/D should have it's bottom at least an 1/8" below bottom plane ( NOT a stepped hull or bracketed).

From previous reports, I didn't expect usable structure scan use at cruise which is fine , but was hoping for decent conventional sonar mode at say 20-25kts, so I'd appreciate feedback on your results with your T/D mounted so much lower than Simrad advised my installers. .

The boat goes back to the large-yard installer to have a non-working 2nd TotalScan/ Sonar Hub combination replaced under warranty with Structure Scan 3D and 3D Hub so I'd like to get any ideas on better height placement for both T/M T/Ds before then if I can.



Thanks to any who can chime in with experienced advice.!

Last edited by TTaxi; 06-04-2016 at 10:21 PM.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.