The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-11-2016, 10:01 AM   #1
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 47
Default UpGrading Raymarine and keeping old radar/auto pilot?

HI I have Raymarine E120 ( Approx 2006) With Radar and Autopilot. ( I think it is the ST 5000 but the boat is still covered and i don't have access)

I am thinking about replacing the E120, and hoping to keep the peripheral equipment.

I realize this question is harder to answer without knowing exactly what I have.

But does anyone have any thoughts? Thanks

CB
scout11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 11:10 AM   #2
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Marathon, FL
Posts: 1,193
Default

Just went through this, new stuff will not be compatible with the legacy equipment.
flbluerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 11:11 AM   #3
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 47
Default

Thanks Blue, that was my concern. What did you end up doing?
scout11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 12:10 PM   #4
Admirals Club
THT sponsor
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5,474
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The pilot will act as a stand alone unit . Unfortunately the radar as stated above will not work on a current unit.
InternationalMarineBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 03:40 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Houma, LA
Posts: 134
Default

Had a similar situation to you... Ended up purchasing a new E127 for the advanced charting capabilities. Cmap4D is pretty sweet. Kept the existing lC120widescreen and run the hd open array radar and DSM 300 through the older unit. Each unit is treated as stand alone.

I figure sonar is sonar no matter the display screen and the same for radar. Will run this setup until the 120w dies and then upgrade that one.
Cajun Squealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 10:51 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 106
Default

Sorry Raymarine, I have givin up just to many incompatable upgrades. Parts unavailable and that Seatalk system is out of touch with a lot of inserments that Raymarine makes. I still have a DSM 300 with less than 1 hr on it usless unless I pay $ for an upgrade NOT! it sits in the box just like New. Sun covers obsaleate Power Cables obsulete this wont work with that on and on they work well when they do but every year last years line is ........ Good Luck Flare I hear good thingsyou bring to the Co. but Im in to deep Time for a change.
The Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 AM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.