Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin 4212 depth flashing but not showing correct depth

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 4212 depth flashing but not showing correct depth

Old 04-10-2016, 10:00 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin 4212 depth flashing but not showing correct depth

I have a 2010 Garmin 4212 hooked up to a Garmin GSD 22 connected to an Airmar P79 shoot through (in hull not through hull) transducer. For the past two seasons it has worked okay in showing depth (ok but not great) but this season when the boat gets past 10 mph the depth just flashes the last correct depth before I got up to speed and almost never works correctly at speed.

With shoot through (in hull rather than through hull) transducers, the actual transducer sits in a housing bonded to the inside of the hull that is filled with Propylene Glycol.

Garmin tech support believes I may have had a leak and lost my Propylene Glycol.

The issue is in order to check out the transducer, I have to pull up a section of the deck that is caulked and screwed in place. It's probably two hours of work to pull up the deck section and another hour to get it back in place.

I'm hoping there may be another solution. I already checked all the connections and the LED indicator light on the GSD 22 shows it functioning okay and connected to the transducer.

I've also tried adjusting signal, frequency and gain.

Thanks for any advice you can offer.

Tom
Old 04-10-2016, 10:20 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ft.Myers & Key West
Posts: 431
Received 183 Likes on 60 Posts
Default

Don't know if this pertains to you but had the same type of transducer installed in my hull and it never worked right either . Turns out that the electronics dealer that installed it didn't know that they don't work properly shooting through cored hulls ! Had to install a through hull . Still have the old box glassed into my hull ! Also if you have a step hull it should be installed foward of the steps in order to read at any kind of speed . Just my .02 from my pita experience. good luck . BTW same 4212 and gsd .
Old 04-10-2016, 02:55 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 351
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

I have the same Garmin 4212 and had the same transducer. Even when new it never worked right. I had to refill the tank on a few occasions and still problems at speed. Finally gave in and went with a thru hull. Works so much better. Sorry I waited so long to make the change.

Good luck.
Old 04-10-2016, 07:27 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 111
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Are you running on Auto depth? I had same issue with mine. I have found that running on a depth setting that is more fitting, like say no more than 800 feet, I never lose the depth reading while running. I have nearly the same setup.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.