Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Getting noise from HDS Gen2 thru radio Still need help

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Getting noise from HDS Gen2 thru radio Still need help

Old 03-07-2016, 06:41 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 705
Likes: 0
Received 53 Likes on 27 Posts
Default Getting noise from HDS Gen2 thru radio Still need help

So I'm still getting white noise from my gen 2's. Have a Fusion ip700 in the ebox. Twin HDS's mounted in dash. Radio fine with sonars off. Power up sonars and instant white noise. Power up the twin, more noise. I've checked grounds on radio and sonar units. Scratching my head. Don't know what to do next besides re crimping/soldering all the connection. Gonna be a real pita. Soon as I power off the sonars, noise gone. Any suggestions ? Thanks

Last edited by Erobinson1; 03-10-2016 at 11:24 AM.
Old 03-07-2016, 07:56 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,072
Received 321 Likes on 248 Posts
Default

Had the same issue a few years ago

In my case it was a ethernet network cable (one of the yellow ones) that had been bent too sharply and damaged the internal shield. Replaced the cable, problem solved.
Old 03-07-2016, 08:13 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 705
Likes: 0
Received 53 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Moonlighter475 View Post
Had the same issue a few years ago

In my case it was a ethernet network cable (one of the yellow ones) that had been bent too sharply and damaged the internal shield. Replaced the cable, problem solved.
Damn. How'd you figure that out? And how'd you narrow it down?
Old 03-07-2016, 11:45 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,072
Received 321 Likes on 248 Posts
Default

Its not an uncommon problem with ethernet cables. In this case it was one that was regularly plugged in then unplugged as the HDS was removed from the boat after every trip. Wear and tear, it got damaged near the plug. You couldnt see any damage, it was internal, the shielding was bad.

Unplug the cable - noise gone. Plug back in, HDS on, noise back - so bad that other boats nearby jist got interference noise from my VHF as well.

Just trial and error to figure which one, i only had 2 ethernet cables on my boat.
Old 03-08-2016, 07:17 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 705
Likes: 0
Received 53 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Moonlighter475 View Post
Its not an uncommon problem with ethernet cables. In this case it was one that was regularly plugged in then unplugged as the HDS was removed from the boat after every trip. Wear and tear, it got damaged near the plug. You couldnt see any damage, it was internal, the shielding was bad.

Unplug the cable - noise gone. Plug back in, HDS on, noise back - so bad that other boats nearby jist got interference noise from my VHF as well.

Just trial and error to figure which one, i only had 2 ethernet cables on my boat.
Thanks. Gonna check that today.
Old 03-10-2016, 04:35 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 705
Likes: 0
Received 53 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

So I've checked all grounds and unhooked the lowrance Ethernet and still have the problem. Need some troubleshooting pointers. FWIW- the stereo and vhf are in the ebox, powered from a shared source, grounded to a buss bar. The sonar units are dash mounted, powered and grounded from pos/neg buss bars behind dash. Have checked all connections, cleaned and re tightened. Lowrance was no help. Any more suggestions? I took a video of the noise but not sure how to upload it. Thanks
Old 03-10-2016, 06:02 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Maybe it's just your chirp kicking in....
Old 03-10-2016, 06:44 AM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Try unplugging your VHF antenna at the radio, does it stop? If so you may need to route the coax away from the sounders and/or replace the coax with a higher spec with better shielding.
Old 03-10-2016, 09:43 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 705
Likes: 0
Received 53 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Try unplugging your VHF antenna at the radio, does it stop? If so you may need to route the coax away from the sounders and/or replace the coax with a higher spec with better shielding.[/quote]

Coax is all in e box, away from the sounders. Seems the sounders are the source of the RF noise. Heres the video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jo9DV-GOHqc
Old 03-10-2016, 12:30 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 705
Likes: 0
Received 53 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

So I called Lowrance again. Im gonna try pulling HDS grounds off of the buss bar and grounding to Battery to see if that makes any difference.
Old 03-10-2016, 04:58 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 705
Likes: 0
Received 53 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

So I grounded the sonars to the battery. No change. Wondering if it a amp ground. Gonna go through every ground on boat I guess until o find it. Any suggestions, please feel free to post. Pulling out my hair.
Old 03-12-2016, 04:40 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 705
Likes: 0
Received 53 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Figured out brightness on sonar affects the noise. Less brightness, noise less intense. Anybody got an idea. I have rerun grounds. Redone buss bar. Don't know what else to try
Old 03-13-2016, 04:13 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 705
Likes: 0
Received 53 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

I installed new bus bar, ground and pos to bus bar and still have noise. I'm giving up. Don't know what else to try. Guess I'll have to live w it.
Old 03-13-2016, 06:23 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Sitka, AK
Posts: 643
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I would be very suspicious of the antenna cable. How hard is it to pull the radio and move things around? Coax shields are easy to break - aggressive bending and corrosion are my favorites. What happens if you unhook the coax at the antenna (assuming you can do that)?

Did this happen all of a sudden? Did you add / subtract anything before the noise? Slam the antenna into a bridge?
Old 03-13-2016, 06:45 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 748
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

You said you have an amplifier for your speakers?
Old 03-13-2016, 07:44 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 705
Likes: 0
Received 53 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Tried unhooking antenna. No change. Tried taking fusion radio off nmea network. No change. Checked and rechecked grounds. Cleaned and verified connections at batteries. Ran new power and ground from batts to new bus bar. Ran new ground from batts to ebox for stereo and vhf. Have 2 amps onboard. Both are grounded direct to batts. Verified they were good. Just don't know what else to do. Did y'all see the video I posted and how it does?
Old 03-13-2016, 08:11 PM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 748
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Erobinson1 View Post
Tried unhooking antenna. No change. Tried taking fusion radio off nmea network. No change. Checked and rechecked grounds. Cleaned and verified connections at batteries. Ran new power and ground from batts to new bus bar. Ran new ground from batts to ebox for stereo and vhf. Have 2 amps onboard. Both are grounded direct to batts. Verified they were good. Just don't know what else to do. Did y'all see the video I posted and how it does?
Amps powered from battery or switch?
Old 03-13-2016, 11:09 PM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

I have listened to the noise in the video and in my opinion it is similar to 3 kHz sine wave tone. White noise is 'hissing' sometimes fading in and out. With sounder issues you also get clicking and such.
It may be that the radio is picking up a harmonic of the sonar transmitter frequency and processing it as an audio signal via its internal IF mixer. I don't expect you to understand that, but others probably will and may examine the possibility further. Would it be possible to borrow another Fusion to determine if its internally generated?
.
Old 03-14-2016, 05:10 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 705
Likes: 0
Received 53 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Amp are powered from the switch. Guess I could run them direct to battery to see if that changes anything.
Dont have another Fusion I could try. Odd thing is I found the brightness of the hds screens changes the intensity of the sound. Also, the sound just "appeared" almost a year and half after all these electronics were installed. Nothing at all had changed as far as the install or wiring in that time frame. One day fine, next day noise and has mad me a madman ever since.
Old 03-14-2016, 05:23 AM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 705
Likes: 0
Received 53 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Also wondering if a ferrite choke would do anything.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.