Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin Quickdraw update

Old 02-17-2016, 07:05 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 163
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Garmin Quickdraw update

Any news on the release? Site stills says Jan 2016. Maybe someone heard something at the show??
Old 02-17-2016, 07:08 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,489
Likes: 0
Received 1,625 Likes on 866 Posts
Default

http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...ease-date.html





.
Old 02-18-2016, 12:07 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

How or if does Quickdraw compensate for tides and lake levels?

If there's no compensation, and you have a 12-foot tide-swing, what good are 1-foot collected contour lines? If collected at high tide, and not corrected, I could see them being worse than a false sense of security, but an actual danger.
Old 02-18-2016, 01:23 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 714
Received 105 Likes on 78 Posts
Default

It's still going to show elevation contours on the bottom.
Old 02-18-2016, 03:22 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by goheelzfan View Post
It's still going to show elevation contours on the bottom.

Unless corrected to the same depth datum of the base chart (to MSL, or, to mean low tide) they would appear to be less than useless, and actually dangerous.

My impression is that crowd-sourced depth data submitted to Navionics, for example, corrects all data based on time-stamp and comparison to tide tables for the particular area...I doubt Quickdraw could do that within the MFD.

And how does Quickdraw handle visiting the same area multiple times, but at both high and low tide? Does it average, or, overwrite?

Can someone who actually knows what they're talking about clarify this?
Old 02-18-2016, 03:36 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 165
Received 18 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

I called Garmin yesterday. He stated that we would find out quickdraw software updates via a "big announcement". He said not soon, maybe next month.
Old 02-18-2016, 04:52 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,512
Received 428 Likes on 217 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Karl in NY View Post

My impression is that crowd-sourced depth data submitted to Navionics, corrects all data based on time-stamp and comparison to tide tables for the particular area...I doubt Quickdraw could do that within the MFD.

Let me get you straight...

if "crowd-sourced" depth data from Lowrance customers, based on time stamp and tide tables works...then why the heck wouldn't Garmins version be able to do the same?
Old 02-19-2016, 03:12 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 308
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Karl in NY View Post
I doubt Quickdraw could do that within the MFD.
The MFDs already have tide data available so it doesn't make sense that it wouldn't be used to offset the depth readings for mapping. I can't see why you'd think this couldn't be done within the MFD - it wouldn't take very much processing power to apply a depth offset.

Whether it's implemented in the initial release or not is another thing but on face value I think they'd have to have thought of this. Having said that, they've done a lot of strange things software-wise like the waypoint name length limitation, the number key strokes to navigate to waypoints, and single channel only software logging.

Time will tell I guess.
Old 02-19-2016, 09:46 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

What about large non-tidal inland waters, like Great Lakes?
Old 02-19-2016, 10:15 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Lets hope you can enter a depth offset that will adjust the display for non-tidal waters that change depths.
Old 02-19-2016, 10:59 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 994
Likes: 0
Received 51 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

Relative to tidal fluctuations, this is not taken into account while recording Quickdraw. However, a depth offset feature is included that allows the user to specify the duration.
Old 02-19-2016, 11:16 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

So in tidal waters with high swings, you will have to change the offset manually, like hourly? Otherwise the recorded contours could be very inaccurate.

Are the user-added contours added to the chart in a different color, to distinguish them from those of the factory charting?
Old 02-19-2016, 11:59 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Posts: 1,951
Received 355 Likes on 196 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Todd Driscoll View Post
Relative to tidal fluctuations, this is not taken into account while recording Quickdraw. However, a depth offset feature is included that allows the user to specify the duration.
It should take that into account. It's really going to mess up people's maps when they go over the same or nearby spots when the depth is 4' different than last time.
Old 02-19-2016, 12:10 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Most of the areas I want to use Quickdraw on are lakes, reservoirs, etc that can have very large depth changes over a season or even from from one day to the next due to rain, irrigation outflow, etc. Plus I would like to use it in some tidal areas and estuaries that dont have good coverage now.

No way can I scan an entire large body of water in one day or even several trips.

This is a first release, so hopefully, they will do some tweeking down the road.
Old 02-19-2016, 12:59 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

It sounds like a work-in-progress, and maybe our comments here on THT will be taken constructively.

In some areas, the user-created contours could be 12-feet off due to large tidal swings, and as Yrra points out, many large inland lakes fluctuate wildly...those used for flood control, are intentionally dropped
to allow the lake to contain snow-melt, for example, and I have seen huge reservoirs that are normally 75-feet deep be just baked clay during drought years, with only a river running down the middle.

That is a major advantage of crowd-sourced batho data submitted to a chart-maker...the data gets processed, with correction for date and time applied, and data that is obviously erroneous gets discarded if it conflicts with the majority of data submitted for same date/time/place. Much like crowd-sourced weather data submitted automatically by private weather stations.

I boat Lake Champlain (5th largest lake in US, 130 miles long) and we can have annual depth swings of 10-feet, depending on rain, snow-melt, and drought. I have seen many docks become unusable in dry years, and other years, end-up in peoples' driveways with flood waters, or, remain in place and be 4-feet underwater.

In its present form, I see Quickdraw as a liability. I can judge lake depth without checking the local gauge station, just by where the water is on my seawall. And if user-created data is not distinguished on the chart (e.g. red lines vs. black) it will be double-trouble, and my crystal ball sees a future class-action waiting to happen, regardless of the user-agreement language, if there's an inherent product defect, even if it's a free product.

Garmin: wake-up and smell the blood, and the bloodsuckers.
Old 02-19-2016, 02:55 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,489
Likes: 0
Received 1,625 Likes on 866 Posts
Default

Quckdraw is not a navigation aid.. such as the preloaded maps etc...and this not to be used as such.

Quickdraw's purpose is to be used as Garmin has advertised it....as a fishing map with the ability to create 1 foot bottom contours.
That is all...
A fishing map..and with bottom contours is its main purpose...simply as a fisherman's aid of to determine what the bottom looks like.

On the Garmin site this feature is listed as:

Garmin Quickdraw™ Contours

Create Your Own HD Fishing Maps On Screen
Easy-to-use, free software instantly creates personalized HD fishing maps with 1-foot contours.


...................


This is only general purpose supplement ..for a fisherman to add bottom detail in the form of mapping 1 foot contours on a body of water where little other bottom details are known.
Never intended for navigation and or safety concerns.


Just as Garmin said....a fishing map.


Quickdraw Contours.









.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 02-21-2016 at 09:02 PM.
Old 02-19-2016, 03:05 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 4,097
Received 259 Likes on 214 Posts
Default

X2, I would not use Quickdraw for navigation, but only for bottom contours looking for changes and drops for example. My sonar will stay on !

Jim
Old 02-19-2016, 03:15 PM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 994
Likes: 0
Received 51 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Karl in NY View Post
Are the user-added contours added to the chart in a different color, to distinguish them from those of the factory charting?
Yes, shading effects allow you distinguish between QuickDraw contours and factory mapping.
Old 02-19-2016, 03:32 PM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
Quickdraw's purpose is to be used as Garmin has advertised it....as a fishing map with the ability to create 1 foot bottom contours.


On the Garmin site this feature is listed as:

This is only supplement ..for a fisherman to add bottom detail in the form of mapping 1 foot contours on a body of water ..as a visual aid .
Never to be used for navigation and or safety concerns.

.
What good are 1-foot contours, if they are inaccurate by 10+ feet?

What is captured at one tide will look like a hole, vs. the exact same spot at the opposite tide looking like a hill, unless in very deep waters where tide-swing accounts for a very small percentage of actual depth.

I'm no expert (duh!), but it appears that this app could be very useful for 500-foot deep waters, and very useless in 50-foot deep waters, without automatic tide correction applied, since tidal-swing will be a high percentage of shallow waters compared to very deep waters.

Class-actions benefit nobody, except the lead plaintiff(s) and their lawyers...class "members" get about zilch; defendant company gets hurt badly.
Old 02-19-2016, 03:36 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,512
Received 428 Likes on 217 Posts
Default

I think somebody is getting a little too excited about freshwater nonsense. For the most of us, this will be a useful tool. Landlocked people...you're out of luck.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.