Notices

NMEA help

Reply

Old 02-11-2016, 11:53 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,165
Default NMEA help

I have a furuno navnet 3d system with a 12 and 8in mfd. I also have two icom 504 vhf radios. I have had everything installed for almost a year and a half now and everything has been working fine.

last weekend, i went to use the boat and the Icoms no longer are displaying the gps positioning in their data boxes.

I tried turning everything on and off and that didnt do anything. I check around in the back for any disconnected wires and didnt see anything.

any ideas what would cause this to happen? From reading the ICOM instructions, it says the display is automatic with a gps connected. Maybe I need to redo the setup wizard on the furuno???
gtrfred is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 05:25 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Default

If you have a valid position on the plotters go the menus and look for communications for NMEA 0183 and make sure sentences are turned on.
isitstuffed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 07:03 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Richmond & Kilmarnock, VA
Posts: 5,909
Default

Check the baud rates on the NMEA ports on both devices. (assuming a connection didn't come loose somewhere),
Buoy Scout is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 07:07 PM
  #4  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Florida
Posts: 518
Default

That radio is NMEA 0183 what is its source for GPS?
aplusmiami is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 08:18 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,165
Default

I believe that when the GPS unit was installed that we had to get a NMEA 0183 "export" so that it would talk to the icoms and my yamaha gauges.

it was definitely compatible and working for the first year of install. maybe a setting got changed in the navnet unit.
gtrfred is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: