Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

New stereo keeps shutting off

Old 12-24-2015, 07:50 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 222
Received 81 Likes on 14 Posts
Default New stereo keeps shutting off

I have a 2001 Sailfish CC and I just installed a new fusion 700i along with brand new JL audio 6.5's (4).. After a few minutes of the stereo running the system shuts down and then turns back on again.. I also have my gps on the same switch and i noticed that the gps did NOT shut off so it wasn't tripping the breaker. Im assuming that the boats original wire isn't capable of supplying that much power to the unit so it shuts off? If this is correct and I need bigger wire, am I able to tap into 12/2 wire(brand new) that i have hooked up from the battery directly to the VHF? My plan was to splice the red power wire that goes to the vhf and run the new piece to the switch for the gps/stereo, or could I run that new piece into the the breaker to supply all the electronics with fresh new power and ground? New breaker panel and switch panel have been replaced recently.
Old 12-24-2015, 08:04 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,154
Received 377 Likes on 140 Posts
Default

If electrical is the question, ground is the answer 90% of the time.
Old 12-24-2015, 08:22 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 6,046
Received 600 Likes on 330 Posts
Default

I'm guessing ground too.

I would not splice anything. Run a separate independent wire from fuse panel of you determine its not the ground, which it most likely is.
Old 12-24-2015, 08:22 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 222
Received 81 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Seasir View Post
If electrical is the question, ground is the answer 90% of the time.

Wouldn't my gps shut off as well if it was a ground issue?
Old 12-24-2015, 08:23 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Brashanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,509
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

ground.
Old 12-24-2015, 08:37 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,154
Received 377 Likes on 140 Posts
Default

Not necessarily. The order to check things is ground, fuse then power supply. I'd put my money on ground
Old 12-24-2015, 08:40 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 222
Received 81 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Seasir View Post
Not necessarily. The order to check things is ground, fuse then power supply. I'd put my money on ground
Will do, ill look into that tomorrow and get back to you guys, thanks for the input
Old 12-24-2015, 09:41 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Run your radio at low volume and see if stays on. If it does, which is what I believe it will do, you need to take power direct from a power stud. Make sure the power and IGN wires are correct. Audio amplifiers take huge transients of power for low range audio power and can drop the supply voltage below that for sustained operation. Its quite normal.
Old 12-24-2015, 10:07 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Newport Beach, CA. USA
Posts: 1,798
Received 411 Likes on 243 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by isitstuffed View Post
Run your radio at low volume and see if stays on. If it does, which is what I believe it will do, you need to take power direct from a power stud. Make sure the power and IGN wires are correct. Audio amplifiers take huge transients of power for low range audio power and can drop the supply voltage below that for sustained operation. Its quite normal.
I agree
Old 12-26-2015, 09:26 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 6,046
Received 600 Likes on 330 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RAMRODNEY View Post
Wouldn't my gps shut off as well if it was a ground issue?
Not always. Would be just the ground wire for the stereo.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.