Notices

AIS Selection

Old 11-30-2015, 03:49 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 242
Default AIS Selection

Going to add an AIS unit to my Simrad setup, any suggestions on a reliable unit, with simple plug and play cabling?
Have one open port on eithernet / NEP2. In lower helm area, with access to existing but cable.
All Simnet ports utilized.
twover is offline  
Old 11-30-2015, 03:51 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 242
Default

Originally Posted by twover View Post
Going to add an AIS unit to my Simrad setup, any suggestions on a reliable unit, with simple plug and play cabling?
Have one open port on eithernet / NEP2. In lower helm area, with access to existing but cable.
All Simnet ports utilized.
VHF Cable, typo, not allowed to edit.
twover is offline  
Old 11-30-2015, 04:14 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,161
Default

With SimNet / NMEA 2000 it's just to add one more junction or T to connect additional NMEA 2000 units.

Most AIS units have both NMEA 183 and NMEA 2000, but NMEA is much simpler and more reliable.

I have an em-trak B100 transponder (with SRT AIS module) which works well. A lot of the AIS transponders are using the same AIS board from SRT, Simrad NAIS-400 is one of these, the advantage over em-trak is much better water protection. I bought em-trak since it was cheaper. em-trak is an AIS only company owned by the SRT owners and management.

Rymarine, Digital Yacht and Si-tex all have AIS transponders using exactly the same board as Simrad and em-trak.
abbor is offline  
Old 11-30-2015, 05:48 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 242
Default

Is their a specific cable to connect to a joiner
If I add another joiner, would I need a resistor? Termination plug?(name)?
twover is offline  
Old 11-30-2015, 07:39 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 473
Default

Typically I have found that you get the best presentation of the AIS data if you use the AIS transponder or receiver of your MFD manufacturer. As well, many time the only way that you can use the "silent" or "ghost" mode on the transponder via the MFD without a physical toggle switch is to use the same AIS unit as the MFD. I have used both the NAVICO and Raymarine transponders and have been happy with both.

This is a technology that is advancing rapidly and the adoption is quickening its pace on the recreational side. The last update to Raymarine Light House II operating system had a focus on AIS and presenting targets in a a meaningful manner that provided you with critical situational awareness.
Northern Ivy is offline  
Old 11-30-2015, 11:45 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 169
Default

Originally Posted by twover View Post
Is their a specific cable to connect to a joiner
If I add another joiner, would I need a resistor? Termination plug?(name)?
Yes it is. Simrad Partn. 24005729.
May you'll need additional gender changer to adapt to AIS Device
http://www.actisense.com/news/26-new...-03-02-14.html
Btw as Abbor mentoined, the Em-Trak B100 is a fine device
Detlefb is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread