Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

how much sonar detail is transmitted by nmea?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

how much sonar detail is transmitted by nmea?

Old 11-05-2015, 06:31 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 358
Likes: 0
Received 38 Likes on 19 Posts
Default how much sonar detail is transmitted by nmea?

how detailed is the sonar information transmitted over a standardized nmea 2000 or 0183 signal? I thought it was just depth.

will it support detailed bottom mapping across the width of the transducer beam?

i just got finished viewing the navionics sonarchart live and digital sonar server websites. as i understand it, sonarchart is producing bottom contours using a standard nmea0183 sonar signal transmitted by wifi to a smartphone.

on the website this results in a fairly wide beam of contour mapping on both sides of the boat, including contours that vary on either side of the boat. that's pretty cool but seems to exceed what i thought nmea would do.
Old 11-05-2015, 10:00 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,589
Likes: 0
Received 264 Likes on 218 Posts
Default

nmea 183 puts out a number.

maybe if you had a serial depth sounder (they exist) and can put out a picture with a box. the old garmins transducers are 183 to a 183 sounder box, then to plotter. but nmea sent from a plotter ect is only a depth.
Old 11-06-2015, 12:07 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 358
Likes: 0
Received 38 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
nmea 183 puts out a number. maybe if you had a serial depth sounder (they exist) and can put out a picture with a box. the old garmins transducers are 183 to a 183 sounder box, then to plotter. but nmea sent from a plotter ect is only a depth.
i looked again and the wifi signal is definitely 0183 and the smartphone can draw from nearly any sounder including garmin with a 183 output using the sonar server for wifi. so it is using the 183 standard output. seems like it would take a lot of passes to map bottom contours that way
Old 11-06-2015, 12:15 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Sitka, AK
Posts: 643
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Depth + GPS location, both 0183 sentences will give you enough info to make a bottom plot.
Old 11-06-2015, 12:27 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,604
Received 84 Likes on 60 Posts
Default

That's much more than NMEA typically supports
Old 11-06-2015, 12:55 PM
  #6  
Closed Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,771
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

GPS Coordinates and numeric depth will transmit over NMEA2000. Yet to see fish finding capabilities
Old 11-06-2015, 01:04 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 3,997
Received 231 Likes on 192 Posts
Default

NMEA0183 and NMEA2K do not have the bandwidth to network sonar images. Jim
Old 11-06-2015, 01:14 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 3,485
Likes: 0
Received 188 Likes on 131 Posts
Default

NMEA is a text based protocol.
Old 11-06-2015, 07:12 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

None. Need ethernet.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.