Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Underwater Camera Live Feed

Old 10-27-2015, 03:23 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sharon, MA & Falmouth, Cape Cod
Posts: 306
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Underwater Camera Live Feed

Saw this on the internet and was wondering if its junk or not.

The plan would be to hook up to the video feed in the back of the Simrad NSS8 to check out bottom fishing spots.

Thoughts?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-165ft-Un...6r9oYF3pHwD7WA
Old 10-27-2015, 05:02 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I use one of these live feeding to a dredge behind the boat- http://www.bluebottlefishing.com/pro...12v-power.html

Watch the video. I have an NSS12 with video cable attached.
Old 10-27-2015, 05:09 PM
  #3  
Edd
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,923
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

OK I have that camera. Actually it is a Sony camera. I have never filmed below about 80 feet but it seemed fine to that point. I bought a 12v DVR and connect the camera into the DVR the video out to my HDS. I will warn you that the plastic is weak and breaks easily after being deep in cold water.I have since modified mine and morfed it into a downrigger weight.http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/h...pslrq0d0gv.jpg
Old 10-27-2015, 05:11 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Agoldsc, Had one of these for the last 2 years hooked up to a HDS 12t. Weights have all gone rusty but still works. Gets some very interesting views from the bottom. Must better quality ones around but these cheapies do work. Rob.
Old 10-27-2015, 05:28 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sharon, MA & Falmouth, Cape Cod
Posts: 306
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by robcam57 View Post
Agoldsc, Had one of these for the last 2 years hooked up to a HDS 12t. Weights have all gone rusty but still works. Gets some very interesting views from the bottom. Must better quality ones around but these cheapies do work. Rob.
That's Helpful. Might take a flyer as they are only 100$ on eBay. Just wanted to confirm it wasn't absolute garbage. Will likely use bottom fishing to check out spots when anchored.
Old 10-27-2015, 05:55 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: East central Fla
Posts: 506
Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

I am going to buy one myself soon like Agoldsc posted... I keep holding off in hopes to find a US based vendor. For some reason all those type systems are coming from china.... anyone happen to know where I could get one in the US?
Old 10-27-2015, 09:30 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 402
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by FISHUNTR View Post
I am going to buy one myself soon like Agoldsc posted... I keep holding off in hopes to find a US based vendor. For some reason all those type systems are coming from china.... anyone happen to know where I could get one in the US?
I sent you a PM
Old 10-29-2015, 10:38 AM
  #8  
Edd
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,923
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by FISHUNTR View Post
I am going to buy one myself soon like Agoldsc posted... I keep holding off in hopes to find a US based vendor. For some reason all those type systems are coming from china.... anyone happen to know where I could get one in the US?
Mine came from China and shipping was bad. Took me about 3 weeks to get it.
Old 10-29-2015, 02:10 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,625
Received 589 Likes on 441 Posts
Default

Mine use their own included portable battery-operated TV monitors, but I have an Aqua-Vu color U/W cam system and use of my B-I-L's Atlantis B&W U/W cam system .Both have 100' cables and I wish they were longer.

I have used them occasionally to check cod & other fish spots but mainly use it to help find friend's many lost anchors or other items of value .They are a bit hard to control in terms of view direction when drifting but have been very, very helpful when needed.

Also can be very handy for seeking source of leaks under friends' big diesels and for locating items dropped into recesses of the bilge , checking to see if running gear is fouled or condition of U/W anodes or RW intakes without getting wet,....or even inspecting chimneys or hard to reach or see engine parts on cars.
Old 10-30-2015, 11:10 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Do any of the GpPros offer a live feed, either from the factory or from a 3rd-party source.

Not worth recording underwater continuously, when 99% of the footage gets deleted since it shows nothing of interest. I want to be able to selectively record what I'm watching, with a strong preference to digital (1080P) output rather than 600-line analog. Remote pan and tilt through a dome would be especially sweet.

Anything available?
I have cams that would do what I want, but not with any off-the-shelf underwater housings available.
Old 10-30-2015, 11:58 AM
  #11  
Edd
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,923
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

GoPro offers a hard wired waterproof case but, I don't think you have control over the recording controls.
Old 10-30-2015, 12:41 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tequesta, FL
Posts: 331
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Karl in NY View Post
Do any of the GpPros offer a live feed, either from the factory or from a 3rd-party source.
Any modern GoPro can output live HD signal over HDMI. The problem, as you've run into with the other cameras, is the waterproofing.

So someone modified the 3D dual camera housing and now offers this solution
http://www.eyeofmineactioncameras.co..._p/euvh-3h.htm
Old 10-30-2015, 12:50 PM
  #13  
Edd
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,923
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by yamaham View Post
Any modern GoPro can output live HD signal over HDMI. The problem, as you've run into with the other cameras, is the waterproofing. So someone modified the 3D dual camera housing and now offers this solution http://www.eyeofmineactioncameras.co..._p/euvh-3h.htm
Even with this setup there is no solution to Karl's problem. You can not remotely control the camera so you still must sift through hours of video in editing.
Old 10-31-2015, 07:21 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 5,880
Likes: 0
Received 184 Likes on 130 Posts
Default

I thought there was a way to do this by wifi. The problem has always been to get the wifi signal through water. Someone put a wire into the waterproof case that acted like a wifi antenna.
Old 10-31-2015, 08:11 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by manitunc View Post
I thought there was a way to do this by wifi. The problem has always been to get the wifi signal through water. Someone put a wire into the waterproof case that acted like a wifi antenna.
Both WiFi bands, I believe 2.4 Ghz and 5.0 MhZ, regardless of the 802.11 protocol, have an underwater range of about 2-feet, if even that. You need coax, or ethernet, to get a live video feed to the surface.

I have the electronics knowledge to do a remote pan/tilt megapixel camera output to the surface, but have doubts about my ability to fabricate a totally waterproof enclosure for the cam, even if the enclosure is pressurized (2-3psi?)...I'm thinking of acrylic, with waterproof cable glands, utilizing an unused Cat5e pair for a moisture detector, and stuffing the case with adult incontinence pads, so I could at least retrieve the cam if a leak developed, before any damage was done, at least until the housing has proven itself reliable. Another pair of unused CAT5e pair would be used for power-over-ethernet to provide camera operating voltage.

Virtually all domes that would permit pan/tilt, are heavily tinted dark gray, which would have a 2-3 f-stop penalty, however. I have several, but no optically-correct clear ones, and no source yet.

Just thinking out loud, at this point...apologize if it's boring.
Old 12-16-2015, 07:23 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 983
Likes: 0
Received 32 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Ari, did you ever buy one of these and try it out? I like the idea of dropping it down for bottom fishing but would be concerned about lack of visibility up here.

Rich
Old 12-17-2015, 03:35 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,625
Received 589 Likes on 441 Posts
Default

Here's one with 165' cable and wired remote-controlled continuous or manual 360* pan
http://www.ebay.com/itm/165ft-Underw...3D181212657438

But it's still the same Chinese vender you need to give address & phone , etc . , to, ...and if you have problems do you want to return it to China?
Old 12-18-2015, 05:36 AM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,277
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

There is a company who makes a "wifi extender" for the gopro. Its pretty much a wired underwater router that mounts right by your gopro.
http://cam-do.com/collections/underw...xtension-cable
Old 12-18-2015, 05:48 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 5,880
Likes: 0
Received 184 Likes on 130 Posts
Default

can't you rig a pan/tilt from a drone into a housing? Then mount either on transom or a downrigger ball.
Old 12-18-2015, 07:24 AM
  #20  
Edd
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,923
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

In the Cam-Do video he states you also need their UW case which I think sells for $435? Case and extension cable just south of $600?
IF you must add a cable, might as well go with a wired UW camera.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.