The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-05-2015, 07:24 PM   #1
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Va beach area
Posts: 3,421
Default Troll mode switch on Suzuki outboard?

Does installing the troll mode switch work well? Is it worth it?
coastalfiberglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 07:44 PM   #2
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 77
Default

I have it on my DF300....works great!!
MC129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 07:50 PM   #3
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE North Carolina
Posts: 806
Default

I have twin 300's and it's great!! One of the best features of these engines! Only complaint is that it will max out at RPM of 1100 or 1200rpm (can't remember) and sometimes we want to troll at higher RPM's.
brittonv likes this.
woodygo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 08:53 PM   #4
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Alaska
Posts: 272
Default

Can this "Troll Mode Switch" be added to early (2007) DF-300s ?
Shark Bait II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 03:09 AM   #5
Admirals Club
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,075
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodygo View Post
I have twin 300's and it's great!! One of the best features of these engines! Only complaint is that it will max out at RPM of 1100 or 1200rpm (can't remember) and sometimes we want to troll at higher RPM's.
All of our customers like this feature as well. We install it on all new Fly By Wire installations at no additional charge to the customer. As mentioned it does max out at about 1250 RPM. Anything after that you should be using the throttles.

Mike

Last edited by InternationalMarineMike; 10-06-2015 at 07:44 AM.
InternationalMarineMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 04:27 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark Bait II View Post
Can this "Troll Mode Switch" be added to early (2007) DF-300s ?
As far as I know it starts with the Lean Burn Model somehow 2012 onward.
Detlefb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 06:11 AM   #7
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Outboard Specialties's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Posts: 1,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Detlefb View Post
As far as I know it starts with the Lean Burn Model somehow 2012 onward.
Correct, the troll mode is only available on the "A" models and cannot retrofit back to 2007. All new Fly-By-Wire kits come standard with troll mode as part of the package.
Outboard Specialties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 08:40 AM   #8
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Va beach area
Posts: 3,421
Default

Well I guess that answers my question! I have 2007 models, guess I gotta take that switch out!
coastalfiberglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 05:27 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 246
Default

I assume only 1 troll mode switch is required to operate twin 2014 DF175s with the digital dual binnacle control?

Is there a part number for the kit I would need? Sounds very affordable to add.

Thanks
Kurt
kdubinwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 05:31 PM   #10
Admirals Club
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,075
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdubinwa View Post
I assume only 1 troll mode switch is required to operate twin 2014 DF175s with the digital dual binnacle control? Is there a part number for the kit I would need? Sounds very affordable to add. Thanks Kurt
We have a few laying around. I will send one your way.

Mike
InternationalMarineMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 05:46 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InternationalMarineMike View Post
We have a few laying around. I will send one your way.

Mike
Holy Moses Mike!! You never quit taking care of your customers... Thank you kindly and I'll put one to good use for sure.
kdubinwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 05:14 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 14
Default

The dealer didn't keep the end of his deal and install a SMIS gauge; however, he did install the troll switch.


It's currently not working, is this setup even possible? I just bought a 16' DF175
bundoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 05:19 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: On the beach
Posts: 2,530
Default

There's a "troll" mode permanently installed in some members in the bilge as well ...
Still Stoked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 06:01 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Long Island
Posts: 208
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InternationalMarineMike View Post
We have a few laying around. I will send one your way.

Mike
Is it hard to install?? I have a 2014 DF 300AP, Didn't know about it when the Proline manufacturer did the install, when boat was built.
Thanks
John
bassyac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 07:01 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassyac View Post
Is it hard to install?? I have a 2014 DF 300AP, Didn't know about it when the Proline manufacturer did the install, when boat was built.
Thanks
John


I didn't install mine, but it doesn't seem to hard from what I've read. The dealer was troubleshooting with a Suzuki rep, but unable to get it working when I came to pick up the boat.


The dealer is going to do my 20 hour service and stated they need to try another harness when I bring it in.


I have the following parts currently installed:
Suzuki 34200-93J40 Black Tachometer w/Troll Mode Scale
Suzuki 37860-87L00 Trolling Mode Control Switch Assembly


According to Brown's it doesn't state that I need anything else to get it work. I'm going to order the service manual so I can look at the wiring diagram.
bundoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 09:56 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassyac View Post
Is it hard to install?? I have a 2014 DF 300AP, Didn't know about it when the Proline manufacturer did the install, when boat was built.
Thanks
John
I got mine from International Marine and the install was simple. Drill a round hole for the gauge, connect a few wires and a plug (already terminated) and you are done. The documentation for the plug connections was less than stellar, but one call to Tyler at International Marine and I was in business.
kdubinwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 10:00 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdubinwa View Post
I got mine from International Marine and the install was simple. Drill a round hole for the gauge, connect a few wires and a plug (already terminated) and you are done. The documentation for the plug connections was less than stellar, but one call to Tyler at International Marine and I was in business.
Would you happen to have a picture of the wiring? They said they even tried switching out ECMs and couldn't get it to work.
bundoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 05:28 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bundoc View Post
Would you happen to have a picture of the wiring? They said they even tried switching out ECMs and couldn't get it to work.

I'm not going to be at my boat for about three weeks. Here's hoping you can find an answer faster.
kdubinwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 06:50 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Long Island
Posts: 208
Default

I may have the dealer do the install,If I do it and 5 years from now something happens and I need warranty work it won't be covered because of something I did.Ya know how that goes
bassyac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 06:57 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Costa Rica and Sardinia (Italy)
Posts: 1,264
Default

Quote:
Does installing the troll mode switch work well? Is it worth it?
i have the troll mode switch installed as i got it, but i probably won't use it ever.
It gives you the possibility to fine-tune your RPM in 50 rpm steps, but only from 700 - 1200 rpm.
This makes it only useful for people who troll with live bait using downriggers and in very calm water.
Chris
ChrigelKarrer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:06 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.