The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-21-2015, 07:56 AM   #1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Orange Beach and Jaqcksonville AL
Posts: 241
Default Garmin xsv's go Berserk

Until now the navigation function on my 7612xzvís have worked well (I have impressed at how easy it is to keep on a fishing spot). Yesterday about 30 miles from the coast the navigation screen became unresponsive and the autopilot screen was showing a heading about 100 degrees off to the east (the radar also parked about 100 degrees off). When we first started having trouble I verified that there was no metal near the fluxgate compass. Rebooting the system didnít help either. After navigating back to the coast via the traditional compass and through the bay the fluxgate compass began reading correctly.
B_Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 08:56 AM   #2
Admirals Club
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 2,531
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Bermuda Triangle?
Castrohasanafro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 09:06 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pompano Beach, Fl.
Posts: 42
Default

Funny that's what I was going to say. (Bermuda Triangle?)
I have the 7610 and fish way offshore and do bahamas trips. I haven't had any issues like that with mine "yet"..... Keep us posted on future issues or a solution.
By the way, What transducer and what deepest depth do you read?
dabood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 03:54 AM   #4
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Orange Beach and Jaqcksonville AL
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dabood View Post
Funny that's what I was going to say. (Bermuda Triangle?)
I have the 7610 and fish way offshore and do bahamas trips. I haven't had any issues like that with mine "yet"..... Keep us posted on future issues or a solution.
By the way, What transducer and what deepest depth do you read?
Re-callibrating the autopilot seemed to solve the problem (at least for the time being). I was told that if this happens again to pull the fuse on the autopilot and everything else will work via the GPS

As far as transducers, I have a TM 275C-LHW and so far I have not been out much over a 1000 feet and it work fine at that depth
B_Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 04:24 AM   #5
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mid Coast Maine
Posts: 174
Default

What autopilot do you have? If you have a Reactor series, there is a mandatory update, that was just released. It addresses, settings losses in the system. Could be that?
Bass Monkey2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 05:10 AM   #6
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Orange Beach and Jaqcksonville AL
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass Monkey2015 View Post
What autopilot do you have? If you have a Reactor series, there is a mandatory update, that was just released. It addresses, settings losses in the system. Could be that?
Possibly

(I have the GHP 20 with smart pump)

When I booted up the system yesterday it was reading about 180 degrees off. I installed the upgrade but that didn't immediately resolve the problem. However, after the re-calibration it responded correctly.

As a side note, the shadow drive is still not working properly. My installer came out and took pictures and sent them to Garmin to verify that the Shadow Drive was installed correctly.
B_Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 06:06 AM   #7
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Topsail Beach, NC
Posts: 164
Default

Had the exact same thing happen with my 7612 xsv last trip. Was dragging the anchor between spots while grouper fishing and noticed as I turned the boat, the chartplotter didn't respond. Sounder was still marking, so I shut off unit, waited a few minutes and powered back up and it worked fine. I was told by my installer that I need to go into Settings, System, Event Log, and clear the event log out. Apparently everytime the unit is shutdown improperly, an event is logged in the unit, and when this log gets close to full, the units start doing crazy things. He said Garmin is aware of the problem and is working on a software fix. I was told to always shutdown the unit using the power button and shutdown function, as opposed to just shutting down all electronics. Hopefully this will be resolved soon.
flyin fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 08:23 AM   #8
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tarpon Springs, FL
Posts: 6,464
Default

There is supposed to be a software update to fix this and several other problems.
mikefloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 AM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.