The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-15-2015, 11:58 AM   #1
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Marina Bay on Boston Hahbah
Posts: 1,428
Default Etec with Lowrance NMEA2000 and Garmin

I am in the process of hanging a pair of ETEC 200 H.O.'s 2007's. I have a NEMA 2000 network with all my Garmin electronics. All the sensors that came with the engines are Lowrance 4 water pressure etc. Will I be able to display engine trim on the I command gauges ? Or am I going to need another module? Additionally if I already have a NEMA 2000 network with my Garmin electronics am I going to have to power the Lowrance network that is connected to the I commands or will my current NEMA 2000 network plug and play?
2450CC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 12:04 PM   #2
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 2,684
Default

You can display engine trim with the new Evinrude cables, but you need to calibrate with the engine diagnostics software.

If using the older Evinrude cables prior to ETECs you need to add some power resistors in place of the trim gauges. There are some prior posts on this subject, search for them.

NMEA2K is plug and play with Garmin and Lowrance I-Command Gauges and ETEC engines. As soon as the ETECs are on the NMEA2K network they will show up on the Garmin MFD's.

Jim

Last edited by jfwireless; 09-15-2015 at 07:42 PM. Reason: spelling
jfwireless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 02:59 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 1,751
Default

There is no reason to make two NMEA-2000 networks and segregate the E-TEC engines from the GARMIN devices.

For details about how to get the TRIM function operating on NMEA-2000 with the E-TEC, see my article:

ADVANCED E-TEC RIGGING
http://continuouswave.com/whaler/ref...gAdvanced.html

This will give you all the details you need to get the TRIM function working. Note that, as mentioned above, you must initialize the E-TEC EMM with a TRIM CALIBRATION procedure in order to the the E-TEC EMM to send TRIM data to the NMEA-2000 network, In order to do that you must have EVINRUDE DIAGNOSTICS software. Usually the authorized Evinrude dealer installing the engines will perform the initialization and trim calibration when he installs the engines.

You may also find more information that will be useful for you in my article

NMEA-2000 INSTRUMENTATION WITH MODERN ENGINES
http://continuouswave.com/whaler/ref.../NMEA2000.html
jhebert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 03:36 PM   #4
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Marina Bay on Boston Hahbah
Posts: 1,428
Default

Thanks for the replies and the information I will have to spend some time reading through it all and post any other questions I might have thanks a lot I appreciate it
2450CC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:36 AM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.