Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Furuno GP-1650WF Loran

Old 09-05-2015, 10:40 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hamilton NC
Posts: 223
Received 23 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Furuno GP-1650WF Loran

What setting does the unit have to be on to show the loran numbers for North Carolina? I chose southeast u.s but there are multiple choices on the right (see pic)
Attached Images  
Old 09-05-2015, 11:53 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Smyrna Beach
Posts: 8,725
Received 357 Likes on 245 Posts
Default

Weren't all the Loran towers taken down. Are you crossing the gps signals over to Loran?
Old 09-05-2015, 02:24 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Clayton/NC Coast
Posts: 3,074
Received 239 Likes on 128 Posts
Default

Northeast (9960) is what I would use.
Old 09-05-2015, 08:50 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,493
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

The GRI for your area is 7980, the secondaries are Z and Y.

Since you're not working with LORAN-C, the LORAN position is being calculated, the 1650 will allow you to adjust the secondaries by using offset values for each and they can be positive or negative values. Without the correct offsets you could be off the actual mark by hundreds of feet.

Last edited by Team Ruby; 09-05-2015 at 10:51 PM.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.