Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin 7600s Screen/Boat icon not straight

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 7600s Screen/Boat icon not straight

Old 07-06-2015, 12:09 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Savannah
Posts: 777
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Garmin 7600s Screen/Boat icon not straight

Update 5/2/2016


For those folks on here that are having problems with their boat icon not straight up and down on screen, disconnect the AP compass. I know this is not a permanent solution, but it will at least get you by in a pinch.

We keep hearing this is a software problem, now I wonder if the new compass for the reactor autopilot is the problem.

just for reference, we have moved my compass 3 times to try and correct.

......update..... We moved the AP compass under the gunnel and it seems to have corrected the problem as of now. Fished for 3 days and the screen and boat icon are straight. Must have some magnetic interference in my console.

Maybe this will help others with the same problem.

Last edited by DawgDr; 05-02-2016 at 07:17 AM. Reason: Update
Old 07-06-2015, 01:03 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Thunderbolt, Ga
Posts: 264
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Who have you got doing the work for you ? I think you used to keep at boat at the same marina as I have mine at.
Old 07-06-2015, 01:26 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Savannah
Posts: 777
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Capt. Thunderbolt View Post
Who have you got doing the work for you ? I think you used to keep at boat at the same marina as I have mine at.
I am at Savannah Bend, now. Matt with M3 does all my work. He knows his stuff, but this has him and the techs at Garmin stumped up to this point.
Old 07-06-2015, 01:47 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,828
Likes: 0
Received 99 Likes on 62 Posts
Default

Does the magnetic heading data from the autopilot compass show a similar reading to your course over the ground from the GPS when the boat is moving? You may have to input an offset factor for the compass. The easiest was to check is to run a straight line and compare the compass heading to the COG from the GPS, then turn around 180 degrees and do it again. If you see a consistent difference, you will need to go into the compass settings and input a correct factor.
Old 07-06-2015, 01:55 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Savannah
Posts: 777
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Nomans View Post
Does the magnetic heading data from the autopilot compass show a similar reading to your course over the ground from the GPS when the boat is moving? You may have to input an offset factor for the compass. The easiest was to check is to run a straight line and compare the compass heading to the COG from the GPS, then turn around 180 degrees and do it again. If you see a consistent difference, you will need to go into the compass settings and input a correct factor.
The AP compass and the COG are no where close and the variance is not constant. My installer and I have tried this method to no avail, but thanks for the suggestion anyway.
Old 07-06-2015, 06:11 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 261
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Guys,

I have the exact same problem.

Even when the autopilot is engaged and running a route straight to a waypoint the heading line (source is reactor compass) is way left of my actual path of travel.

See the screen print below.

I'm screwed until Garmin fixes this.
Attached Images  
Old 07-06-2015, 07:05 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 215
Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

I was running the boat this weekend and have the same issue. I was thinks mg I needed to do a recalibration on the auto pilot.
Old 07-06-2015, 08:26 PM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 14 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Does the icon straighten up when you turn the auto pilot off?
Old 07-06-2015, 08:46 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 261
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Dfou View Post
Does the icon straighten up when you turn the auto pilot off?
Not really. The reactor CCU compass is on the NMEA 2K network and is providing incorrect heading data regardless of whether or not the autopilot is engaged.
Old 07-07-2015, 05:29 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Thunderbolt, Ga
Posts: 264
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DawgDr View Post
I am at Savannah Bend, now. Matt with M3 does all my work. He knows his stuff, but this has him and the techs at Garmin stumped up to this point.
He is excellent. He rewired my boat in november and installed about 2 mos ago gpsmap 7607xsv, fusion ms-ra205, gxm 52, gt51m-th stainless thru hull.

He is replacing my fusion today. the knobs quit working. cant control volumn or anything with them. Also the sounder quit working after about 6 weeks. Can't do anything until a software update comes out. I get a blue screen that says not available.

If garmin doesn't step up soon, I am going to have him pull the 7607xsv and the chirp transducer and put in another Furuno Depth finder.

He is absolutely the best Electronics guy in our area and is doing all he can, but Garmin has his hands tied with the software update in limbo.
Old 07-07-2015, 06:09 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Savannah
Posts: 777
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dfou View Post
Does the icon straighten up when you turn the auto pilot off?
Turning off the AP does not correct he issue, but unplugging the AP compass does. I still think the new Garmin compass is the problem, not a software issue.
Old 07-07-2015, 03:48 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 304
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Assuming this is a Garmin pilot, there is a "Fine Heading Adjustment" in the Dealer Setup Menu. If compass was swung correctly and passed by doing the circles, Fine Heading will allow you closely match GPS COG with AP compass heading. Seems installers are installing, doing sea trial, seeing it passed, and signing off on the install. That's bullshit.
Old 07-07-2015, 04:24 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Faro
Posts: 531
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Try to update to version 5.60/2.60 just released and post results please...
Old 07-07-2015, 08:07 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 261
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Jorinho View Post
Try to update to version 5.60/2.60 just released and post results please...
Will do... However the MFD software has been updated on July 6th but there is no update for the autopilot since the June 1st update.
Old 07-07-2015, 08:14 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 261
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Scratch that. The dealer menu fine heading adjustment is used only if you don't have a GPS (COG) heading available on the network. My 7610xsv provides GPS heading data already.
Old 07-08-2015, 03:33 AM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 304
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

kdubinwa, fine heading adjustment is to correct any autopilot compass deviation, which is the exact problem being discussed here.
Old 07-08-2015, 07:22 AM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Savannah
Posts: 777
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Just spoke to installer and he put the update in today and said there was nothing in regards to the Autopilot. It did fix my sounder issue however!
Old 07-08-2015, 07:24 AM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Savannah
Posts: 777
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dfou View Post
Does the icon straighten up when you turn the auto pilot off?
As stated, turning the autopilot off will not correct. Try unplugging the AP compass and the screen will straighten, but of course, you cant use the AP anymore.
Old 07-08-2015, 07:46 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Murrells Inlet, SC
Posts: 1,141
Received 133 Likes on 56 Posts
Default

Have you checked to see if there's anything metal or magnetic near your rate compass?

A speaker will cause it to be off, for instance.


I noticed a handheld GPS and SPOT messenger in a guy's bag got my simrad off. The bag was inside my fwd seating storage next to where my rate compass is.
Old 07-08-2015, 08:29 AM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 261
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Jorinho View Post
Try to update to version 5.60/2.60 just released and post results please...
Originally Posted by offshraddict View Post
kdubinwa, fine heading adjustment is to correct any autopilot compass deviation, which is the exact problem being discussed here.
Great! I'll defer to you and hope you are correct, but not according to the manual I read yesterday. It stated that the fine heading adjustment menu option will only be present when there is no GPS/COG available on the network for the AP to use. My 7610xsv is pumping GPS to the network.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.