Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine S1000 + A78

Old 06-01-2015, 02:39 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 227
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Raymarine S1000 + A78

I want to set up my S1000 auto pilot to work with my A78 multi-function display for waypoint navigation.

From my research it looks like seatalk is how I accomplish this - but when i look at the connections on the S1000 i don't see a spot for a seatalk style plug.

How do I accomplish this? Cut and splice kinda deal? Is there a way to do it without seatalk?


Old 06-01-2015, 02:56 PM
  #2  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,873
Received 214 Likes on 117 Posts
Default


Part Number: E22158

essentially you cut off the black end end, then wire the yellow and black to your yellow and black on the input to the S1000 , leave the power source for the s1000 alone. The kit I'm showing you will have its own power cable, make sure it is the same as your S1000 so they come on together.

read here...

http://raymarine.ning.com/forum/topi...00-to-mfds-c97

another read.

http://raymarine.ning.com/forum/topi...27-wiring-help
Old 06-06-2015, 08:51 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 227
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

On the sea talk connector - there is red, yellow, and a bare wire. I assume the bare wire would be the black in this case?
Old 06-06-2015, 09:24 AM
  #4  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,873
Received 214 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

Yup
Old 06-06-2015, 01:46 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 227
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Thanks CME. I ran into my next problem with the GPS connector.

Here is a diagram for reference.


This is the connector I circled in the above diagram - it clearly is not the same. (someone worked on this system in the past so i'm digging through fixing it after adding a new a78 mfd)


and this is the connector off the GPS.


Neither of these fit in the seatalk hub either. Is there some sort of converter i need to make them link up, or am I at the point of cutting and splicing the wires together?
Old 06-06-2015, 11:32 PM
  #6  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,873
Received 214 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

There will be a
---brown
---Green
---Red
---Black
---Yellow
In that gps connector

Sea talk = (gps ------ sea talk 3-wire)

red and green --------to red (12v pos)
Brown and black -----to black
Yellow ------------------to yellow
Old 06-12-2015, 12:17 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 227
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

I found a little bit of time to play with this. I set up the wiring as you listed above and I still get "NO PILOT" on the MFD. I checked to make sure the power/ground wires were live and all seemed good. I did get a message that i have seen before pop up saying "no gps fix". (the MFD showed a GPS fix so i'm assuming this message might have been from the autopilot trying to get ready). I'm not sure where to go from here. The GPS on the roof might be really old - although i believe the previous owner was using it for a A68 unit. (i'm guessing 2004)
Old 06-13-2015, 10:40 AM
  #8  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,873
Received 214 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

your issue is pretty simple. You are not talking to the plotter.

-power to network adaptor
-make sure the plugs are ALL THE WAY IN AND THE COLLARS ARE TURNED TO THE RIGHT.

once the connection is made, all will be right with the world. If the boat is moored, the AP remote will say "too slow". If you get that, your done!
Old 03-28-2016, 07:08 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 227
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CME View Post
your issue is pretty simple. You are not talking to the plotter.

-power to network adaptor
-make sure the plugs are ALL THE WAY IN AND THE COLLARS ARE TURNED TO THE RIGHT.

once the connection is made, all will be right with the world. If the boat is moored, the AP remote will say "too slow". If you get that, your done!
Yea... I never got this to work last year - so i'm giving it another shot. Is a stand alone GPS unit required - or does my A78 provide the GPS connection? My raymarine GPS looks to be pretty old and i'm not sure if it's working properly.
Old 03-28-2016, 08:58 AM
  #10  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,873
Received 214 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by silverbullet87 View Post
Yea... I never got this to work last year - so i'm giving it another shot. Is a stand alone GPS unit required - or does my A78 provide the GPS connection? My raymarine GPS looks to be pretty old and i'm not sure if it's working properly.
a78 has built in gps
Old 03-28-2016, 12:14 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 227
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CME View Post
a78 has built in gps
That's what I figured - which makes the setup easier - but now i'm even more confused because i'm sure yellow & black on the Seatalk are matched up with yellow & black on the data cable. Still "no pilot"....grrr
Old 03-29-2016, 09:13 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 227
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

I guess i'll give a detailed description w/ pictures to show the setup (next time I attempt) There must be something obvious that i'm doing wrong.
Old 03-30-2016, 06:56 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 227
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

It was those damn blue backbone plugs. I didn't realize they completed a connection - i thought they were just dummy plugs and that was the problem.

While parked in my driveway - Pilot controls show "standby" now - which i assume means i'm good to go

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.