Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

C120 Rate Compass??

Old 04-07-2015, 12:38 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 214
Default C120 Rate Compass??

I've got a Raymarine C120 Classic on the boat. I've got the problem with the screen rotating at standstill and very slow speeds preventing me from finding my bottom fishing spots. I know there is an update that will help with this but I would loose my radar overlay.

From my understanding I need a rate compass to install and fix the problem. My question is, will any rate compass work as long as it is NEMA 0183? You are going to have to bare with me because I am totally unfamiliar with this subject. All I want to do is be able to pull up to my bottom spots after getting the drift and drop anchor.

Is this what I need to fix the rotating screen issues? If any rate compass would work which one do you recommend? I do plan on replacing all of the electronics this winter so I don't want to shell a lot out for this right now. Thanks in advance!

TT
TurnTime is offline  
Old 04-07-2015, 12:43 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,932
Default

Have you tried making our screen North up vice heading up. That will stop the screen rotating.
ltcavery is offline  
Old 04-07-2015, 04:49 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 214
Default

Originally Posted by ltcavery View Post
Have you tried making our screen North up vice heading up. That will stop the screen rotating.
Yes sir. I tried all three settings and adjusted the refresh rate and there really is no difference. With north up it is slightly better but no where near what it needs to be. I think a contributing factor is my gps antenna is located on top of my hardtop and sways with the top in the swells.
TurnTime is offline  
Old 04-07-2015, 08:09 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 214
Default

No one has any input on this?
TurnTime is offline  
Old 04-08-2015, 04:15 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Mason Neck, Va.
Posts: 962
Default

Turn Time

Here is a article just a few days old I was reading about that may help you.

http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...g-jerking.html
FoReel is offline  
Old 04-08-2015, 05:00 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 214
Default

Thanks for that thread. I'll contact Max and see what input he has and what his store has to offer.
TurnTime is offline  
Old 04-08-2015, 05:41 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Prairieville, LA
Posts: 518
Default

Get a heading sensor.
Geauxkart is offline  
Old 04-08-2015, 08:47 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 214
Default

Originally Posted by Geauxkart View Post
Get a heading sensor.
Which one? Which is the easiest to interface and calibrate? From what I have read the KVH models seem pretty straight forward.
TurnTime is offline  
Old 04-08-2015, 09:45 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Coastal BC
Posts: 1,668
Default

I would not install a heading sensor with an NMEA0183 interface. Since you're planning an electronics overhaul anyway, I'd recommend focusing on NMEA2000 sensors. The Lowrance Point-1 is a ~$200 NMEA2000 heading sensor with a good reputation.

The C120 Classic should have NMEA2000 support (especially if the firmware is a later release). In the worst case, if the plotter refused to read NMEA2000 heading data, you could use an NMEA gateway to translate the NMEA2000 data to NMEA1083 for the C120. If you needed a gateway, see http://www.defender.com/product3.jsp...879&id=2006001 for a $200 example.

I'd recommend trying to make the Point-1 work with your plotter. Only resort to the gateway if the plotter refuses to read NMEA2000 heading data, then sell the gateway after your big upgrade.

If you've been doing long-term electronics planning, there may be another option, depending on your future autopilot plans. If you're planning to install an autopilot that can use existing NMEA2000 heading data from any heading sensor, you could consider a SiTex HDK-11, which costs $600, but it has NMEA0183 and NMEA2000 output, and it is a high-performance heading sensor (a rebranded Airmar H2183) that will also provide high-quality data for an autopilot and MARPA, if you go that route later.
yabbut is offline  
Old 04-09-2015, 04:22 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 214
Default

Thank you sir. That is the guidance I was looking for seeing as I am not really familiar with all the ends and outs of this so far.
TurnTime is offline  
Old 04-09-2015, 03:00 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,184
Default

Do you have the latest version of the software installed. I believe that it was supposed to help with that issue..... Never mind .. Just saw it in your first post. If you do the update it will solve that issue
cb_usmc is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread