Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Why 2 Simrad units?

Old 04-04-2015, 07:46 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 257
Default Why 2 Simrad units?

When many of you build your boat, you install 2 separate GPS/ depthfinder units. Why?

I have never grouper/snapper fished much, but have hopes of doing more. Why would I need 2 units?

Also, it seems like some of you installed 2 transducers? Again why?
Fishindawg is offline  
Old 04-04-2015, 07:59 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homosassa, FL
Posts: 1,483
Default

1. It's easier to view the navigation and bottom information on 2 separate screens rather than on a split single screen when setting up on fish.

2. Redundancy in case one unit fails.

There are a number of different reasons to install 2 different transducers. Wide beams are better for finding fish while narrow beams are better at bottom discrimination. Side scanning often requires a different transducer than 2D views.
DocStressor is offline  
Old 04-04-2015, 08:02 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 686
Default

It depends on how you are using the unit. When you run radar, plotter, sonar, autopilot and sonic hub the screens get really small.
If its just a stand alone plotter, one is fine.
t-bone31 is offline  
Old 04-04-2015, 08:09 AM
  #4  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Northeast
Posts: 1,465
Default

Originally Posted by Fishindawg View Post
When many of you build your boat, you install 2 separate GPS/ depthfinder units. Why?

I have never grouper/snapper fished much, but have hopes of doing more. Why would I need 2 units?

Also, it seems like some of you installed 2 transducers? Again why?
---------------------------------------------------------
I'm having two units installed for (no particular order):
1-Safety, in case one fails
2-I can have my radar on one, chartplotter/fishfinder on another.
3-I can run my Flir (thermal night vision) on one, while running Radar on the other.
viniadf is offline  
Old 04-04-2015, 08:18 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Land O Lakes, FL
Posts: 3,523
Default

I can see the need if you tournament fish, have radar and autopilot, go far offshore. Otherwise 1 good unit is more than sufficient.
Jonesy23 is offline  
Old 04-04-2015, 09:06 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Freehold/Cape May, NJ
Posts: 746
Default

I did it for most the above reasons. Redundancy the biggest one. Plus it was significantly cheaper than one large screen (nss 8's).
Fluka Brasi is offline  
Old 04-04-2015, 02:24 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 743
Default

In my case it was quite simply that I wanted one MFD at the front helm and another at the rear helm. In addition all the other reasons given apply.
BCTony is offline  
Old 04-04-2015, 04:04 PM
  #8  
THT Sponsor Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brightwaters, New York
Posts: 415
Default

Not knowing what GPS/depthfinder unit you are using or knowing what other accessories you have I would say you need to use what you have now. Once you fully understand how to use your current unit will tell you weather you need a another one. So for now I would say stay with what you got.
ray50 is offline  
Old 04-04-2015, 05:03 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl
Posts: 11,465
Default

I have often run 2 or 3 MDF screens. Reasons, is size. One for radar when necessary on full screen, chart plotter (may use the 3rd for AIS if in crowded area), and finally at least one depth finder--often one down scan and one depth sounder//side scan / depth finder. Lots of combinations are available. Also often I one one chart plotter at small scale and one at large scale.
thataway is offline  
Old 04-04-2015, 05:13 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Default

Many boats simply don't have the panel space to mount a large MFD to use in split-screen mode, plus the redundancy is a definite plus. To be fully redundant, though, don't combine the two smaller MFDs in such a way that if one fails, they both fail.

That could include both circuit breakers, and networking options. If both are networked, at least have a plan to quickly de-network them if a network issue causes both to fail simultaneously. Probably easier said than done, especially with flush mounts with difficult access to rear panel .
Karl in NY is offline  
Old 04-04-2015, 05:19 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 1,582
Default

I think the redundancy element is overplayed. About the only thing that would be redundant is the MFD and even then if the master fails it could be a hassle. There's the network hub, gps antenna and many other elements that are single points of failure. On my old boat I had split systems. A better way to go IMO. On my current boat i have 3 E120's and a Furuno depth. I carry an iPad with Garmin maps and a gps dongle as my backup.

Last edited by BoulderGT3; 04-04-2015 at 05:33 PM.
BoulderGT3 is offline  
Old 04-04-2015, 06:14 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 261
Default

I also run two units.

1. Simrad - 4G radar with a heading sensor and through-hull ducer for standard sonar.
2. Garmin - for structure scan and redundancy.

Units have their own separate fuse blocks and can be powered up with my external jump box if needed. For me having all the information displayed on large screens allows me to spend more time pulling fish over the side rather than sitting at the console...
Keep Reelin is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread