Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 2010C vs 3010C

Old 03-30-2015, 05:25 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Default Garmin 2010C vs 3010C

What is the difference between the 2010c and the 3010c? To use the 2010 c in only gps mode, do I need anything other than the display, power cord, and gps antenna?
Sea-r-cy is offline  
Old 03-30-2015, 05:52 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,446
Default

The 3010 has the ability to run peripherals on a network, so unlike the 2010 it can run radar, digital depth, and XM satellite radio and weather. I had both units and loved the 3010. However for just nav purposes the 2010 will serve you well.
Team Ruby is online now  
Old 03-30-2015, 06:02 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Default

How does the gps antenna connect to the display?
Sea-r-cy is offline  
Old 03-30-2015, 06:06 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,446
Default

Through the power harness. The wires are generally soldered.
Team Ruby is online now  
Old 03-30-2015, 06:08 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Default

Thanks! That one had me stumped.
Sea-r-cy is offline  
Old 03-30-2015, 06:12 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,446
Default

If you need, I can send you a pdf of the antenna installation manual that originally came with it. Shoot me a pm if needed.
Team Ruby is online now  
Old 03-30-2015, 06:20 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 65
Default

Originally Posted by Sea-r-cy View Post
How does the gps antenna connect to the display?
I have a 2010C and love it as a stand alone GPS. My antenna is connected, through a micro terminal strip like you see on old school computers, into the harness. A single screw clamps the wire in place on each "side". For the life of me I don't know what these are actually called. I have had to remove and reconnect stuff on occasion and they were really convenient. I can solder no problem but the boat came this way and it works fine.

I'll be adding a GSD to a B744 I had in place and will be using it as a simple way to see plain old depth - I don't expect much based on reviews here but also am waiting on a new 7610xsv / b175C-HW as my modern fish finder. Looks like I'll be using the 2010C for a while...

JD
24Degrees is offline  
Old 03-30-2015, 07:10 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 6,552
Default

You can use a strip. This is how I had my 3010c nema connected.
Attached Images  
HeadHunt is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread