Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Chartplotter upgrade

Old 03-01-2015, 08:05 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 109
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chartplotter upgrade

Looking to add an additional chart plotter. Just looking for a stand alone plotter, I already have a radar, and a furuno 295 sounder. I also have a northstar 952. Looking for some ideas in the 1,000-2000 range. Thanks
Old 03-01-2015, 08:19 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,901
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

What minimum size screen can you use?

Garmin has a new 7608 Chartplotter.


https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/on-t...rod151676.html

And there are several units that despite being combo unit would make good chart only due to the lowered current pricing on them.
For example the Simrad NSS8...or Garmin 741xs.
Old 03-01-2015, 11:14 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 109
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I would like something in the 7-10inch range..
Old 03-01-2015, 12:12 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,741
Received 1,562 Likes on 946 Posts
Default

iPad inside a Lifeproof case with the Navionics app makes a superb high resolution touch screen chart plotter. The only downside is limited visibility in bright sunlight.
Old 03-01-2015, 01:08 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 109
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
What minimum size screen can you use?

Garmin has a new 7608 Chartplotter.


https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/on-t...rod151676.html

And there are several units that despite being combo unit would make good chart only due to the lowered current pricing on them.
For example the Simrad NSS8...or Garmin 741xs.
I do like the pricing on the NSS8..I have a spare r209 broadband ducer that i could install. Would this be compatible with the Simrad NSS8? I also have a old Simrad robertson AP 21 autopilot that I am assuming is not compatible...thanks

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.