Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

How difficult is it to replace gauges?

Old 02-28-2015, 08:01 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default How difficult is it to replace gauges?

Repowered my 97 Proline 251 with an 2010 ETEC 300 last year and I need to add new gauges. Is this something that I can tackle or should I just pay the mechanic to do it. I'm fairly handy and have a lot of tools and have a basic understanding of boat wiring. Any advice would be appreciated.
Old 02-28-2015, 08:09 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 641
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Florabama View Post
... I'm fairly handy and have a lot of tools and have a basic understanding of boat wiring. ...
Appears you're on the right track but I'd label each wire before disconnecting from where it's connected to. Also would take pics of the back of the existing gauges with wires attached before disconnecting those wires. Best of luck.
Old 02-28-2015, 12:28 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Reel Kahuna View Post
Appears you're on the right track but I'd label each wire before disconnecting from where it's connected to. Also would take pics of the back of the existing gauges with wires attached before disconnecting those wires. Best of luck.
Thanks Kahuna. That's a great idea to take a pic of the gauges before disconnecting. Not to hijack my own thread but I'm finding my smart phone to be one of my most valuable tools. Found a fresh water leak last year by sticking my phone in a hole and taking a flash pic of the inner hull. Anyway, any recommendation on brand of gauges?
Old 02-28-2015, 12:40 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 1,624
Received 173 Likes on 99 Posts
Default

I think you can do it and should I am about to do the same thing. I bought sierra lido gauges. I have had good luck with sierra parts. make sure the set is for a outboard as inboard gauges are slightly different.
Old 02-28-2015, 12:45 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Madeira Beach, FL
Posts: 1,436
Received 252 Likes on 130 Posts
Default

Just take your time, swap out one at a time, very likely you'll need to modify some wiring here and there. It's fairly simple, the only hiccups I had was having to modify some holes by a 1/16 or so.
Old 02-28-2015, 02:16 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Coastal BC
Posts: 1,668
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

What kind of gauges do you have, and what do you want to install? I'm asking because your engine probably has an NMEA 2000 network interface, which means you can display lots of engine data on your plotter screen(s).
Old 02-28-2015, 03:48 PM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Thanks everyone. That was helpful information. Yabbut, I was wondering about the networking. I will contact my local ETEC dealer and speak to them about. I have a fairly new Raymarine plotter that has the capability to interface. Thanks for mentioning that.
Old 02-28-2015, 05:54 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,819
Received 218 Likes on 132 Posts
Default

QUOTE

What kind of gauges do you have, and what do you want to install? I'm asking because your engine probably has an NMEA 2000 network interface, which means you can display lots of engine data on your plotter screen(s).[/QUOTE

Good advice! I was swapping gauges after updating my Honda BF150

I was all set to spend $ 400 on a Honda gauge that would show just about everything except Netflix when a guy reminded me that with NMEA output from the Honda, all I was doing was just throwing money away for redundant information

Once I hooked up the Honda wire harness to my Furuno I realized what good information tht was. No need for gauges with all the bells and whistles any more. Just an hour meter and RPM if you want to have that info in two places
Old 03-01-2015, 12:36 AM
  #9  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Florabama View Post
Repowered my 97 Proline 251 with an 2010 ETEC 300 last year and I need to add new gauges. Is this something that I can tackle or should I just pay the mechanic to do it. I'm fairly handy and have a lot of tools and have a basic understanding of boat wiring. Any advice would be appreciated.
hope the link to workshop manual i sent u works should make life easy for you
Old 03-01-2015, 06:43 PM
  #10  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by junior88 View Post
hope the link to workshop manual i sent u works should make life easy for you
I got it junior88. Man, I really appreciate that. Thank you very much.
Old 03-03-2015, 08:01 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Apollo Beach
Posts: 972
Received 90 Likes on 71 Posts
Default

Hey Florabama..

I replaced the gauges on my AS to Teleflex Lido's. It was an easy install, as one prior mentioned take pics of the wiring and then replace one at a time. The tach has a couple settings, make sure it on the right one. In addition, I was surprised to see a water line for my water pressure gauge... Your ETEC is likely different in that regards. If not, make sure that booger is locked down tight. I have some minor fogging in the morning hours but I keep the panel lights on for a while and it goes away.

On a dif note.. How to do you like your ETEC 300? It's still on my short list for a re-power this winter. Any perf specs you could share would be great.. top speed/rpm, MPH/GPH at cruise and any other feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Gauges:
Name:  54B8C094-BEC0-48C9-9F03-26F53FCF915D_zpsd3hmvbkp.jpg
Views: 175
Size:  90.9 KB


B

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.