Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Airmar B260

Old 02-24-2015, 08:55 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 74
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Airmar B260

I have talked to different people about this and got different awnsers. Currently i have a simrad cx54-e with an airmar b260. I have been wanting to upgrade to garmin and gsd 24 and i have been told i can use the garmin transducer wiring adapter. Is this possible?
Old 02-24-2015, 09:52 PM
  #2  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 74
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

So i guess i am sold on either the 6212 or 5212 and gsd 24, what do i need to buy to use my current transducer? Also i want to add either a gmr x18hd or a 18hd just for navigation aid for fog. What compass do i need to buy for overlay? I also have a simrad ac10 autopilot with its own compass of course. Do i keep that compass or get a new one and let it get info over nmea 0183? Just need some advice on how to set it all up
Old 02-25-2015, 01:23 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,494
Received 526 Likes on 304 Posts
Default

You can talk to a lot of people and you will get a lot of answers, however, unfortunately, most people overlook characteristics of the CX series that will render the transducer incompatible with pretty much any unit besides the Furuno 1100L, 295, etc., which are compatible because the taps can be set to within range to make up for the low impedance of the 50 khz side.

It will not work for two reasons.

#1 - Your B260 is dual line, GSD24 is single line or "diplexed"
#2 - Your B260 is low impedence on the 50 khz side, even with an external diplexer, you'll blow the 50 khz side of the GSD24.
Old 02-25-2015, 01:51 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

BSM-2 can use the "old" Simrad version of B260. It has impedance tap settings as well. Can even use 75 ohm combi-C transducers.
Old 03-01-2015, 05:07 AM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 74
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Ok so again i got 3 different awnsers.
1- semperfi said yes use a gsd24 no doplexer needed ready to use
2- abbor says simrad bsd sounders are made to use it, this intrigues me and does that even mean nss units with built in echo sounder.
3- max marine, who i have talked to before about my older cx simrad setup and they know them say only a furuno unit would. Work.with it.

I like this price point to get into a garmin setup.
http://www.thehulltruth.com/semperfi...ox-1515-a.html

Also why did semperfi post twice and then remove his post? Or is that just somthing wrong with my browser?
Old 03-01-2015, 05:58 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,494
Received 526 Likes on 304 Posts
Default

1. He was incorrect and removed his post so as not to confuse anyone who stumbles across this post in the future
2. Abbor is right about the BSM-2, in all truthfullness it never occured to me. We purchased a large lot of this type of transducer (dual line low impedance) so I had a lot of conversations with Pete @ Gemeco/Airmar about what we could do with them and the only units he mentioned were Furunos but this was before the BSM-2 was out. The internal on the NSS will not work with it
3. Yes, only a Furuno dual line or BSM-2

For what it's worth, you're squeezing yourself tight into a corner trying to work around this old transducer that may last another year or another 10 years. If you like Garmin, bite the bullet and put in a B265LH CHIRP ducer and get the GSD26.
Old 03-01-2015, 06:12 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 1,470
Received 110 Likes on 73 Posts
Default

Easy to say unless it's glassed into your keel

Honestly changing transducers (I have a 260 and SS270) is holding me back. I can't even conceive how to get those out of the wood without tearing crap up.
Old 03-01-2015, 06:19 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

I agree totally with Max. I look at the transduce as the heart of the system. We get calls day in and day out with guys that want to buy the latest and greatest (Garmin 7600 series) units and keep their old transducer because it is in the boat. Pretty much any transducer can be removed and another put in and you would never even notice that it was done. A good glass guy will make this look pristine and you will be 100 percent happy with the result. It will be a few bucks but in the end you are allowing the new system live up to its potential.
Old 03-01-2015, 06:42 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 1,470
Received 110 Likes on 73 Posts
Default

Glass... I'm talking a solid 31 year old juniper keel. Might be one of those jobs best done back in Wanchese.
Old 03-01-2015, 06:58 AM
  #10  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 74
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I wish i could afford a new chirp transducer and gsd26 but i cant. And actually my current simrad b260 setup marks just fine for me. Just my electronics are getting old and unreliable. Just wanting to get into newer stuff and keep the sonar proformance i have. Without sonar i am looking 4000 plus. Adding a gsd26 and b265lh adds about 2500 more.

Last edited by jh1985; 03-01-2015 at 07:00 AM. Reason: adding bsm2 with nss evo2 isnt much cheaper.
Old 03-08-2015, 06:44 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 1,470
Received 110 Likes on 73 Posts
Default

So question... Will the SS270 work with the BSM1
Old 08-27-2015, 03:32 AM
  #12  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Simrad cx54

If you want to sell the cx54, please let me know:
mariusvanzyl@absamail.co.za

I will pay good price
Old 08-27-2015, 04:48 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,190
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jh1985 View Post
I wish i could afford a new chirp transducer and gsd26 but i cant. And actually my current simrad b260 setup marks just fine for me. Just my electronics are getting old and unreliable. Just wanting to get into newer stuff and keep the sonar proformance i have. Without sonar i am looking 4000 plus. Adding a gsd26 and b265lh adds about 2500 more.
Yep, that's the quagmire. I've got a Raymarine version 7-pin B260 glassed into the hull circa 2004. Still works fine but my C120 is old, slow to gps fix, and I think no longer serviced by the factory. There's no 7-pin adapter and the ducer doesn't do chirp. So it's not just $3500 for a new 7612xsv, its $1500 for a new ducer to replace one that works fine, and who knows how much to cut and glass. This is why people sell boats.
Old 08-28-2015, 09:57 PM
  #14  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sumrad cx54

Originally Posted by jh1985 View Post
I have talked to different people about this and got different awnsers. Currently i have a simrad cx54-e with an airmar b260. I have been wanting to upgrade to garmin and gsd 24 and i have been told i can use the garmin transducer wiring adapter. Is this possible?
Please let me know if you want to sel it, i will pay good price.
mariusvanzyl@absamail.co.za
Old 08-28-2015, 10:11 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,882
Likes: 0
Received 1,694 Likes on 927 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Auburn1 View Post
Yep, that's the quagmire. I've got a Raymarine version 7-pin B260 glassed into the hull circa 2004. Still works fine but my C120 is old, slow to gps fix, and I think no longer serviced by the factory. There's no 7-pin adapter and the ducer doesn't do chirp. So it's not just $3500 for a new 7612xsv, its $1500 for a new ducer to replace one that works fine, and who knows how much to cut and glass. This is why people sell boats.
You can use the Garmin 8 pin adapter and still use the B260 with the Garmin 7612xsv.
That is still a very good transducer.
Old 08-29-2015, 04:49 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

To my knowledge Raymarine 1kW transducers have a slightly different impedance than most other brands, this will reduce the sensitivity of the system.
Old 11-23-2015, 11:28 AM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 1,760
Received 213 Likes on 138 Posts
Default

Hi - I am in a very similar situation to the OP. I have a 2003 era SIMRAD CX54 system with an Airmar B260 transducer (this is on a new-to-me Grady White 330 Express I just purchased). The transducer is mounted right on the flattest part of the keel (see picture).

I am definitely upgrading the electronics to a Garmin 7612xsv based system. I was originally planning to connect this transducer to the 8-pin port and then add another Garmin GTM-51 CHIRP/Down Vu/Side Vu transducer (transom mount) to the 12-pin port. However, it sounds like from above that this will NOT work and I cannot use the B260 with the Garmin.

If that's the case, should I replace the B260 with the Garmin GTM-51M-TM Thru Hull version? Or is there a better solution?

Thanks for any input!

Joe
Attached Images  
Old 11-23-2015, 11:36 AM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,882
Likes: 0
Received 1,694 Likes on 927 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jtcwhaler View Post
Hi - I am in a very similar situation to the OP. I have a 2003 era SIMRAD CX54 system with an Airmar B260 transducer (this is on a new-to-me Grady White 330 Express I just purchased). The transducer is mounted right on the flattest part of the keel (see picture).

I am definitely upgrading the electronics to a Garmin 7612xsv based system. I was originally planning to connect this transducer to the 8-pin port and then add another Garmin GTM-51 CHIRP/Down Vu/Side Vu transducer (transom mount) to the 12-pin port. However, it sounds like from above that this will NOT work and I cannot use the B260 with the Garmin.

If that's the case, should I replace the B260 with the Garmin GTM-51M-TM Thru Hull version? Or is there a better solution?

Thanks for any input!

Joe

What are your fishing parameters?
How deep etc.
That is what will help determine what ducer to use..
Old 11-23-2015, 11:45 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 1,760
Received 213 Likes on 138 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
What are your fishing parameters?
How deep etc.
That is what will help determine what ducer to use..
Good question -- pretty mixed bag. Striper fishing in Cape Cod Bay, Bluefin fishing off Stellwagen and East of Chatham, and mixed pelagics South of Martha's Vineyard all the way down to the canyons. I'm probably most focused on my sonar when bluefin fishing, but that's probably because I'm most focused on my sonar when I'm not catching anything...
Old 11-23-2015, 11:59 AM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,882
Likes: 0
Received 1,694 Likes on 927 Posts
Default

A B275C-LHW with the high speed fairing is one to put on your " look at " list..
Excellent shallow to mid water use on the HW side..and then you have the Low band for deeper use.

Or as you mentioned..... the GT51..with is side/down and 2 d traditional.
It will not be the best for canons..but you can add a B175M or B175L for that.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.