Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Mercury vessel view

Old 02-23-2015, 12:48 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 942
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Mercury vessel view

If the mercury vessel view is built on the Nss platform couldn't you just buy a Nss and connect the engines directly to it!.
Old 02-23-2015, 12:54 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 942
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Vessel view1500. Simrad nss7 799

?
Attached Images  
Old 02-23-2015, 12:56 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 942
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default .

Vessel view 1530$$
Attached Images  
Old 02-23-2015, 12:56 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

of course not...then what would mercury have to sell you...i don't think mercury engines output a NMEA2000 signal, so you have to buy a merc monitor or vessel view then config that to output a NMEA2000 signal to my knowledge.
Old 02-23-2015, 01:34 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 942
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default .

Vessel view 1530$$
Old 02-23-2015, 01:38 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

oh i agree with you...i looked into becuase i wanted to have engine data on my garmin 840xs...i think the least $$$ is this route...get a merc monitor.

https://www.mercurymarine.com/en/us/...s/mercmonitor/

then configure to output NMEA signal...it kind of sucks when yamaha, honda, etc will display NMEA data out the box with just an adapter you buy.
Old 02-23-2015, 02:12 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,220
Likes: 0
Received 297 Likes on 169 Posts
Default

There is an even cheaper way which is to get a Mercury NMEA2000 gateway that plugs into engine harness. Do a search and you should find. About $300 as I recall. Then you connect it to your NMEA 2000 network to get data to other displays such as your Garmin.
Old 02-23-2015, 02:51 PM
  #8  
Ynp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Thailand
Posts: 106
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Vesselview 4 is chaper and it is supplied with the same Merc harness as the Vesselview 7.
Old 02-23-2015, 04:06 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 5,881
Likes: 0
Received 194 Likes on 137 Posts
Default

You will still need the gateway to get nmea2000
Old 02-23-2015, 07:02 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,082
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by manitunc View Post
You will still need the gateway to get nmea2000
no - both VV4 and VV7 have built in NMEA 2000 gateway.....

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.