Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Setting up wiring for engine data and 2 hds coming from 2007 225 suzuki's

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Setting up wiring for engine data and 2 hds coming from 2007 225 suzuki's

Old 02-21-2015, 09:20 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: boynton beach fl
Posts: 4,743
Received 149 Likes on 111 Posts
Default Setting up wiring for engine data and 2 hds coming from 2007 225 suzuki's

Here's what I have and what I want:
twin 2007 225 Suzuki's
2hds lowrance hds10 gen 1
ap 24 simrad auto pilot
analogue Suzuki gauges
a straight line of 15 feet engine to dash not including going down into the rigging tubes and back up to the inside of the cowlings.
I want to be able to have all engine info displayed onto either of the hds 10's at the same time or back and forth to the other.
what cables, connectors, extentions,(and lengths) resistors, terminators ,etc will I need to do the work.;?
Attached Images     

Last edited by 1NO REGRETS; 02-21-2015 at 09:55 AM.
Old 02-21-2015, 09:27 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Simple installation. You will need two gauge kits. Inside you will have everything you need to convert. We have them in stock so you can swing by the shop and we will walk you through it.

Mike
Old 02-21-2015, 09:31 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: boynton beach fl
Posts: 4,743
Received 149 Likes on 111 Posts
Default

Mike, I think you missed the part where I want to leave the existing gauges but display all info to the HDS's from the engines. If I am mistaken let me know.
Old 02-21-2015, 09:34 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Oh copy I missed that. OK then all you will need is an engine interface cable for each engine and a NMEA T for each engine.
Old 02-21-2015, 09:41 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: boynton beach fl
Posts: 4,743
Received 149 Likes on 111 Posts
Default

you have these things? Is what is pictured for the auto pilot considered as part of a network, what will be needed to connect the two hds units, Ethernet?
Old 02-21-2015, 09:42 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Yes we have it all in stock. Swing by and I will show you how to hook it up.
Old 02-21-2015, 09:43 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

We have the adaptor cables for your system as well.
Old 02-21-2015, 09:44 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: boynton beach fl
Posts: 4,743
Received 149 Likes on 111 Posts
Default

Thank you for your responses. See you Monday.
Old 02-21-2015, 09:46 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

See you then. I am at our place in Islamorada and leaving here either tomorrow afternoon or Monday morning. If possible make it in the afternoon and I will help you personally. Either way Steve will be there and will help you. Make sure you tell him you have a Lowrance / Simrad hub in the boat.
Old 02-21-2015, 09:49 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: boynton beach fl
Posts: 4,743
Received 149 Likes on 111 Posts
Default

I will bring pictures! Monday after 130pm. Thanks again. Or he can look at this thread ...
Old 02-21-2015, 09:56 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

No problem
Old 02-23-2015, 03:10 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: boynton beach fl
Posts: 4,743
Received 149 Likes on 111 Posts
Default

sorry got busy will stop by tomorrow.
Old 02-23-2015, 04:38 PM
  #13  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,912
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

1NO REGRETS, it might look something like this if you tie into your simnet network. I'm just getting started on doing mine, except I'm dumping all of my analog gauges, I got all of my suzuki cables from Mike, they got to me faster than expected too:

Name:  TwinSuzukiSetup.jpg
Views: 95
Size:  17.4 KB


The two interface cables come with "T's" so you just need probably a 15' (000-119-86) or Garmin's 12' cable (010-11076-04) to connect the T's (interfaces) between the motors then probably the N2KEXT-25RD to go from one of the T's to the T that will connect the Simnet to NMEA2k adapter - which plugs into your simnet.

Shopping list might look like this (if you're going into your Simnet):
1 - SIMNET TO NMEA 2000 ADPTR KIT (000-0127-45)
1 - N2KEXT-15RD (000-0119-86) or Garmin's (010-11076-04)
1 - N2K-T-RD (000-0119-79)
2 - Terminators
2 - Suzuki Interface Cables990C0-88149
Not sure if you'll need the K8 adapter.

If you want to just run this on it's own network you could just set up a N2K backbone:
1 - NMEA 2000 Starter Kit - includes: power cable, 2-ft cable, 15-ft cable, 2 x T-connector, network terminators
1 - N2KEXT-25RD (000-0119-83)
2 - Suzuki Interface Cables990C0-88149
Not sure if you'll need the K8 adapter.

Name:  TwinSuzukiSetup-2.jpg
Views: 168
Size:  18.5 KB

Either Mike will get you set up!

Last edited by mahimahi99; 02-23-2015 at 04:52 PM.
Old 02-24-2015, 04:31 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: boynton beach fl
Posts: 4,743
Received 149 Likes on 111 Posts
Default

Thanks that clarifies the work!
Old 03-07-2015, 11:37 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: boynton beach fl
Posts: 4,743
Received 149 Likes on 111 Posts
Default results

Attached Images    
Old 03-07-2015, 11:59 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: boynton beach fl
Posts: 4,743
Received 149 Likes on 111 Posts
Default

Mike at International marine was and is very responsive . He helped me get this set going even though he has much bigger and much more important things going on. Truly simple to deal with and a nice guy besides!! I would suggest if you have a need for materials or the entire set up electronics to engines give him a shot. You will be glad you did. Especially if you are in Palm beach county.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.