Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Latest and greatest on VHF's

Old 02-20-2015, 06:13 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Va
Posts: 151
Received 17 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Latest and greatest on VHF's

I just took out my recessed box on my boat and flush mounted my chartplotter and FF . Now I have room for something else. Thinking a second VHF. Already have 2 antenna's one is for VHF and the other is for FM. Can I run 2 VHF's off 1 antenna without losing power/range and what is a good up to date VHF to install . I currently have one of the older bigger icoms not sure the exact number but am very pleased with its performance and really don't wanna mess that up. Any suggestions. Just can't stand having room for more electronics.
Old 02-20-2015, 07:02 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl
Posts: 12,297
Received 615 Likes on 449 Posts
Default

There are switches for using one antenna on two radios, but then you loose the functionality of two radios. I would advise against it. Why (other and space on the console) do you want 2 radios? I use two for several reasons. I can monitor 2 channels at the same time (Dual watch or scan does not really allow full monitoring of two channels). I also have an AIS receiver on one of the radios, so i can have AIS on the chart plotter.

Use a small whip or even a short wire in the console for the FM--use the VHF antenna for what they were designed. Does your radio have DSC? A back up GPS--all of these are currently available in the latest radios.
Old 02-20-2015, 07:28 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Va
Posts: 151
Received 17 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

I would like to be able to moniter 13 and 16 and have other radio on house channel or scan. I guess I could do like you said and take fm antenna down and add another VHF antenna in its place being I don't us fm that often I think a whip would be fine or something of that sort. The AIS would be awesome but not sure how hard it would be to get it to talk to my garmin 3010c. I guess I will have to do a little more research on my gps to see its capabilities before I buy a new VHF with all the bells and whistles.
Old 02-20-2015, 07:51 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA in Aquafreska
Posts: 3,009
Received 33 Likes on 24 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tugfisher View Post
I would like to be able to moniter 13 and 16 and have other radio on house channel or scan. I guess I could do like you said and take fm antenna down and add another VHF antenna in its place being I don't us fm that often I think a whip would be fine or something of that sort. The AIS would be awesome but not sure how hard it would be to get it to talk to my garmin 3010c. I guess I will have to do a little more research on my gps to see its capabilities before I buy a new VHF with all the bells and whistles.
Standard Horizon has a new model, I have one of them, has built in GPS and AIS, for around $240. Great for a second radio, or a first radio on a budget.
Old 02-20-2015, 08:55 PM
  #5  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,912
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

A great second radio imho, woks be either the Simrad RS35, Lowrance Link 8 or the Standard Horizon GX2200. They all have an AIS receiver. The Simrad and Lowrance are the same unit except the Simrad has the capability to add the wireless remote, they both connect to your MFD via either N2K or NMEA0183. The GX2200 connects via NMEA0183 but does have a built in GPS (Which is nice for redundancy). ICOM just came out with a model that you can get with AIS but can't even begin to know how much that's going to be. The above units can all be purchased below or around $350 or so. The new ICOM will be around $650 but I'm sure if want it I'm betting the vendors on here could probably beat that, is the M506 with AIS
Old 02-21-2015, 03:49 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 5,881
Likes: 0
Received 195 Likes on 138 Posts
Default

I just ordered a Lowrance Link 8, mainly because of the NMEA 2000 link to my gps, too many people dont hook up their DSC emergency button properly to send their position when they are in trouble, and the NMEA connection just make it so easy to connect to your network as opposed to wiring in a NMEA 0183.
Old 02-21-2015, 03:56 AM
  #7  
Closed Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,771
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The link 8 is a grwat chouce and it really does make the install very simple and very clean
Old 02-21-2015, 05:01 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 3,009
Likes: 0
Received 253 Likes on 206 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tugfisher View Post
...Can I run 2 VHF's off 1 antenna without losing power/range[?]
Not simultaneously.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.