Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 8212 Card Reader

Old 02-19-2015, 12:21 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 363
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin 8212 Card Reader

I'm slightly confused.... does the 8212 come with an SD Card reader or not ?

I assumed it included a reader that accepted two SD Data/Chart Cards.

If not, I guess I'm gunna have to shell out even MORE $$$ for the reader.

Thanks.
Old 02-19-2015, 01:43 PM
  #2  
Closed Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,771
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It comes with it.
https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/on-t...rod110004.html
Old 02-19-2015, 01:47 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 4,297
Received 309 Likes on 261 Posts
Default

Yes my 8212 came with a card reader

JIm
Old 02-19-2015, 03:14 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 363
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Brian & jfwireless.

I "thought" it did, but I started reading something about a reader being "required". I guess that meant a reader was required to see other charts on an SD card.... DUH !
Old 02-19-2015, 05:04 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Yes it comes with it. Also keep in mind it does not need to be cut into the dash. We have made some nice custom acrylic brackets so it can be mounted in the console out of the way. You only need it a few times per year in most cases. I just don't like holes in the dash if it is not necessary.
Old 02-19-2015, 05:17 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 4,297
Received 309 Likes on 261 Posts
Default

I have mine mounted in the back of the glove box in the dash.

Jim

Last edited by jfwireless; 02-19-2015 at 08:06 PM.
Old 02-19-2015, 05:18 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Jim, nice idea.
Old 02-19-2015, 05:45 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 363
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by InternationalMarineMike View Post
Yes it comes with it. Also keep in mind it does not need to be cut into the dash. We have made some nice custom acrylic brackets so it can be mounted in the console out of the way. You only need it a few times per year in most cases. I just don't like holes in the dash if it is not necessary.
Mike,

Can you please post or PM me a picture of that bracket so I can better visualize where I could mount it ?

I've got a Regal 3860. I agree that the fewer cuts/holes in the dash, the better.

I was even thinking I could mount it in the cabin to help avoid theft if I forget to remove a chart card. As you know, they aren't cheap. The first thing I will do is insert a Vision card, so I need the reader.

I really wish Garmin had allowed us the capability to update or upgrade the chart(s) internally on the unit.

I suspect there "may" be a way to do something with the internal maps/charts, but I don't know how.

Thanks !
Old 02-19-2015, 05:48 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Yes I will be at the boat tomorrow where we installed it. I will take a picture and post it for you.
Old 02-19-2015, 05:50 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 363
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jfwireless View Post
I have mine mounted in the back of the glove back in the dash.

Jim
Jim,

That is a good idea.

Unfortunately, I have a Regal 3860 which doesn't have a glove box.

It wouldn't be the end of the world to cut into the dash to mount it, but I agree with Mike about limiting the number of holes in the dash if possible.

Thanks.
Old 02-19-2015, 06:02 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 363
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by InternationalMarineMike View Post
Yes I will be at the boat tomorrow where we installed it. I will take a picture and post it for you.
Thanks Mike.

I'm not looking forward to cutting the dash for any of the upgrades.

I still have to get a firm price from a local installer to do the job, but if it's too high, I'm gong to have to tackle it myself.

I've had lots of encouragement on this board to do it myself and many have offered to help guide me thru the process.

I appreciate the help from everyone.
Old 02-22-2015, 10:48 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

As promised. Here is the one we made with our laser.



Name:  image-2615035070.jpg
Views: 433
Size:  377.9 KB
Old 02-22-2015, 11:51 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 363
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Mike.

That's a very professional looking bracket..... looks like OEM stuff.

Regards, Tim

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.