Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Help me understand Furuno electronics/network

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Help me understand Furuno electronics/network

Old 02-18-2015, 08:50 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 2,760
Received 157 Likes on 117 Posts
Default Help me understand Furuno electronics/network

New to me boat (GW 330 Express customized by Cocker Marine in NC) has all original (and working) 2003 Furuno electronics and I’m a long time Garmin guy….my head hurts trying to figure out this equipment and could use some confirmation/help understanding what I have on the boat and how it’s wired so I can start to selectively upgrade equipment. I have:

Helm:
RDP-139
GD1700c
AP11 control unit

Tower:
GD1900c
1833c Radar
AP11 control unit
GPS antenna (don’t have model #)

Other:
J300x
ETR-6/10N Network Sounder
RFC35 fluxgate compass
LF3000 linear feedback
LFI3000 (I think, buried behind a bulkhead but looks like the device in the manual)
I know I’m missing an item or two as well
Old TM ducer, no clue about model #

The RDP-139 seems like it’s the main unit with the Radar connected to it (big fat gray cable with 90* connector). This device also has 3 data cables connected:

Data 1 – seems to be an input source for the GPS – unplug this and no other devices get lat/lon

Data 2– an output, goes to a terminal block for NMEA GPS connections (DSC VHF Radio)

Data 3 – connected to a terminal block labeled AD10 with Y/G/W/B wires that connect to R/G/W/B wires that disappear behind the helm. Google search indicates this is “…kind of a gyrocompass repeater…”

Tonight’s questions:
1 – the RDP and GD units all have blue network cables but I can’t for the life of me figure out what these connect to. On Garmin, there would be T connectors for the N2K backbone but I’m pretty sure this is all pre N2K. There is a manual for a router on the boat (forget what kind) but I can’t find it anywhere. What’s a typical install for the Furuno network?

2 – I can’t find an AD10 anywhere either – at least as it looks in the manual. What purpose (in English) does this devise support?

3 – is there some logic to the freaking model numbers that escapes me? The RDP-139 looks to be nearly identical to the GD1900c? The GD1700c looks nothing like the GD1900c?

Thanks all!
Old 02-19-2015, 12:08 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: boca raton, fl, usa
Posts: 1,032
Received 96 Likes on 71 Posts
Default

Q 1) Blue wires are Ethernet wires networking everything together. They should plug into a Netgear (or similar) switch. You probably have one from the ETR network sounder to the switch as well.
q 2) sounds like this is a display or repeater for the gyrocompass, but you have a fluxgate compass?
q 3) i haven't figured out the code yet. RDP x has radar connections, whereas GP don't.
Old 02-19-2015, 01:08 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 2,760
Received 157 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by heatzig View Post
Q 1) Blue wires are Ethernet wires networking everything together. They should plug into a Netgear (or similar) switch. You probably have one from the ETR network sounder to the switch as well.
q 2) sounds like this is a display or repeater for the gyrocompass, but you have a fluxgate compass?
q 3) i haven't figured out the code yet. RDP x has radar connections, whereas GP don't.
1) Yep, the manual I recall is a netgear, now just need to find the damn thing,
2) I believe the rfc35 is a flux gate compass
3) that helps...a little

Thanks, appreciate the response!
Old 02-19-2015, 02:48 PM
  #4  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,912
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

"1) Yep, the manual I recall is a netgear, now just need to find the damn thing," - Typically in the larger GW's during my installs I've seen them inside the panel of starboard wall of the mid-berth, same place as the AP computers. Also I've seen them located on the rear bulkhead of the cabin rear wall (behind the breaker panel, there's a lot of room in there.
Old 02-19-2015, 06:37 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 2,760
Received 157 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

Thanks Mahi!

I've been in both panels of the starboard mid berth (side and rear) and didn't see the switch/router there. The AP computer is mounted in there, as well as in the storage area under the berth, but no visible router. There are a ton of wires in there and I did see some of the blue network cables connected to black cables (plug to plug), but ran out of time tracking them down.

I've also peeked behind the breaker panel, but no obvious signs of the router. More 'explorin is obviously required.

Still looking for insight on the AD10??
Old 02-19-2015, 11:49 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 691
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Port 3 on the RDP139 is your heading input from the J300x
Blue wire should be network cables linking the NavNets and sounder together sharing info
Port 1 is the GPS antenna input
Port 2 is your NMEA in/out port

Your sounder box and RDP139, will for sure be linked on the "network" blue cables, I am not familiar with the GD units to know if they have network ports or not.

Last edited by my little big boat; 02-19-2015 at 11:59 PM.
Old 02-20-2015, 05:10 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Palm Beach,FL,USA
Posts: 1,318
Received 42 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

AD10 is a heading output format. Very fast compared to NMEA0183.
It is not a physical thing you can put your hands on.
Old 02-20-2015, 07:25 AM
  #8  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,912
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BayHouse View Post
Thanks Mahi!

I've been in both panels of the starboard mid berth (side and rear) and didn't see the switch/router there. The AP computer is mounted in there, as well as in the storage area under the berth, but no visible router. There are a ton of wires in there and I did see some of the blue network cables connected to black cables (plug to plug), but ran out of time tracking them down.

I've also peeked behind the breaker panel, but no obvious signs of the router. More 'explorin is obviously required.
I knew that would be too easy ;?
But hey, at least with the 'explorin you'll get to know your girl a little better!
Old 02-20-2015, 07:54 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 2,760
Received 157 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by my little big boat View Post
Port 3 on the RDP139 is your heading input from the J300x
Blue wire should be network cables linking the NavNets and sounder together sharing info
Port 1 is the GPS antenna input
Port 2 is your NMEA in/out port

Your sounder box and RDP139, will for sure be linked on the "network" blue cables, I am not familiar with the GD units to know if they have network ports or not.
The GD units are also networked together.

Ok, so the J300x is providing the heading input (AD10) to the RDP139.....is this the equivalent to a heading sensor today?
Old 02-20-2015, 07:55 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 691
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Both, it is receiving thru port 3 and can send thru port 2

The J300x is sending the data to the RDP139

I guess we were typing at the same time.. Yes the heading you are getting is equivalent to the heading sensor allowing you to have radar overlay
Old 02-20-2015, 08:00 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 2,760
Received 157 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

Thanks MLBB, very helpful and I appreciate the info!
Old 02-20-2015, 08:45 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 691
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

No problem, I had to figure it all out when I hooked my stuff up... It can leave you scratching your head for days then suddenly the light bulb comes on.. Lol and you say " Oh I get it now"
Old 02-20-2015, 03:58 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 2,760
Received 157 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

Very humbling experience - I'm pretty tech savvy had have always installed my boat electronics, but the difference between brands is night and day. I'm sure age of the devices is part of it as well, but it shouldn't be that difficult
Old 02-22-2015, 07:37 AM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 2,760
Received 157 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

Another question - I suppose the Furuno network is a proprietary protocol and not N2K?

Would be great if I could re-use those blue wires already run in the tower legs for the new N2K network....
Old 02-22-2015, 04:01 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 691
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

No not N2k but there is a converter you could buy to covert data to use but I don't think it will work on the network. I believe it would tie into the nmea in/out port to share info to a N2K device/backbone
Old 02-22-2015, 05:03 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 2,760
Received 157 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

Roger that MLBB, thanks again. Wishful thinking on my part, hopefully, pulling wires through the tubes will be easier on this boat. At least with the current wires, I have something to pull with.
Old 02-22-2015, 06:41 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 691
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

If you are pulling the old cables out use them to pull a pull string that you can use to pull the new cables thru the pipes/chase. Might be easier cutting the end of the old cable also before pulling if you have to but be sure to leave enough for someone to splice them back if they chose.
From the sound of it you are going to pull the all the Furuno's?
Old 02-23-2015, 06:31 AM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 2,760
Received 157 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

My plan is to remove the GD1900 and GD1700 and replace them with new Garmin units. I'll keep the RDP-139 for the Radar display. At some point in the future, the Radar, RDP-139 and maybe the AP11 will go as well.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.